Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [123]
    Average Rating:  
    Also: Online Course Reviews
February 01, 2020
Sian

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

I purchased The Economist GRE tutor premium package a month before to improve my GRE score which was quite low. After using The Economist GRE tutor for one month, I improved 15 marks to my previous GRE score. I would recommend purchasing The Economist GRE tutor service because its adaptive technology worked to build your skills and strengthen the weakest one. Especially, the verbal instructions are very good and prepard me to raise y score in verbal to 10 points. The interface of the program is quite similar to GRE actual exam that help me to get acquit with the test day experience very well. I found it quite effective because I got my dream score.

Read More

January 07, 2020
memadden

Joined: Jan 07, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best GRE quant prep on the market

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I studied with Target Test Prep for less than 6 weeks, and my quant score went from 162 to 170. Having dabbled with a couple other GRE services, I can say Target Test Prep was by far the best and instrumental for my GRE studying. First, the platform is fantastic and well-designed. Easy to navigate, track progress, and revisit missed questions. I also love how it separates practice problems into easy/medium/hard and gives you a target score in each. That way, I didn't feel bad if I missed some of the hard ones or took an extra minute to answer them.

Second, what I liked best about the Target Test Prep platform is the ability to crank out a lot of practice problems relatively quickly. I tried Magoosh but didn’t stick with it, I think because it was just too slow. With Target Test Prep, you take practice quizzes with 10-20 questions (much like the actual GRE) and I would check the solution/strategy only for the questions I missed or spent way too much time on. Overall, I would say that the practice problems were a little more difficult than the actual GRE questions. I found this motivated me to study more, and I felt very confident once I started taking the official GRE practice tests and on the actual test day.

Read More

December 17, 2019
mald2433

Joined: Dec 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Followed 90 day study plan and increased by 22 points

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I struggled with studying for the GRE at first and decided to invest in the Magoosh Premium Prep subscription. It was well worth my money. I attended a Princeton in person prep class before, but I still struggled with the math core concepts. The Magoosh study plan (I got the 90 day study plan) provided me with a better structure and resources than the in person prep class. I was hesitant to use online prep because I struggle keeping myself accountable to a daily study routine. With the study plans magoosh has available it is so simple to adapt to a routine. Additionally, whenever I struggled with a question or concept there were always tutorial videos available that explained everything in a detailed manner. The support team also responded very quickly when I had a question that wasn't already listed in their forums/videos.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 04, 2019
adolphin

Joined: Nov 22, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Target Test Prep and Tutoring from Jeff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Following the Target Test Prep curriculum was fundamental in improving my quant score. The course and tutoring raised my quant score from 155 to 163. It took quite awhile to finish the whole course, but it really sets the stage for a strong foundation in core math skills. After completing the course, I felt like I had a solid understanding of everything covered on the GRE. Target Test Prep was hands down better than any of the other classes or online courses I used. The practice questions on TTP are very similar to the real GRE questions.

I also did weekly tutoring with Jeff from Target Test Prep. Before going to Jeff, I used tutors from two other test prep companies and got almost no change in my score. But Jeff made sure I understood the concepts from the Target Test Prep curriculum inside and out. He was also great about helping me understand how to complete each problem in the most efficient way for the GRE. Tutoring with him was definitely worth the cost and time. He is also super flexible on scheduling around your calendar.

Read More

December 02, 2019
ujjirox

Joined: Dec 02, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Found Target Test Prep to be very helpful! Recommend only if you are willing to commit for the long haul, as stated explicitly on their website or already quite advanced since it can be challenging and possibly discouraging if you do the hard questions too soon. The founder seems really invested in making sure students of the course succeed and its a very good price as well (I got the monthly for about two months). Got 167 the first time I took the GRE although I was quite tired from lack of sleep the night before. Second time was well rested and ended up getting 170. Good luck!

