Magoosh GRE Course Reviews

 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GRE.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Magoosh GRE Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $774  $149
Reviews
20
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now

Reviews:

24 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 30, 2016
pricesc1

Joined: Jan 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 40 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had been out of school for around 4 years before I started studying for the GRE. I was very rusty at first but with the depth of information available and the flexibility in material and timeline Magoosh helped me nail the exam. Lots of practice with plenty of explanations. You'd be hard pressed to find a better program that allows you to study at your own pace, on whatever material you need most and at as reasonable a price. They have gone through the effort of providing text and video explanations to hundreds of question. They also have meticulously gone through each question and organized them by type and difficulty so you can strategically target your weaknesses. Over great product. Would GRE again.

Read More

November 12, 2015
pjcbernadas

Joined: Nov 12, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE Magoosh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Verbal + AWA

Location Online

Enrolling to GRE Magoosh is one of the best investments one can make to prepare for the GRE. First, it is not expensive compared to the other review centers and since it is based on the internet, everyone can be a member of group. In terms of mathematics, the questions are difficult but effective enough to train your math senses. The verbal part is also very near to the actual test. Another advantage is that the video lessons are easy to grasp and understand. Finally, magoosh resources are top notch. The study plan should be followed by everyone regardless of time. The vocabulary flashcards and math flashcards are super helpful. Students should however try to get different review sources as well in order to get the best review experience.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 06, 2015
jayper

Joined: Nov 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best mainstream alternative at 10th the cost!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

At first, I was skeptical of signing up however after finding out about how costly other services are I signed up quick. The service is great! As a immigrant to US, I was able to score 158! Fact that Magoosh questions are harder than actual GRE helps a lot. Also, the magoosh blog pdfs which are free helped a ton for last week prep! For example, 300 most frequent vocab words. Overall I would give this 5 out of 5 and highly recommend as there is no magic bullet that other services provide compared to Magoosh at 10 times the cost. Also, support desk is quick to respond with detailed explanations if any confusion on questions and such.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 29, 2015
vickyptarmigan

Joined: Oct 29, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing test prep, well worth the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I started studying for the GRE about 1 month before I took the test. I had bought the official GRE test prep book, but ended up searching for another test prep resource. I found out about magoosh, tried the trial, and gladly paid for the premium version. You have the ability to make your own customizable quizzes from their database of questions (difficulty level, number of questions, question topic); each question also has a full written and video explanation of the answer. I ended up using magoosh as my only prep source, and got a very good GRE score on my first try.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 12, 2015
unclechicken21

Joined: Oct 12, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great resource

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 200 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I signed up for Magoosh in September after taking one of the ETS practice exams. I was not too interested in quant as I’m applying to a program that completely ignores the quant score – so my review is based on the verbal and essay sections, as I didn’t even practice quant except in practice tests. I purchased only premium because it was on sale!
Magoosh was very helpful for me in getting my verbal score up. The extensive practice questions helped me to isolate the problem areas (long passage reading comprehension was killing me), and the video explanations for each question were actually very helpful. I thought they would be extremely simplistic, but they were actually quite detailed without being tedious. I especially appreciated the emphasis on strategy and how to think through the questions. I ran through all 500+ verbal questions and watched videos for all the ones I missed, and this made a huge difference in my scores. The great thing with Magoosh is that it is a very flexible tool. If you know exactly what you want to work on, it will help you work on those sections. If you want a plan and help with improving everything, it’ll help with that as well.
I highly recommend Magoosh for anyone who wants to increase their score. I did a bit of quant, and if I had been inclined, I know it would have helped me a lot with that as well.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 12, 2015
egg5039

Joined: Oct 12, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The Best Resource for GRE Prep? MAGOOSH!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

For a little bit of background, I am a recent graduate of an Economics program here in the USA. I am no stranger to math, but found the quant questions to be a bit obscure! I often found myself reviewing materials that i had not seen in years. On my first practice test (a kaplan diagnostic test) I scored a 156Q and 157V. It was at that moment I decided I needed some extra help if I was to score at least a 163 on Q. I used the Magoosh one month plan and worked through it diligently. While it may seem a daunting task, it was worth every minute. The problems that Magoosh provides are likely a bit on the difficult side (relative to the actual exam), but they prepare you for tough challenges.

Bottom line... you want Magoosh.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 27, 2015
jasmineliu804

Joined: Sep 27, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Cheap and effective

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh was a life saver especially because I was studying overseas and didn't have a lot of other options. As someone with no math background and out of college for about 4 years, Magoosh was fantastic in preparing me to take my test. They provide a lot of great tips for people who study differently or have different study plans (these are actually free tips on their website). Their videos + questions are broken down into different math parts, as well as English. The videos were clear and concise, very helpful, and helped boost my confidence about my math skills. They had a lot of prompts for the writing, and there's a tracker that makes note of your progress and how far you've come along. I used Magoosh 4 months prior to taking the test, and it bumped up my scores by a lot. I wish there were more practice tests available, but for 99 dollars, I'm not complaining.

I didn't do the best, and though my last practice test said I scored a 314, I feel that the GRE was far more difficult than any of the practice tests I've taken aside from Magoosh (even the ones offered by ETS). I was happy with my score and decided to not take it again because it was too painful, but it has nothing to do with Magoosh.

Magoosh also has a great vocabulary application for your phone so you can study vocab words on the go.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 27, 2015
spead

Joined: Sep 27, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh Reality

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

By way of design, Magoosh is superbly efficient, well-organized, and highly ergonomic at the user interface.

I have been pleasantly pleased throughout the entire study process, and truly appreciate the effort put in by Magoosh staff to make this one of the least boring ways of studying for one of the most boring standardized tests.

For me, the fact that every single practice question is complemented by a video tutorial is absolutely critical for understanding the core concepts behind effectively answering the questions. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of practice questions (verbal and quantitative) as well as several hundred more lesson videos, in which the instructors carefully teach you how to set up the problems, examine them, and ultimately complete them (all with time efficiency on mind).

I have yet to take the Magoosh practice tests, and have that marked for a future date, but based on my progress throughout the customized practice sessions I have been taking, I now have a higher level of confidence that I will do well on the practice tests and the real test thanks to Magoosh.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

5 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh