Magoosh GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [22]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GRE.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Probably the best GRE course
August 13 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By parseltongue joined: July 13, 2018 | 33 | 19 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE magoosh
March 31 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By madhuri282 joined: March 31, 2018 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online
Course is well planned.. Great for beginners and retailers too. Course offers comfort of study and very helpful for non native speakers too.
The ease of use and customization as per your weak areas helps improve score faster.
Easy to use on any gadget helps take course at any place.

Ample of material and questions are available for practice.


There are 200+ videos on each and every topic for Quantitative, Verbal and AWA. There are 1300+ practice questions. For every practice question you answer there will be a Video explanation as well as Text explanation for the same. Even if you have personal doubts, you can always mail them. They reply in a day or two most probably and are really supportive
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Best GRE prep -> MAGOOSH
March 24 | 2018

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ebjose joined: September 20, 2017 | 15 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I had previously attempted GRE before deciding on joining up for the Magoosh premium subscription.

When I started with the program, I found the concepts to be explained such that they were easily digestible. Each lesson was broken into smaller chewable chunks and was followed by a quiz, which bolstered the lesson in my mind.

Also the questions were exactly the way actual GRE questions are made. These questions are different from the GRE (free) ETS POWERPREP II questions, since the acutal test questions are much different too.
The quantitative questions are more difficult and the Verbal questions are more convoluted, similar to the actual GRE exam.

Because of the material, I was able to increase my score to 327 (an increase of 10 points) with my breakup being Q:167 V:161

If you are going to attempt GRE then I would highly recommend enrolling into a MAGOOSH program
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh was the best source I found for my GRE preparation
February 05 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By akumar37 joined: February 5, 2018 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online
I gave GRE in 2016 and prepared using Magoosh GRE prep course. Found it one of the best course material for preparation of GRE. Their user interface is really superb and gives a detailed analysis of our strength as well our weakness. Using the Dashboard, one can easily identify which area they need to give more time during their preparation. I found their mobile apps to be very useful too, especially their word prep apps. Coming to their course content, I found it extremely sophisticated and of a similar level to actual GRE test. I was weak in verbal section and I think magoosh really helped me score a decent GRE score and get admission in my dream program. All the best to future GRE test givers.
Their content is really easy to understand (lots of videos), and they give extra 10$ discount to anyone who signs up using this link.
Use this check it out: https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/f5340275k1p176

P.S. I get a referral bonus if you use the link and pay :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Magoosh makes GRE preparation fun
June 07 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By achan8 joined: June 7, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
Magoosh was great overall. I was going through study books but often got demotivated by all the text. Magoosh is fun and interactive, makes learning much easier with the video tutorials and great explanations. In the verbal part, they are pretty spot on of the level of the students, and didn't give explanations like - " you know this word means this... so therefore its not right." Rather, they know we may not know that particular word and helps us get through the problem at our level. In both quant and verbal, they give many great tips and skills that are unique but useful. There are many supplementary parts of a Magoosh course that can easily be catered to your needs. The website is also very organized and easy to navigate, so I had no trouble learning how to fully utilize the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Didn't expected it to be so good !!!
May 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By krohit2375 joined: May 14, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I took the Magoosh GRE subscription for my application to MS in USA. Initially I was not sure of paying for something about which the internet was already flooded with free material, but after reading the testimonials and doing my research, I finally went for a one month subscription, which I must say has been one of my best decisions. As the program starts, they ask you to take a test so that you have a baseline to understand where you currently belong. They will provide you with an analysis of your weakness and areas you need to work upon. My initial score was 301, so I was also hoping to get a 10 point difference as the website claimed. Over the period of time I went on with their tutorials and practice material, which I must say is the closest to what you will see on the actual test day. Finally, I gave my test and to my surprise I scored 318, quants-166 & verbal- 152. Needless to say I was super exited and satisfied with the result which Magoosh provided me within a month of training.

I do have some referral codes which magoosh gives to every student when they signup. The referral link will give you an additional off on your bill. Feel free to use them.

GRE- https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

TOEFL- https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Best premium course for verbal section
May 03 | 2017

       By SonamMahajan5 joined: April 23, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I have been referred to Magoosh by my sister who have gone through each and every question of Magoosh which has helped her score above 300 in GRE. This has ultimatey also helped her get to the college she desired for. The explaination they offer for every question really makes life easy :-) I would suggest every student planning to give GRE to refer to Magoosh. Its all self explanatory and student friendly.Its mobile app GRE VOCABALORY which i have donwloaded on my mobile is also really helpful. One can refer to the app and strengthen your vocab while you are travelling etc.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good teachers, and good practice material
April 05 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By gauzpan joined: April 5, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online
I tool the Magoosh Verbal course as I wanted to improve my verbal score. The video lessons provided by them were very nice and easy to understand. I learned a lot of tricks for answering complex questions from there. Along with the lessons, the practice which is most important in any test is also quiet helpful with different levels of questions similar to GRE test. So when I was giving my GRE, the kind of questions didn't freak me out as I had the practice done. It also helped me in the writing section by telling about the proper structure to form while writing an essay.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Not worth it
August 23 | 2016

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By lwalker2149 joined: August 23, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
For a month and a half I spent hours watching the lesson videos and doing practice problems. When I took the GRE for the second time my Quant score actually went down. My verbal score increased slightly but not as much as I had hoped. Magoosh has a lot of positive reviews so I was very hopeful when I choose the program but I was left very disappointed. If I could do it again I would have chosen a different program. I am going to use the scores I have now to apply to the programs I want to get into because I dont really have time to retake it again before applications are due. If I do not get in this round I will be taking the GRE again and I will not be using Magoosh to study.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
excellent tutorial
July 31 | 2016

       By rakeshkamboj1826 joined: July 31, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
Excellent tutorial, I have seen many video of magoosh on Youtube, I am quite interesting in taking this course, so I could improve my GRE score. Which would help me in achieving my dream school in computer science. My aim to score 320+ in GRE general exam. I have taken few mock tests online, Quantitative is not problem for me, I am facing difficulties in Verbal section mainly in Reading comprehension and Sentence equivalence section. My many friends have taken Magoosh GRE course improved there score. I am looking forward to get better assistance from magoosh team in achieving my dream goal
Thanks & regards
Rakesh Kumar
Senior software engineer, Tavant technologies
Nodia, India.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
39 points
International Student Score Improvement
33 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $260
on Magoosh Courses
+$250 discount
+$10 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code