Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [123]
    Average Rating:  
    Also: Online Course Reviews
August 22, 2016
harpaf13

Joined: Aug 22, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Prep (as long as you dont need much math help)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Location Online

This online course provided a lot of tips and tricks for the GRE that I could not find elsewhere. However, it was less helpful if you are scoring above average on Math already and just want to get your score up to 160-170. There are not enough combinatorics and probability questions in the reviews to effectively do this. However, the verbal and online sessions were very helpful and convenient. Their Official Test Day Experience is unique and helpful for people with test anxiety to see a testing center ahead of time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a self-directed pace for their GRE prep, with a bit of help from a live instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 19, 2016
dustindollin

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Comments

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I recommend using Magoosh as it offers detailed explanations and videos. I found the easy to use graphic interface alongside feedback by category to be extremely helpful. Also, I like the ability to switch between the mobile application and web platform, while keeping my progress in the Vocabulary application. I found the experience to be well worth it.

Read More

July 06, 2016
yumicha

Joined: Apr 05, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Live Online

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

I had Steve for the Quantitative class sessions and Jonah for the Verbal/Analytical Writing class sessions. Both made the class really fun/interesting - two words I never thought I would use to describe GRE classes.

Prior to signing up for this course, I struggled to make time to study and lacked structure/study plan. The GRE teachers/assistants work to make a study schedule and plan that is tailored to you. As long as you follow it, you should have no problem reaching your goal!

QuizBank is probably one of the best things created to practice the topics that you are not very strong in. It helped strengthen my skills in various areas.

They also have the Higher Score Guarantee policy, which is also great.

Read More

June 07, 2016
mdelve1

Joined: Jun 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE Live Online Class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Instructor Jonah

Location Online

I first tried studying for the GRE on my own by purchasing a GRE book but I was not motivated enough to read the entire book and practice the problems. When I went to take the GRE test I did not do as well as I had wanted so I decided that I should take GRE classes to help guide me and keep me motivated enough to work the problems. I had originally chosen an in person class but there was not enough people who had signed up for it and it was cancelled but Kaplan representatives worked quickly with me and helped me find a class session that would work for me. I then decided to take the live online GRE classes and they were so much more convenient! You just needed your computer, books, paper, and pencil, and you were all set for the GRE prep class! I could take the classes anywhere where there was wifi and that was very helpful for I am a busy person. If you are a busy person as well but want to take a prep class I would definitely recommend taking the live online GRE class. I had Jonah for the Quantitative classes and Steven for the Verbal classes and they were both wonderful! They knew exactly what they were talking about and never got distracted. They would answer all of your questions and even stayed after the class was over to answer more of your questions. They were also available through email and you could email them any questions you had and they would respond very quickly back to you. The classes definitely helped me because both Jonah and Steven explained all the concepts, terminology, and gave tips on how to well. I was motivated by them to do all the homework, practice problems, and practice tests. There was plenty of practice tests to do and the quiz bank also helped so much! I would also recommend getting the Kaplan vocabulary app on your phone because it has the 500 most common words used on the verbal section on the GRE. Because of the classes, I did way better on the GRE the second time I took it! I thought I did better on the Quantitative section than I really did but I still did exceedingly well! You just have to remember it is very challenging and requires practice and work but all that pays off in the end! Through all my hard work and through the help of Kaplan I was able to raise my score 11 points so I would say the prep courses are definitely worth the money!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 07, 2016
steffieharner

Joined: Jun 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

You get out what you put into it...

