Magoosh Premium Reviews

Our comprehensive online prep program features over 200 video lessons and 1000 online practice questions with video explanations and three practice tests to help you conquer the GRE.  Video explanations after every question, access for 6 months and 5-point score guarantee (restrictions apply). 
4.8 /5 Average Rating
5 star
23
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 24 reviews
May 25, 2020
lcr2020

Joined: May 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Did so much better than expected on my GRE

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Used Magoosh for my GRE, and they provided great explanations for the reading comprehension section and tough math questions that made the real test seem like a cake walk. Would highly recommend to anyone who needs a quick and dirty way to prep for the test without a bunch of complicated bs. The course has all the resources you need to do well. Follow their month long plan and you'll be very well prepared. I used their questions along with one of the two PowerPrep tests and was one point shy of a perfect score. Video explanations for every question are also very helpful–even on questions where you're stumped, you have a walk through of the most efficient way to approach the problem. Watching the videos even when you get the question right is a great way to establish a best strategy for every type of question. This ensures that you don't waste precious time on the exam going about a math question inefficiently. These questions were especially helpful to someone who studied math in college too–while I had seen math consistently since grade school, high school math was completely different from what I did in college and Magoosh was a great refresher.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 17, 2019
mald2433

Joined: Dec 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Followed 90 day study plan and increased by 22 points

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I struggled with studying for the GRE at first and decided to invest in the Magoosh Premium Prep subscription. It was well worth my money. I attended a Princeton in person prep class before, but I still struggled with the math core concepts. The Magoosh study plan (I got the 90 day study plan) provided me with a better structure and resources than the in person prep class. I was hesitant to use online prep because I struggle keeping myself accountable to a daily study routine. With the study plans magoosh has available it is so simple to adapt to a routine. Additionally, whenever I struggled with a question or concept there were always tutorial videos available that explained everything in a detailed manner. The support team also responded very quickly when I had a question that wasn't already listed in their forums/videos.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 13, 2018
parseltongue

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 33

Kudos: 22

Probably the best GRE course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!

Read More

March 24, 2018
ebjose

Joined: Sep 20, 2017

Posts: 15

Kudos: 8

Best GRE prep -> MAGOOSH

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had previously attempted GRE before deciding on joining up for the Magoosh premium subscription.

When I started with the program, I found the concepts to be explained such that they were easily digestible. Each lesson was broken into smaller chewable chunks and was followed by a quiz, which bolstered the lesson in my mind.

Also the questions were exactly the way actual GRE questions are made. These questions are different from the GRE (free) ETS POWERPREP II questions, since the acutal test questions are much different too.
The quantitative questions are more difficult and the Verbal questions are more convoluted, similar to the actual GRE exam.

Because of the material, I was able to increase my score to 327 (an increase of 10 points) with my breakup being Q:167 V:161

If you are going to attempt GRE then I would highly recommend enrolling into a MAGOOSH program

Read More

June 07, 2017
achan8

Joined: Jun 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh makes GRE preparation fun

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh was great overall. I was going through study books but often got demotivated by all the text. Magoosh is fun and interactive, makes learning much easier with the video tutorials and great explanations. In the verbal part, they are pretty spot on of the level of the students, and didn't give explanations like - " you know this word means this... so therefore its not right." Rather, they know we may not know that particular word and helps us get through the problem at our level. In both quant and verbal, they give many great tips and skills that are unique but useful. There are many supplementary parts of a Magoosh course that can easily be catered to your needs. The website is also very organized and easy to navigate, so I had no trouble learning how to fully utilize the course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 20, 2017
krohit2375

Joined: May 14, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Didn't expected it to be so good !!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the Magoosh GRE subscription for my application to MS in USA. Initially I was not sure of paying for something about which the internet was already flooded with free material, but after reading the testimonials and doing my research, I finally went for a one month subscription, which I must say has been one of my best decisions. As the program starts, they ask you to take a test so that you have a baseline to understand where you currently belong. They will provide you with an analysis of your weakness and areas you need to work upon. My initial score was 301, so I was also hoping to get a 10 point difference as the website claimed. Over the period of time I went on with their tutorials and practice material, which I must say is the closest to what you will see on the actual test day. Finally, I gave my test and to my surprise I scored 318, quants-166 & verbal- 152. Needless to say I was super exited and satisfied with the result which Magoosh provided me within a month of training.

I do have some referral codes which magoosh gives to every student when they signup. The referral link will give you an additional off on your bill. Feel free to use them.

GRE- https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

TOEFL- https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

Hope this helps :)

Read More

July 19, 2016
dustindollin

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Comments

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I found the experience to be well worth it.

Read More

May 02, 2016
melirodriguez183

Joined: Apr 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh reviews

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The program is excellent. I am a non-native speaker and it has helped a lot. The videos for quant and for verbal are really clear. They helped me to improve my vocabulary with the app they have for free.
The quant section is extremely helpful, actually, there are some questions that are a little bit harder than the real test but this gives you a big advantage on test day. Verbal section is similar, the reading passages will be identical to what you will see on the test, text completion I found magoosh a little bit harder tho.
In sum, magoosh is an excellent program for a cheap price that at least will improve your GRE Score in 5 points.

Read More

March 21, 2016
Selenarobn

Joined: Mar 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Service at Magoosh!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the GRE to apply to business school. To prepare for the test, I needed a tool that had the depth and personalization of a class with the flexibility of an online platform, I found what I needed in Magoosh. The team answers questions quickly, the modules are easy to understand, and I found the prep questions harder than the actual test. I was beyond prepared for success, and I couldn't recommend them enough. Yet, beyond all of this, they were kind, patient and very eager to help in any way possible. It's clear customer service is important to this team.

Read More

January 30, 2016
pricesc1

Joined: Jan 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 40 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had been out of school for around 4 years before I started studying for the GRE. I was very rusty at first but with the depth of information available and the flexibility in material and timeline Magoosh helped me nail the exam. Lots of practice with plenty of explanations. You'd be hard pressed to find a better program that allows you to study at your own pace, on whatever material you need most and at as reasonable a price. They have gone through the effort of providing text and video explanations to hundreds of question. They also have meticulously gone through each question and organized them by type and difficulty so you can strategically target your weaknesses. Over great product. Would GRE again.

Read More


4 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh