Magoosh GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [22]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GRE.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Magoosh Reality
September 27 | 2015

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By spead joined: September 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
By way of design, Magoosh is superbly efficient, well-organized, and highly ergonomic at the user interface.

I have been pleasantly pleased throughout the entire study process, and truly appreciate the effort put in by Magoosh staff to make this one of the least boring ways of studying for one of the most boring standardized tests.

For me, the fact that every single practice question is complemented by a video tutorial is absolutely critical for understanding the core concepts behind effectively answering the questions. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of practice questions (verbal and quantitative) as well as several hundred more lesson videos, in which the instructors carefully teach you how to set up the problems, examine them, and ultimately complete them (all with time efficiency on mind).

I have yet to take the Magoosh practice tests, and have that marked for a future date, but based on my progress throughout the customized practice sessions I have been taking, I now have a higher level of confidence that I will do well on the practice tests and the real test thanks to Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Out of College for TEN YEARS!
October 15 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By intheeyesofmorbo joined: October 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
When I began studying for the GRE I had not only I been out of school for a decade, but I studied English in college. So while the verbal section was pretty easy for me, the quant section completely blew my mind. Even in this anonymous review I'm too embarrassed to confess my first score on a quant section. Having come across Magoosh on r/gradschool, r/gre, and r/gradadmissions, I decided to give it a go, as I was in desperate need of help. I began at the beginning and watched every single video, took notes, and completed the practice questions. Magoosh's great explanations and tips for success on the test completely transformed my performance, and my score went up dramatically. The customer service is also absolutely top notch. They answered all my questions patiently and promptly. I can't recommend Magoosh enough, especially if you need math help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Cheap and effective
September 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By jasmineliu804 joined: September 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
Magoosh was a life saver especially because I was studying overseas and didn't have a lot of other options. As someone with no math background and out of college for about 4 years, Magoosh was fantastic in preparing me to take my test. They provide a lot of great tips for people who study differently or have different study plans (these are actually free tips on their website). Their videos + questions are broken down into different math parts, as well as English. The videos were clear and concise, very helpful, and helped boost my confidence about my math skills. They had a lot of prompts for the writing, and there's a tracker that makes note of your progress and how far you've come along. I used Magoosh 4 months prior to taking the test, and it bumped up my scores by a lot. I wish there were more practice tests available, but for 99 dollars, I'm not complaining.

I didn't do the best, and though my last practice test said I scored a 314, I feel that the GRE was far more difficult than any of the practice tests I've taken aside from Magoosh (even the ones offered by ETS). I was happy with my score and decided to not take it again because it was too painful, but it has nothing to do with Magoosh.

Magoosh also has a great vocabulary application for your phone so you can study vocab words on the go.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great resource
October 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By unclechicken21 joined: October 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I signed up for Magoosh in September after taking one of the ETS practice exams. I was not too interested in quant as I’m applying to a program that completely ignores the quant score – so my review is based on the verbal and essay sections, as I didn’t even practice quant except in practice tests. I purchased only premium because it was on sale!
Magoosh was very helpful for me in getting my verbal score up. The extensive practice questions helped me to isolate the problem areas (long passage reading comprehension was killing me), and the video explanations for each question were actually very helpful. I thought they would be extremely simplistic, but they were actually quite detailed without being tedious. I especially appreciated the emphasis on strategy and how to think through the questions. I ran through all 500+ verbal questions and watched videos for all the ones I missed, and this made a huge difference in my scores. The great thing with Magoosh is that it is a very flexible tool. If you know exactly what you want to work on, it will help you work on those sections. If you want a plan and help with improving everything, it’ll help with that as well.
I highly recommend Magoosh for anyone who wants to increase their score. I did a bit of quant, and if I had been inclined, I know it would have helped me a lot with that as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Best GRE prep -> MAGOOSH
March 24 | 2018

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ebjose joined: September 20, 2017 | 15 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I had previously attempted GRE before deciding on joining up for the Magoosh premium subscription.

When I started with the program, I found the concepts to be explained such that they were easily digestible. Each lesson was broken into smaller chewable chunks and was followed by a quiz, which bolstered the lesson in my mind.

Also the questions were exactly the way actual GRE questions are made. These questions are different from the GRE (free) ETS POWERPREP II questions, since the acutal test questions are much different too.
The quantitative questions are more difficult and the Verbal questions are more convoluted, similar to the actual GRE exam.

Because of the material, I was able to increase my score to 327 (an increase of 10 points) with my breakup being Q:167 V:161

If you are going to attempt GRE then I would highly recommend enrolling into a MAGOOSH program
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best Resource for GRE Prep? MAGOOSH!
October 12 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By egg5039 joined: October 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
For a little bit of background, I am a recent graduate of an Economics program here in the USA. I am no stranger to math, but found the quant questions to be a bit obscure! I often found myself reviewing materials that i had not seen in years. On my first practice test (a kaplan diagnostic test) I scored a 156Q and 157V. It was at that moment I decided I needed some extra help if I was to score at least a 163 on Q. I used the Magoosh one month plan and worked through it diligently. While it may seem a daunting task, it was worth every minute. The problems that Magoosh provides are likely a bit on the difficult side (relative to the actual exam), but they prepare you for tough challenges.

Bottom line... you want Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
GRE Magoosh
November 12 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By pjcbernadas joined: November 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online
Enrolling to GRE Magoosh is one of the best investments one can make to prepare for the GRE. First, it is not expensive compared to the other review centers and since it is based on the internet, everyone can be a member of group. In terms of mathematics, the questions are difficult but effective enough to train your math senses. The verbal part is also very near to the actual test. Another advantage is that the video lessons are easy to grasp and understand. Finally, magoosh resources are top notch. The study plan should be followed by everyone regardless of time. The vocabulary flashcards and math flashcards are super helpful. Students should however try to get different review sources as well in order to get the best review experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE magoosh
March 31 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By madhuri282 joined: March 31, 2018 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online
Course is well planned.. Great for beginners and retailers too. Course offers comfort of study and very helpful for non native speakers too.
The ease of use and customization as per your weak areas helps improve score faster.
Easy to use on any gadget helps take course at any place.

Ample of material and questions are available for practice.


There are 200+ videos on each and every topic for Quantitative, Verbal and AWA. There are 1300+ practice questions. For every practice question you answer there will be a Video explanation as well as Text explanation for the same. Even if you have personal doubts, you can always mail them. They reply in a day or two most probably and are really supportive
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members
Probably the best GRE course
August 13 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By parseltongue joined: July 13, 2018 | 33 | 18 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh makes GRE preparation fun
June 07 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By achan8 joined: June 7, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online
Magoosh was great overall. I was going through study books but often got demotivated by all the text. Magoosh is fun and interactive, makes learning much easier with the video tutorials and great explanations. In the verbal part, they are pretty spot on of the level of the students, and didn't give explanations like - " you know this word means this... so therefore its not right." Rather, they know we may not know that particular word and helps us get through the problem at our level. In both quant and verbal, they give many great tips and skills that are unique but useful. There are many supplementary parts of a Magoosh course that can easily be catered to your needs. The website is also very organized and easy to navigate, so I had no trouble learning how to fully utilize the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GRE Prep Club members


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
39 points
International Student Score Improvement
33 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $260
on Magoosh Courses
+$250 discount
+$10 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code