The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [28]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course is a powerful web-based, self-study platform that is helping students earn impressive GRE math scores. The course includes over 800 HD videos, 21 chapters, and over 3,000 practice questions and can be accessed on a phone, tablet, or computer. Also, with 3 study tracks and detailed analytics, the course can be customized to fit the needs of any GRE test taker.
Unmatched Quant Improvement
September 17 | 2019

       By stephengrenet joined: September 17, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I tried every other GRE prep website/source and NONE compared to Target Test Prep. By far the most comprehensive and well thought out material to improve your quant score. If you stick with their program your score will improve dramatically. Beyond going through a very thorough breakdown of every type of problem you will encounter the program provides a massive amount of practice problems to help solidify the lessons learned while studying. You will finish this program and intuitively be able to recognize any type of problem the GRE throws at you and have an understanding of what tricks or methods you can use to solve it and beat the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service, especially for someone who is nervous about quant!
September 15 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By whuang26 joined: September 15, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I heard about Target Test Prep from a friend who was enrolled at a highly selective business school and who used TTP to prepare for the GMATs. I was studying for the GREs, but I was just using the official ETS book at the time and nothing else, and I was getting a lot of the quant questions wrong (math is my weakest subject and seven years removed from undergrad). So I decided to purchase TTP on her recommendation.

The best part of TTP are the extremely detailed tutorial sections and multiple practice tests for each math concept (e.g. geometry, probability). Doing this allows you to just focus on the areas where you did the worse in and target your weak sports - I equate it to watching game tape in basketball with a great coach who pauses the tape every few seconds to offer tips on improving your form or to critique a decision you made.

My only critique is the built-in calculator feels a little "sticky" and couldn't input numbers correctly on occasion.

Overall, I whole-heartedly recommend TTP. I didn't want to pay the way higher fees for an in-person prep class from another company, and if you stay disciplined (i.e. create a study plan and tackle each math section to a set schedule), you'll do fine on test day and only invested a fraction of the costs.

Score: 166 Verbal / 160 Quant (happy with score, only taking once)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helped me earn a strong GRE score after an okay GMAT
September 08 | 2019

       By revamoeba joined: August 6, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I decided to take the GRE after scoring a 710 on the GMAT (42V, 45Q) and wanting to improve my showing quantitatively. After using TTP (GMAT) and seeing a 6-point score increase on the GMAT quant section (39 to 45) in just 3 weeks, when I started studying for the GRE I came straight to TTP (GRE). TTP is great--it's comprehensive, data-driven, and really user-friendly. As someone who hasn't done much in the way of math since high school, I really appreciated and benefited from the foundational approach TTP takes to all the subject areas. It's really systematic, and after going through all the chapters I felt like I really understood the mechanics behind solving different problems rather than just tricks, as I experienced with other test prep courses. It worked really well for me as someone whose verbal was already strong, so I highly recommend it to anyone looking to focus solely on quant!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
September 05 | 2019

       By bonnies joined: September 4, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
Before signing up with Target Test Prep, I had taken the GRE twice, and gotten the same quant score both times. I felt so frustrated, because I had used a different GRE prep service and didn't feel like it was making any difference. I decided to give the GRE one last try, but this time I signed up for the Target Test Prep GRE course.

Their course was INCREDIBLE. The subject matter is broken up into sections, like Linear Equations and Roots and Exponents. Each section is incredibly comprehensive, containing lessons on just about every aspect of the topic you could possibly think of--and even those you couldn't. They don't just teach you the material; they also teach you traps to watch out for and approaches to solving the problem, which is what you really need to do well on the test. You know how some of those GRE questions seem impossible, like you just can't figure out what they're asking for? Target Test Prep helps you understand the logic behind the GRE questions, identify the important information you'll need to work towards the answer, and, ultimately, properly solve the problem. What's more, they really teach you the material without making it feel painful. Worked into the lessons are examples for you to solve, so you can actually engage with the material. At the end of each example is both a written explanation of the answer, AND a video explanation that allows you to actually see someone solve the problem (this is great for those who learn by actually seeing an example done rather than just reading about it). Both the material and the explanations are so clear; their lessons made concepts that I struggled with seem simple. They let you know what to take down in your notes for every lesson, so that reviewing later on is a breeze. It feels like personalized instruction, without the price of a private tutor or in-person class. They also let you track your progress in the course, so you feel motivated to keep going.

At the outset of the course, they prompt you to set your target score range. At the end of each section, they give you sets of realistic problems pertaining to that chapter for you to solve on a timer, so you can get a thorough training in solving such problems come test day. They use your target score range to tell you what percentage of easy, medium, and/or hard questions you would need to get right on these problem sets to achieve a score within your ideal range. Later, you can see which areas you performed poorly in on the problem sets, and practice questions within those weak areas. Well, long story short, after using the Target Test Prep course, I did retake my GRE a third time--and my quant score shot up six points, right into the target range I had set when I started with TTP.

