Target Test Prep GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [19]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
Target Test Prep is an innovative test prep company that, for the past 8 years, has been helping students break longstanding barriers to success on the GRE.

What makes us better? We’re a small group of dedicated, talented, and accommodating GRE instructors who are passionate about getting our students meaningful results. In addition to our private tutoring, we offer The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course, a powerful web-based, self-study platform that is helping students earn impressive GRE math scores.

We don’t just help students master the content tested on the GRE; we introduce novel approaches toward developing sophisticated critical thinking, analytical reasoning, and decision making skills - all skills which the GRE rewards and yet many students lack.

In short, we're deploying forward-thinking strategies that successfully prepare millennials who sit for the modern GRE. These are strategies that are paying off: record numbers of TTP students have been earning top percentile quant scores.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Amazing!
June 29 | 2016

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By naisha joined: June 29, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
One of the best Quant test tools i've ever used! Boosted my score!! Highly recommend:)
Jeff was great in administering the program. I started out by taking all of the online courses and then took some of their practice tests.
Would recommend taking your time to go through each module to get the most out of the material. Then, compliment their curriculum with the ETS exam app that provides you with relevant Quant questions. One of the best parts of TTP was having their team super accessible and helpful while I was using their platform. Jeff was always there ready to assist! :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
RAPID improvement
April 26 | 2017

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By 5chlo55 joined: April 26, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I studied with EmpowerGRE for 3 months, and then Magoosh for 4 months, and after two tests, my highest quant score was 152. Needless to say, math does not come easily to me.

But I then studied for less than a month with Target Test Prep, and I scored a 159, and didn't even feel prepared for the exam. With just another couple of weeks, I feel like I could've scored into the low-mid 160s.

The best thing about this course is how it gives you a blueprint for targeted studying. It gives you in-depth diagnostics as to where you struggle so that you can really hone in on the very specific areas that you're struggling with (or at least need to improve on)-- I've yet to see anything like that kind of precision on any other test software.

Also, the guys at Target are extremely receptive and responsive to constructive criticism, suggestions, and any help you might need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wish I had found this earlier!
January 31 | 2018

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By priyanka91 joined: January 30, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
The course was exactly what I needed, and I wish I had found it earlier. It went through the GRE quant content in an easy, clearly organized way. The explanations were amazing, and considering how out of touch I have been with this type of math, I am amazed at how quickly I was able to grasp concepts. The methods taught for solving specific types of questions - that normally felt out of my reach - were simple and very intuitive. The additional tutoring service was exceptional, and I looked forward to each session because it was nice having those "I get it" moments so often (thanks to Jeff!). I can't recommend this service enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Extremely good for Quant
November 09 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By mexpresso joined: November 9, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
The quant section of target test prep is amazing. People can you it to learn all the concepts required for GRE. The exercise mimic GRE style questions. Follow the study plan studiously to become meritorious in GRE quant section. It improved my score a lot like more than 10 points. Of course you have to put your effort. The course is intensive and worth the effort in the end. All my doubts were answered in a timely manner and they helped me a lot. Finally i would like to add that Target test prep is bit expensive, but its the best for everything GRE quant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ss
January 16 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By stescardu joined: January 16, 2018 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
Best quant course. I started with 154 in quantitative practice test and scored 163. Some questions of target test prep are more difficult than the official GRE , but this may help you to have an optimal preparation. The chapters are really clear and the video explanation makes every step crystal clear. There are many test chapters therefore it is difficult to complete every test for every chapter. I started completing every test but ended up doing only a few per chapter, otherwise I would have never finished. If you are looking to improve your quant score this is the best course. also the price is very good
For the verbal part I prepared it by my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
5 Stars for Target Test Prep!
November 26 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By tshrop joined: November 5, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I had an incredible experience working through Target Test Prep's self study materials and working with two of the tutors, Jeff and Scott. My score improved by 8 points after using the materials for ~3 months.

I originally took the GRE after studying for ~2 months with Kaplan materials, and my quant score was ~5 points lower than it had been using their practice tests. I thought it was helpful to complete their course so I could do the in person practice test day, but the quantitative portion of their program didn't help me significantly improve my score.

After chatting with a mentor and realizing that I needed to get a much better quantitative score in order to get into the MBA programs that i was interested in, I started looking into other tutoring options. My mentor recommended Target Test Prep, and I'm so glad that I listened to her advice! Scott and Jeff are extremely patient tutors, and gave me very direct feedback on my progress throughout my time working with them in an empathetic way. They also broke down the GRE problems in a digestible way, and they were more than willing to go over an explanation two or three times if it didn't make sense to me the first time.

The self study materials were also extremely helpful, because they clearly outlined the sections/types of problems that I needed to work on. When I study I have a habit of avoiding the questions that I'm not good at, and this program forced me to break this habit. The timed custom tests that I created through their program were also extremely helpful and resembled the timing/type of problem on the actual test. By the time I got to test day, I knew that I could have studied more but the online tool clearly outlined that I had done a lot of work and that it was possible for me to improve my score. During the test I felt much more relaxed than I did when I took the test post the Kaplan program, and when I got my score I was completely surprised to see a 165 on the screen. My quantitative score ultimately improved by 8 points, and I am feeling MUCH more confident about applying to top MBA programs. I'm so grateful for this program and all of the time and energy Scott and Jeff put in to helping me achieve my GRE goals!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Target Test Prep
January 03 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By GREMBA2019 joined: December 21, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I started with Target Test Prep about one month before my last chance to take the GRE before round one application deadlines. I had taken a comprehensive in-person course through another company, and was disappointed with my quant results, despite studying every day and taking their additional online math course. I stuck with the company for awhile, but reached a plateau in which my score was not improving on practice tests and quizzes, and I could not understand from their materials what I was doing wrong.

I decided to try out Target Test Prep and knew right away that it was right for me. I needed more than just a focus on strategies for test taking. Target Test Prep's intense coursework and clear explanations of practice problems helped me to increase my quant score 5 points in a month, and made me a viable candidate for top programs. My only regret is that I did not start with them from the beginning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best GRE prep course you can find!
December 30 | 2016

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By julianaportella joined: December 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I have to thank, from the bottom of my heart, TTP for getting accepted into the Msc program I am about to begin. I used TTP for the quant section of the test and it really exceeded my expectations. When I first started studying, I used 3 or 4 different prep sites/books but, as the days went by, I found myself using exclusively TTP. I greaty improved my score even though I had very little time to study, was working around 12hs a day and was VERY rusty in math.

TTP is great whether you're already comfortable with the sujects covered or need to remember/learn the basics. The lessons are very clear and the test questions are great. The tips on how to save time (as everyone knows, time is a MAJOR factor) are VERY helpful. Overall, TTP gives you the chance to easily customize your study plans according to your needs and offers a load of truly great material.

I plan to enroll in a PhD after my Msc and I will DEFINITELY use TTP again.

One more thing: customer service is just awesome. All of your messages and questions are answered super fast and by very, very nice people (hi Jeffrey!). They really work hard to solve any problems you might have and give you the best experience.

Thank you so much, TTP!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I got 170
November 11 | 2016

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By mbsls92 joined: November 11, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I just scored 170 on the quant part, because of the intensive training provided by TTP. To be fair, I must begin by saying that I do have a background in math, but in my opinion only half of the test is actually knowing theory. The other half is knowing problem solving strategies and how to apply them quickly. TTP's course does an excellent job at training you for this. First, because the exercises correlate almost 100% with those on the actual test, so you are going to be ready for what you're getting on the big day. Second, because the exercises are organized by sub-topics AND difficulty levels. This last point is crucial. For example, you can train the sub-topic "Work" problems (which are contained in a broader class of "Ratio" problems) separately. This has really helped me a lot, because I could train the specific places that I was falling behind. Finally, after each question that I did not get right, I'd check and study the test strategies presented in the videos. These have really helped me not only get more questions correctly but also improve my time (and if you have not taken the test yet, trust me: every second counts). TTP is hands the best option around to prepare for the quant part of the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Must Use
August 07 | 2016

       By jmcelher85 joined: August 6, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online
I went to Target Prep because I was sick of using books and companies for a year and not achieving the results that I wanted. I used GRE Target Prep for 2 months and it was the best thing that could’ve happened to me without spending thousands of dollars on tutors. The software is easy to use. I first went through the lessons and than tuned up my math with tons of questions. Target software allowed me to focus on my areas of weakness. I would never use any other product and I am sad that I didn’t find them sooner. I improved my test score in math from 40% percentile to 70% percentile in 2 months.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Target Test Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
12 points
International Student Score Improvement
14 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%