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 70 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Location Online

Kaplan GRE instructors were great. Online classes were very convenient since I am always traveling - the best part is they were surprisingly engaging. The personal tutor really helps you understand the product and material and tells you what to focus on based on your scores. Having the personal tutor really holds you accountable (something that is usually missing when you're not physically in a classroom.) If you are engaged in your classes, do all the homework, and listen to your tutor you WILL improve your score tremendously. It's worth every penny if you're willing to put in the effort.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 02, 2016
SeeMmmJay

Joined: Jun 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Live Online PLUS Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jonah

Location Online

I liked how I was able to take 7 practice tests including one at the actual testing center where I took the real GRE. And the way their interface for exploring how well you did on the practice tests was very nice. Additionally, I found the PLUS tutor sessions useful for asking questions about practice problems. The tutors were extremely helpful and Kaplan as a whole was always about ensuring that I was having a good experience. There was a big effort from Kaplan to ensure that nothing, not even tech issues, got in the way of me studying. I found the Increased Score Guarantee to be comforting as I prepped for the test.

Read More

May 02, 2016
melirodriguez183

Joined: Apr 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh reviews

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The program is excellent. I am a non-native speaker and it has helped a lot. The videos for quant and for verbal are really clear. They helped me to improve my vocabulary with the app they have for free.
The quant section is extremely helpful, actually, there are some questions that are a little bit harder than the real test but this gives you a big advantage on test day. Verbal section is similar, the reading passages will be identical to what you will see on the test, text completion I found magoosh a little bit harder tho.
In sum, magoosh is an excellent program for a cheap price that at least will improve your GRE Score in 5 points.

Read More

April 25, 2016
ncdolphin

Joined: Apr 25, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Awesome!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 40 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Location Online

This course was amazing! It was well worth the money. All the teachers are awesome and invested in your success on the GRE. The classes are long, but the instructors make the class go by quickly. The practice tests are super helpful. The GRE is a marathon for your brain, and the practice tests help prepare your brain for the whole 4 hour test. The practice quiz bank is also fantastic. You can customize the quiz to your level and what you want to focus on. This course definitely helped me to feel confident in the GRE.The Higher Score Guarantee is also great. Kaplan wants to make sure that you do well.

Read More

April 12, 2016
amandav1

Joined: Apr 12, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Live Online course experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

Let me preface by telling a little bit about my situation. I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in May 2015. The first time I took the GRE, in early 2015 before I graduated, I barely studied and I did not do well. At all. I ended up not getting into my top grad school choice, and decided to take some time off to work full time before I tried for graduate school again.
When I decided to take the GRE again, I knew I had to take some sort of prep class to ensure that my scores would be higher this time around. I signed up for the Live Online course because I received a coupon/promo code in my email inbox, and I am SO glad that I did.
First, I have to thank the people working the phones at Kaplan. I accidentally signed up for the course at a time that I could not attend, and I called them up and they changed it for me within five minutes. Such great customer service.
I loved so many things about the course. My instructor, Jonah, was so great! Compelling and kept my attention and focus the entire time. He would even stay on after the class was over to answer any questions and do more examples with students. I also loved the classroom interface; super easy to follow along with.
Kaplan also provides so many great resources with this course! The quiz bank was so helpful and easy to use; you can tailor the quiz lengths to fit your schedule so you can do a couple each day, no matter how busy you are. The full-length practice tests were not fun to take, but I think they really helped improve my scores.
Finally, the approaches to question types and essay prompts we were taught in this course were overwhelmingly helpful as well. When you really know what a question is asking you and testing you on, you are more confident in your approach and you can use your time more wisely and efficiently.
Though the course is a pretty hefty sum of money, I increased my scores significantly from the first time I took the test, and I think it was well worth it.
Great job, Kaplan!

Read More

March 21, 2016
Selenarobn

Joined: Mar 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Service at Magoosh!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the GRE to apply to business school. To prepare for the test, I needed a tool that had the depth and personalization of a class with the flexibility of an online platform, I found what I needed in Magoosh. The team answers questions quickly, the modules are easy to understand, and I found the prep questions harder than the actual test. I was beyond prepared for success, and I couldn't recommend them enough. Yet, beyond all of this, they were kind, patient and very eager to help in any way possible. It's clear customer service is important to this team.

Read More


33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Online