Magoosh GRE Course Reviews

 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GRE.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Magoosh GRE Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $774  $149
Reviews
18
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now

Reviews:

22 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 13, 2018
parseltongue

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 33

Kudos: 19

Probably the best GRE course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!

Read More

March 24, 2018
ebjose

Joined: Sep 20, 2017

Posts: 15

Kudos: 7

Best GRE prep -> MAGOOSH

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had previously attempted GRE before deciding on joining up for the Magoosh premium subscription.

When I started with the program, I found the concepts to be explained such that they were easily digestible. Each lesson was broken into smaller chewable chunks and was followed by a quiz, which bolstered the lesson in my mind.

Also the questions were exactly the way actual GRE questions are made. These questions are different from the GRE (free) ETS POWERPREP II questions, since the acutal test questions are much different too.
The quantitative questions are more difficult and the Verbal questions are more convoluted, similar to the actual GRE exam.

Because of the material, I was able to increase my score to 327 (an increase of 10 points) with my breakup being Q:167 V:161

If you are going to attempt GRE then I would highly recommend enrolling into a MAGOOSH program

Read More

February 05, 2018
akumar37

Joined: Feb 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh was the best source I found for my GRE preparation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal + AWA

Location Online

I gave GRE in 2016 and prepared using Magoosh GRE prep course. Found it one of the best course material for preparation of GRE. Their user interface is really superb and gives a detailed analysis of our strength as well our weakness. Using the Dashboard, one can easily identify which area they need to give more time during their preparation. I found their mobile apps to be very useful too, especially their word prep apps. Coming to their course content, I found it extremely sophisticated and of a similar level to actual GRE test. I was weak in verbal section and I think magoosh really helped me score a decent GRE score and get admission in my dream program. All the best to future GRE test givers.
Their content is really easy to understand (lots of videos), and they give extra 10$ discount to anyone who signs up using this link.
Use this check it out: https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/f5340275k1p176

P.S. I get a referral bonus if you use the link and pay :)

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 07, 2017
achan8

Joined: Jun 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh makes GRE preparation fun

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh was great overall. I was going through study books but often got demotivated by all the text. Magoosh is fun and interactive, makes learning much easier with the video tutorials and great explanations. In the verbal part, they are pretty spot on of the level of the students, and didn't give explanations like - " you know this word means this... so therefore its not right." Rather, they know we may not know that particular word and helps us get through the problem at our level. In both quant and verbal, they give many great tips and skills that are unique but useful. There are many supplementary parts of a Magoosh course that can easily be catered to your needs. The website is also very organized and easy to navigate, so I had no trouble learning how to fully utilize the course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 20, 2017
krohit2375

Joined: May 14, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Didn't expected it to be so good !!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the Magoosh GRE subscription for my application to MS in USA. Initially I was not sure of paying for something about which the internet was already flooded with free material, but after reading the testimonials and doing my research, I finally went for a one month subscription, which I must say has been one of my best decisions. As the program starts, they ask you to take a test so that you have a baseline to understand where you currently belong. They will provide you with an analysis of your weakness and areas you need to work upon. My initial score was 301, so I was also hoping to get a 10 point difference as the website claimed. Over the period of time I went on with their tutorials and practice material, which I must say is the closest to what you will see on the actual test day. Finally, I gave my test and to my surprise I scored 318, quants-166 & verbal- 152. Needless to say I was super exited and satisfied with the result which Magoosh provided me within a month of training.

I do have some referral codes which magoosh gives to every student when they signup. The referral link will give you an additional off on your bill. Feel free to use them.

GRE- https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

TOEFL- https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

Hope this helps :)

Read More

April 05, 2017
gauzpan

Joined: Apr 05, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Good teachers, and good practice material

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal + AWA

Location Online

I tool the Magoosh Verbal course as I wanted to improve my verbal score. The video lessons provided by them were very nice and easy to understand. I learned a lot of tricks for answering complex questions from there. Along with the lessons, the practice which is most important in any test is also quiet helpful with different levels of questions similar to GRE test. So when I was giving my GRE, the kind of questions didn't freak me out as I had the practice done. It also helped me in the writing section by telling about the proper structure to form while writing an essay.

Read More

July 19, 2016
dustindollin

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Comments

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I found the experience to be well worth it.

Read More

May 02, 2016
melirodriguez183

Joined: Apr 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh reviews

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The program is excellent. I am a non-native speaker and it has helped a lot. The videos for quant and for verbal are really clear. They helped me to improve my vocabulary with the app they have for free.
The quant section is extremely helpful, actually, there are some questions that are a little bit harder than the real test but this gives you a big advantage on test day. Verbal section is similar, the reading passages will be identical to what you will see on the test, text completion I found magoosh a little bit harder tho.
In sum, magoosh is an excellent program for a cheap price that at least will improve your GRE Score in 5 points.

Read More

March 21, 2016
Selenarobn

Joined: Mar 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Service at Magoosh!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the GRE to apply to business school. To prepare for the test, I needed a tool that had the depth and personalization of a class with the flexibility of an online platform, I found what I needed in Magoosh. The team answers questions quickly, the modules are easy to understand, and I found the prep questions harder than the actual test. I was beyond prepared for success, and I couldn't recommend them enough. Yet, beyond all of this, they were kind, patient and very eager to help in any way possible. It's clear customer service is important to this team.

Read More

January 30, 2016
pricesc1

Joined: Jan 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 40 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had been out of school for around 4 years before I started studying for the GRE. I was very rusty at first but with the depth of information available and the flexibility in material and timeline Magoosh helped me nail the exam. Lots of practice with plenty of explanations. You'd be hard pressed to find a better program that allows you to study at your own pace, on whatever material you need most and at as reasonable a price. They have gone through the effort of providing text and video explanations to hundreds of question. They also have meticulously gone through each question and organized them by type and difficulty so you can strategically target your weaknesses. Over great product. Would GRE again.

Read More


5 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh