GRE Prep Club

Target Test Prep GRE Course Reviews

Target Test Prep is an innovative test prep company that, for the past 8 years, has been helping students break longstanding barriers to success on the GRE.

What makes us better? We’re a small group of dedicated, talented, and accommodating GRE instructors who are passionate about getting our students meaningful results. In addition to our private tutoring, we offer The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course, a powerful web-based, self-study platform that is helping students earn impressive GRE math scores.

We don’t just help students master the content tested on the GRE; we introduce novel approaches toward developing sophisticated critical thinking, analytical reasoning, and decision making skills - all skills which the GRE rewards and yet many students lack.

In short, we're deploying forward-thinking strategies that successfully prepare millennials who sit for the modern GRE. These are strategies that are paying off: record numbers of TTP students have been earning top percentile quant scores.

Target Test Prep GRE Course Reviews

Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course
 $149  $99
Reviews
57
Average Rating
5
Buy Now
Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course
 $449  $299
Reviews
57
Average Rating
5
Buy Now
Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course
 $499  $399
Reviews
57
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Reviews:

57 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
November 07, 2020
penfever

Joined: Oct 29, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

It (mostly) works if you work it: an honest TTP review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I decided to return to graduate school for a career change after a successful career in the arts began to grow stale. I decided to pursue engineering, however, I hadn't done any academic mathematics whatsoever for approximately fifteen years, and my undergraduate math ended with pre-Calc. I knew I would need a lot of help.

In month 1, I pursued self-guided study, using resources from gregmat, Magoosh, ETS as well as the entire Manhattan Prep math review. The gains were modest -- a five point improvement. I decided I needed the most comprehensive and rigorous course available, and after some research, I settled on TTP.

The site estimates that it will require around 180 hours to complete the course if you are aiming for a Quant score above 165. In my case, this turned out to be an underestimate -- my rough calculations suggest that I spent between 250 and 275 hours on prep, practice exams and taking the test itself multiple times. About 2/3rds of that was spent in TTP.

PROS: My absolute favorite thing about TTP is that it is honest. I wasn't happy when I realized how long it was going to take for me to get up to speed, but I was much better off knowing than not knowing. They do a very good job of emphasizing the way people tend to slack off in their GRE prep, and how that can impact score.

I found the TTP lessons to be the most engaging, comprehensive and well-ordered, by far. They don't cover 100 percent of what you'll need, but 90-95 percent, yes. Their lessons on arithmetic, number theory, ratios, fractions, exponents, word problems and functions were, for my purposes, flawless, and even the weakest sections on the site were still very good.

The website is well-designed and can be used on many different platforms, including tablet PCs, without any issues. Their quizzes do a better job of emulating the real GRE than any other prep service I used. They even nailed the weird GRE calculator, which accepts multiplication and division via the keyboard, but not addition and subtraction! The analytics were useful in targeting my weak points.

CONS: I found that TTP was not sufficiently comprehensive in several key areas on the GRE, specifically geometry, coordinate plane geometry, combinatorics and probability and weighted averages. I needed to supplement in these areas with other services.

Although TTP has a huge problem set, it still isn't large enough to be a one stop shop. I drilled on at least a thousand non-TTP problems from various other services, and that was completely necessary.

SUMMARY: I would highly recommend TTP as the centerpiece service for anyone seeking a truly comprehensive GRE quant course. All by itself, it will get you 90% of the way there, far more than any other service I tried, and if you follow its order and structure VERY CLOSELY, it works. If you skip around and don't do all your reviews and practice exams, it will not work. Trust me, I learned the hard way.

Read More

October 27, 2020
Rajarshi14

Joined: Oct 12, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The best quant guide

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I want to do PhD in Marketing and to get into a PhD I needed a high Quant score. Last year, when I was doing my MBA, I took an attempt at GRE and scored 160 in Quant which was not enough. This year I had one last opportunity for attempting GRE while being a working professional at the same time. I came across Target Test Prep from Gre Prep Club and read a few testimonials before subscribing to the service. The best thing about TTP is their chapter tests and segregation of problems as per difficulty level. There are so many tests pertaining to each and every chapter, that it makes sure you learn well before moving onto the next chapters. I wrote several custom tests, and it allows you to get a mix of Easy, Medium and Hard questions. The tests were very good in content, helped me secure every loophole. Ask TTP any doubt! Literally any doubt- no matter how silly, they will answer you patiently. My new score in Quant is 166. I thank TTP from the bottom of heart for all the support and brilliant content they have- truly the best guide for quant.

Read More

September 29, 2020
laelae97

Joined: Sep 29, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

After completing Magoosh and not reaching my goal score on my first GRE attempt, I tried TTP. After only 3 weeks of utilizing and completing a majority of the TTP course, I took my second attempt GRE and raised my quant score by 3 points. I decided to give it one more try and spent three more weeks using TTP before a third attempt, raising my quant score by 4 more points for an overall score increase of 7 points in just 6 weeks, reaching a final score of 168. The course is well organized and very effective, and the team will personally offer assistance if you need some extra guidance on how to succeed using their course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 14, 2020
asuaaron

Joined: Jul 14, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Quant Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

This is an excellent prep course, and very reasonably priced compared to some of the other options out there. I haven't taken a math class in nearly 15 years, so I knew I needed some help. Target Test Prep broke the concepts down easily and gave me plenty of practice to perform well. There were a multitude of videos working through problems, which were incredibly helpful for someone who has been out of the game for as long as me, and every problem had a detailed written explanation available. All of this is built upon with thousands of practice questions to make sure the concepts stick, and analytics showing what problem subjects and types of questions are giving you the most trouble. Also, I decided to take a Calculus class during this time, and the lessons helped me simplify and work through problems for determining limits and derivatives. After this course, I had no problem with any of the quant questions on my test. A 10 point improvement doesn't sound like a lot, but it bumped me from the 55th percentile to the 80th. 10/10 would recommend Target Test Prep for anyone looking for a Quant study course.

Read More

June 22, 2020
Cesium

Joined: Jun 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great practice question bank!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

I was mainly seeking a source of good practice questions. Target Test Prep gave me exactly what I was looking for, and I think it has a lot to offer anyone who wants to improve their quant performance.

Target Test Prep has a large number of practice questions divided into specific subject areas. These practice questions made it relatively easy to identify my strengths and weaknesses. The explanations and problem-solving strategies were clear and efficient. Perhaps most importantly, Target Test Prep's questions mimicked the feel and substance of real GRE questions quite well.

The instructional materials I read through seemed solid. The information was sliced up into bite-sized mini-lessons, which I think is a sensible approach.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2020
KD1515

Joined: Mar 21, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best resource for GRE quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Target Test Prep is by far the best GRE quant resource on the market. It helped me reach my ceiling for the GRE, and I genuinely enjoyed taking the course.

Prior to studying for the GMAT and GRE, I hadn’t taken a math course (or even thought about math) in 15 years. I worked in journalism for 10 years and this past summer made the decision to pursue grad school. I took the GMAT in the summer and scored in the 58th percentile for quant. Before I took the GRE in the spring, I spent about six weeks working through the material in Target Test’s GRE prep course. The course was extremely thorough and well-organized. Each practice question came with a video explanation from the instructors. I'm not sure there is another resource available with such extensive video explanations for each problem.

This helped me build a much better understanding of the concepts than what I had developed through textbooks and other test prep resources. Target Test Prep clearly identified and explained all the concepts and handy shortcuts needed to score high on the GRE. Thanks to Target Test Prep, I was able to score a 166 (89th percentile) on GRE quant, a dramatic improvement from my score on the GMAT.

Read More

March 17, 2020
mbahopeful96

Joined: Mar 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Very helpful in a short time

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

The program definitely helped me iron out each part where I was weak, rather than just seeing one work problem every so often on the guides and rolling the dice I was able to learn each piece of the problem and practice it a hundred times until I couldn't get it wrong. After that I'd move on to the next chapter, the structured format was much easier for learning and I was able to transfer it easily.

The GMAT math is definitely a lot easier than the GRE, but once you can tackle very difficult problems the easy ones are an absolute breeze.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 22, 2020
jpvertil

Joined: Feb 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Target Test Prep was extremely useful to me! I spent some good time looking for study material online, especially for the quant section as I was apply for MBA programs, and TTP was hands down the best product I found. The material is very thorough. It includes practice material for the fundamentals and includes mastery practice material in case you're aiming for a top score. On top of that, the course has several tips to do well on the test that actually worked for me. If you diligently go through the entire curriculum, you will do well. I did and got a 165 on the Quant section of the GRE. I absolutely recommend Target Test Prep!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2020
memadden

Joined: Jan 07, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best GRE quant prep on the market

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I studied with Target Test Prep for less than 6 weeks, and my quant score went from 162 to 170. Having dabbled with a couple other GRE services, I can say Target Test Prep was by far the best and instrumental for my GRE studying. First, the platform is fantastic and well-designed. Easy to navigate, track progress, and revisit missed questions. I also love how it separates practice problems into easy/medium/hard and gives you a target score in each. That way, I didn't feel bad if I missed some of the hard ones or took an extra minute to answer them.

Second, what I liked best about the Target Test Prep platform is the ability to crank out a lot of practice problems relatively quickly. I tried Magoosh but didn’t stick with it, I think because it was just too slow. With Target Test Prep, you take practice quizzes with 10-20 questions (much like the actual GRE) and I would check the solution/strategy only for the questions I missed or spent way too much time on. Overall, I would say that the practice problems were a little more difficult than the actual GRE questions. I found this motivated me to study more, and I felt very confident once I started taking the official GRE practice tests and on the actual test day.

Read More

December 04, 2019
adolphin

Joined: Nov 22, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Target Test Prep and Tutoring from Jeff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Following the Target Test Prep curriculum was fundamental in improving my quant score. The course and tutoring raised my quant score from 155 to 163. It took quite awhile to finish the whole course, but it really sets the stage for a strong foundation in core math skills. After completing the course, I felt like I had a solid understanding of everything covered on the GRE. Target Test Prep was hands down better than any of the other classes or online courses I used. The practice questions on TTP are very similar to the real GRE questions.

I also did weekly tutoring with Jeff from Target Test Prep. Before going to Jeff, I used tutors from two other test prep companies and got almost no change in my score. But Jeff made sure I understood the concepts from the Target Test Prep curriculum inside and out. He was also great about helping me understand how to complete each problem in the most efficient way for the GRE. Tutoring with him was definitely worth the cost and time. He is also super flexible on scheduling around your calendar.

Read More


16 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Target Test Prep