Read More

November 26, 2019
novice07

Joined: Mar 20, 2018

Posts: 39

Kudos: 36

Greenlight Test Prep: A Comprehensive GRE preparation course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count

Improvement 20 Points

Course Greenlight Test Prep 6-Month Plan

Location Online

It had been more than 3 years since I wrote a competitive exam. Having scored only 312 (Q163, V149) in the first attempt, I was quite afraid of writing the exam again. I was quite confident about improving my quantitative score, but needed practice to avoid making silly mistakes here and there. Also being a non-native English speaker, getting a decent score in the verbal section was very daunting for me. But all thanks to Greenlight Test Prep and Mr. Brent Hanneson, I managed to get a score of 330 this time (Q168, V162). I joined the course in mid-July, four months before the test date. I feel the course is very comprehensive and well structured. The videos are really well explained and the collection of questions covers everything that could be asked in the actual GRE. I feel lucky to have come across such a preparation course for my GRE and I am extremely thankful to Mr. Brent Hanneson, a great tutor and an amazing human being.

Read More

November 05, 2019
Spagoada

Joined: Nov 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Target Test Prep for GRE Quant preparation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I personally enjoyed this course because it was set up as an online course that has chapters that first teach you the matter and then give you a set of quizzes you need a certain percentage right to continue through the course. All the preparation was very thorough with and they give you all the tools all you really have to do is put in the effort. Before every chapter there was a quiz testing all previous chapters as well as a 30 question test every 4 chapters or so, this way you wouldn't forget the information you learned in the beginning of the course. I really enjoyed TTP because it gave me all the practice I needed, while being productive with the practice I had. For the first time I took the gre I honestly was studying aimlessly. I was putting the hours forth but didn't have a clear plan of action to follow, this showed with the 147 Quant score I received. TTP gave me the plan and made me feel so much more secure on test day then the first time around, I was surprised when I saw the 158 on the screen. I definitely recommend this to everyone that tells me theyre taking the GRE.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 01, 2019
pedro91

Joined: Oct 31, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Target

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Thanks to Target I was able to improve my quant score by 9 points, which greatly improved my chances to be accepted on my chosen phd programm. I think Target is the best of quant course on the market, not only because their price is reasonable but their materials are perfect to study for the GRE.

I believe that the best thing about Target course is that their questions are on the same level of the GRE and they make you build a time sense that is one of the most important skills you need to perform weel on the GRE.

Read More

September 15, 2019
whuang26

Joined: Sep 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great service, especially for someone who is nervous about quant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

I heard about Target Test Prep from a friend who was enrolled at a highly selective business school and who used TTP to prepare for the GMATs. I was studying for the GREs, but I was just using the official ETS book at the time and nothing else, and I was getting a lot of the quant questions wrong (math is my weakest subject and seven years removed from undergrad). So I decided to purchase TTP on her recommendation.

The best part of TTP are the extremely detailed tutorial sections and multiple practice tests for each math concept (e.g. geometry, probability). Doing this allows you to just focus on the areas where you did the worse in and target your weak sports - I equate it to watching game tape in basketball with a great coach who pauses the tape every few seconds to offer tips on improving your form or to critique a decision you made.

My only critique is the built-in calculator feels a little "sticky" and couldn't input numbers correctly on occasion.

Overall, I whole-heartedly recommend TTP. I didn't want to pay the way higher fees for an in-person prep class from another company, and if you stay disciplined (i.e. create a study plan and tackle each math section to a set schedule), you'll do fine on test day and only invested a fraction of the costs.

Score: 166 Verbal / 160 Quant (happy with score, only taking once)

Read More

August 26, 2019
eyj2

Joined: May 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A+ - helped me get from 156 to 161 in two months!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Target Test Prep The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course

Location Online

Super thorough course. wish I had started with Target from the beginning. Scott and Jeff are very responsive and happy to help / available via phone / email.

I really appreciated how thorough and methodical the course was. I had tried Kaplan, Magoosh, and official ETS materials and didn't have a clear game plan to make sure I wasn't missing material that didn't happen to show up on the practice problems I ran into. The course forces you to slow down in the best way and really drill concepts that you might think you know, but need more practice with the be quick and efficient when you're at the test center being timed and want to achieve a top quant score.

I also really appreciated their test day tips and other tips on the importance of psyching yourself up and even writing confidently and clearly in order to not make silly mistakes.

Target is a no BS approach that is really holistic and effective in it's teachings, in my opinion.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

37 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Online