One final thing. In addition to their sections on the actual material, they also have a Strategy section which was SO helpful. They give you extensive, in-depth tips for managing your time and your anxiety on the test, and even give recommendations for what to do the week before and the day of the test. It is so encouraging, and actually feels like you have a mentor sitting there by your side and cheering you on. You go into the exam feeling not only prepared for the questions they may throw at you, but also feeling calm. I really appreciated this course and cannot recommend it enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A+ - helped me get from 156 to 161 in two months!
August 26 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By eyj2 joined: May 8, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
Super thorough course. wish I had started with Target from the beginning. Scott and Jeff are very responsive and happy to help / available via phone / email.

I really appreciated how thorough and methodical the course was. I had tried Kaplan, Magoosh, and official ETS materials and didn't have a clear game plan to make sure I wasn't missing material that didn't happen to show up on the practice problems I ran into. The course forces you to slow down in the best way and really drill concepts that you might think you know, but need more practice with the be quick and efficient when you're at the test center being timed and want to achieve a top quant score.

I also really appreciated their test day tips and other tips on the importance of psyching yourself up and even writing confidently and clearly in order to not make silly mistakes.

Target is a no BS approach that is really holistic and effective in it's teachings, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great for Quantitative Basics
April 25 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By cshaffe6 joined: April 25, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I struggled with the Q portion the first time I took the test. I kept on taking practice problem sets, reviewing formulas, and using other prep material. However, Target Test Prep provided a very "targeted" approach and study plan that allowed me to work on my foundations and then go into more detail in each section. I had a 4 point improvement and I am surprised it wasn't more. I am confident if I would have really worked through the entire course in more detail I would have seen even greater improvements. I ended up getting a full ride to a great state school in part because of Target Test Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Short time for Guaranteed Success
February 10 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Shanice05 joined: February 7, 2019 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I started off studying for the GRE using the ETS Verbal and Quant books along and using online resources to do practice tests. I understood the material and was practicing at least 8 hours a day. A couple days before my first scheduled exam I kept scoring around 146 in Quant no matter what I did differently. So I rescheduled my exam for two weeks later and decided to use Targettestprerp as recommended by a friend. I was really skeptical at first because I felt like I was doing everything possible to get a good score and that nothing would really help in two weeks. I also felt saturated and a bit demotivated in studying for the GRE every day for 2 months. Finally, I tried them out and little by little what I felt like I understood previously started to become a lot clearer due to the video explanations and tips that increased my speed and accuracy. By the end of the first week, I was already understanding how to answer questions more quickly and really get a hang of the way the questions could be phrased. I continued to practice using practice tests and my score increased from 146. I was still nervous going into the exam as I couldn't cover all the material but I was sure something had improved. I was able to score a 152 in the Quant from a 146 just by practicing with Targettestprep for over a week. Given more time I know I could have definitely gotten a better grade but I am so glad I found them when I did even if it was for a short time. Will recommend to everyone and anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THE BEST course for QUANT!!!!
January 12 | 2019

       By GREcandidate joined: January 12, 2019 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
TTP in my opinion is the best course out there and is the best solution to tackle the Quant section of the GRE. TTP helped my quant score immensely, by 7 points exactly! I began this course with 153 in quant and scored 160 when I competed the course. The course is very detailed and clear on what exactly needs to be done to master each concept. There is a lot of work that needs to be done but it is truly the only program on the market that offers the most comprehensive approach to prep for the GRE test. Another great thing about the course is that you can always contact someone with any quant questions and they usually respond within 10 mins. They are very friendly and always willing to help , which I found this service to be extremely helpful because I had a lot of questions. Overall, the course is worth every penny and I would strongly recommend to someone who is preparing for GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A LIFE SAVOR
December 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ariellesmith233 joined: December 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I have to preface this review by saying I am AWFUL at math. I put off taking the GRE for a year because I was so afraid how badly I would bomb the quant section.I combined Target Test Prep with a Kaplan Course and am so happy I did so because while Kaplan gives you a large quantity and variety of review problems, it's not exactly a review. I used Target Test Prep for four months and essentially re-taught myself math using this website.It was extremely time consuming but I ended up making it through all 21 chapters. I ended up getting a 156 (which was my target score!) on the quant section and am quite happy with the results!! I will say though that there isn't any practice exams or practice quizzes (besides the post chapter quizzes) that really emulate what you see on the GRE. So, you would definitely need to look elsewhere for that material (and of course the verbal too). However, at only $70 a month it's a beyond worthy investment for those of us who struggle with numbers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best GRE Quant Course!!
October 30 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ksmgre joined: October 30, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:  Online |
I'm so thankful that I found Target Test Prep for my GRE study. After dabbling in Manhattan Prep, Magoosh and Veritas prep materials, I can confidently say that Target Prep is the best out there for quant study. I am by no means a math whiz, but I was able to greatly improve my score through Target Test Prep's thorough and highly organized course. The website is so well designed that it almost made the study process fun believe it or not! What I have learned is that question type recognition is everything for success on the GRE. Target Test Prep is set up so that you learn through repetition with their seemingly endless question bank. In addition, the analytics really helped me see which specific topics were my strengths and weaknesses. With the help of Target Prep, I'll be attending Columbia Business School--my dream school! I can't recommend Target Test Prep enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Target Test Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
11 points
International Student Score Improvement
13 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%