Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [123]
    Average Rating:  
    Also: Online Course Reviews
December 19, 2018
orionf

Joined: Dec 19, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Greenlight's the right chice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Greenlight Test Prep 1-Month Plan

Location Online

I gave myself 2 months to study for the GREs after endlessly procrastinating. The first month I focused on my verbal and improved that on my own, however I had failed to improve my math score. By the end of that month I realized I needed a video course. I always struggled with Math and found Greenlight's short how to videos and review questions to be insightful and an efficient use of my time.
I targeted my geometry, data interpretation, and algebra weaknesses and scored a 154 in quant. That was a 6 pt increase from where I started. I briefly went over some verbal videos however I found studying vocabulary and doing your own practice problems to be more helpful than watching a video on that.
If I had given myself more time to study and used all the resources greenlight offered I conceivably could have done better. Total score was 154/164 = 318 which was just enough to get me into my PhD program of choice.
$60 was absolutely worth it.
Thanks Brent!

Read More

October 30, 2018
ksmgre

Joined: Oct 30, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The Best GRE Quant Course!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I'm so thankful that I found Target Test Prep for my GRE study. After dabbling in Manhattan Prep, Magoosh and Veritas prep materials, I can confidently say that Target Prep is the best out there for quant study. I am by no means a math whiz, but I was able to greatly improve my score through Target Test Prep's thorough and highly organized course. The website is so well designed that it almost made the study process fun believe it or not! What I have learned is that question type recognition is everything for success on the GRE. Target Test Prep is set up so that you learn through repetition with their seemingly endless question bank. In addition, the analytics really helped me see which specific topics were my strengths and weaknesses. With the help of Target Prep, I'll be attending Columbia Business School--my dream school! I can't recommend Target Test Prep enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 30, 2018
DTW123

Joined: Aug 07, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

EmpowerGRE Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

I used EmpowerGRE for Verbal. The EmpowerGRE platform is very user-friendly and the lessons are set up well for students to succeed. The videos succinctly explain each question type and subsequent strategies related to answering each question type. I found the flashcards to be the most useful. Instead of trying to learn >1000 words, EmpowerGRE has figured out which words appear on the GRE on a regular basis. The flashcards provide harder questions towards the end of the course and so by then, the student should have mastered the "basic" words. I had taken the GRE once before I signed up for the EmpowerGRE and received a score of 156 on Verbal. After a month and a half of studying with EmpowerGRE, I ended up scoring 164 on my second try. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to make an improvement to their score.

Read More

August 13, 2018
parseltongue

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 33

Kudos: 19

Probably the best GRE course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!

Read More

June 22, 2018
adrianaap4

Joined: Jun 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE = Kaplan!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Gene Suhir

Location Online

The Kaplan live online course was exactly what I needed and I am very glad I took it before taking the GRE. The GRE is NOT common sense and you HAVE to study to do well. The Kaplan instructors do a great job of teaching the math subjects you forgot after algebra 2 and offer detailed explanations on how to solve the problems quickly. The verbal review is great because it provides the repetition necessary to perform well. The practice tests are accurate to the actual GRE. It is crucial to practice problems under a time limit since that is half the battle. Highly recommend to anyone considering taking the GRE.

Read More

May 03, 2018
Shahrukh

Joined: May 03, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

How has Target Test Prep GRE Preparation helped me?

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Target Test Prep GRE helped me strengthen math concepts in an efficient way. The questions set included in Target Test Prep GRE GRE prep was very similar to questions given in real GRE test. I answered GRE previous year with a lot of preparation, but only scored 305. This year, I choose Target Test Prep GRE for Quant preparation and surprisingly, I improved my Quant score by 8 points. The user interface is simple and attractive. The lessons were well organized and explained. Great videos with great explanation. Also, the email assistance offered was really comprehensive and I never had any doubt left unanswered. I adore Target Test Prep GRE , I am so happy that I tried it. I will prescribe it to everybody I know!

Read More

April 24, 2018
tglu

Joined: Apr 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

I am so thankful that I decided to take the Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS course this past winter! I signed up for it hoping to study really hard for two months for the GRE and then take it once and be happy with my scores. I was skeptical that I would be able to pull this off, but it actually worked out, thanks to this course! I am a full time undergraduate university student, but was still able to attend the online course every week and do the recommended assignments and practice tests at pace. I really enjoyed the sessions with my tutor, which helped me to strategize ways to increase my score and strengthen my weak spots. The Kaplan teachers were friendly and funny and always there to offer help and support. It was extremely helpful to learn the tips and tricks of the GRE, and the math review was absolutely crucial for me. This was definitely an expensive course, but I am so thankful that my scores improved, and that my grad school dreams will likely come true!

Read More

March 24, 2018
ebjose

Joined: Sep 20, 2017

Posts: 15

Kudos: 7

Best GRE prep -> MAGOOSH

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had previously attempted GRE before deciding on joining up for the Magoosh premium subscription.

When I started with the program, I found the concepts to be explained such that they were easily digestible. Each lesson was broken into smaller chewable chunks and was followed by a quiz, which bolstered the lesson in my mind.

Also the questions were exactly the way actual GRE questions are made. These questions are different from the GRE (free) ETS POWERPREP II questions, since the acutal test questions are much different too.
The quantitative questions are more difficult and the Verbal questions are more convoluted, similar to the actual GRE exam.

Because of the material, I was able to increase my score to 327 (an increase of 10 points) with my breakup being Q:167 V:161

If you are going to attempt GRE then I would highly recommend enrolling into a MAGOOSH program

Read More

February 05, 2018
akumar37

Joined: Feb 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Magoosh was the best source I found for my GRE preparation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal + AWA

Location Online

I gave GRE in 2016 and prepared using Magoosh GRE prep course. Found it one of the best course material for preparation of GRE. Their user interface is really superb and gives a detailed analysis of our strength as well our weakness. Using the Dashboard, one can easily identify which area they need to give more time during their preparation. I found their mobile apps to be very useful too, especially their word prep apps. Coming to their course content, I found it extremely sophisticated and of a similar level to actual GRE test. I was weak in verbal section and I think magoosh really helped me score a decent GRE score and get admission in my dream program. All the best to future GRE test givers.
Their content is really easy to understand (lots of videos), and they give extra 10$ discount to anyone who signs up using this link.
Use this check it out: https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/f5340275k1p176

P.S. I get a referral bonus if you use the link and pay :)

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 26, 2018
mcallistcoli34

Joined: Jan 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A worthwhile investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

I was advised by my sister to use this course, and I found it to be very useful. The live classes went into a lot of the strategies to use to stop the GRE from tricking you, as well as a lot of retraining of math and how to do it fast enough to keep up with the test for the most part. Good strategies were presented, the teacher showed an obvious enthusiasm and patience and it helped me set up my study schedule. The channel was also very helpful in reviewing different topics covered in class or not, and helped me to relearn concepts I had forgotten. The qbank was also very useful, letting me practice questions from a variety of topics to try to keep myself sharp on the final test. And finally the practice tests helped me set my goals-the normal class ones were helpful and the prometric test day experience was especially helpful because it made the actual test day far less stressful. I really got a lot out of this program, and I'd say you should consider it for your prep.

Read More


33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Online