Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [103]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Short time for Guaranteed Success
February 10 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Shanice05 joined: February 7, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I started off studying for the GRE using the ETS Verbal and Quant books along and using online resources to do practice tests. I understood the material and was practicing at least 8 hours a day. A couple days before my first scheduled exam I kept scoring around 146 in Quant no matter what I did differently. So I rescheduled my exam for two weeks later and decided to use Targettestprerp as recommended by a friend. I was really skeptical at first because I felt like I was doing everything possible to get a good score and that nothing would really help in two weeks. I also felt saturated and a bit demotivated in studying for the GRE every day for 2 months. Finally, I tried them out and little by little what I felt like I understood previously started to become a lot clearer due to the video explanations and tips that increased my speed and accuracy. By the end of the first week, I was already understanding how to answer questions more quickly and really get a hang of the way the questions could be phrased. I continued to practice using practice tests and my score increased from 146. I was still nervous going into the exam as I couldn't cover all the material but I was sure something had improved. I was able to score a 152 in the Quant from a 146 just by practicing with Targettestprep for over a week. Given more time I know I could have definitely gotten a better grade but I am so glad I found them when I did even if it was for a short time. Will recommend to everyone and anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan online + review
January 23 | 2019

       By hd1993 joined: January 23, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online  |
The Kaplan instructors for the most part are all enthusiastic and really try to help you make sense of the material. They give you tips on how to go about the GRE problems and really are there to help you. Of course, you can't just take part of the class and that's it. It really requires that you set time to study on your own and do those Qbanks. Unfortunately, I did't have time to fully prepare since may of my deadlines were right after my Kaplan class ended but If I had a couple months more or even weeks, I am sure that my score would have improved even more than it did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THE BEST course for QUANT!!!!
January 12 | 2019

       By GREcandidate joined: January 12, 2019 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
TTP in my opinion is the best course out there and is the best solution to tackle the Quant section of the GRE. TTP helped my quant score immensely, by 7 points exactly! I began this course with 153 in quant and scored 160 when I competed the course. The course is very detailed and clear on what exactly needs to be done to master each concept. There is a lot of work that needs to be done but it is truly the only program on the market that offers the most comprehensive approach to prep for the GRE test. Another great thing about the course is that you can always contact someone with any quant questions and they usually respond within 10 mins. They are very friendly and always willing to help , which I found this service to be extremely helpful because I had a lot of questions. Overall, the course is worth every penny and I would strongly recommend to someone who is preparing for GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A LIFE SAVOR
December 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ariellesmith233 joined: December 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I have to preface this review by saying I am AWFUL at math. I put off taking the GRE for a year because I was so afraid how badly I would bomb the quant section.I combined Target Test Prep with a Kaplan Course and am so happy I did so because while Kaplan gives you a large quantity and variety of review problems, it's not exactly a review. I used Target Test Prep for four months and essentially re-taught myself math using this website.It was extremely time consuming but I ended up making it through all 21 chapters. I ended up getting a 156 (which was my target score!) on the quant section and am quite happy with the results!! I will say though that there isn't any practice exams or practice quizzes (besides the post chapter quizzes) that really emulate what you see on the GRE. So, you would definitely need to look elsewhere for that material (and of course the verbal too). However, at only $70 a month it's a beyond worthy investment for those of us who struggle with numbers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Greenlight's the right chice
December 19 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By orionf joined: December 19, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep 1-Month Plan | Location:   Online  |
I gave myself 2 months to study for the GREs after endlessly procrastinating. The first month I focused on my verbal and improved that on my own, however I had failed to improve my math score. By the end of that month I realized I needed a video course. I always struggled with Math and found Greenlight's short how to videos and review questions to be insightful and an efficient use of my time.
I targeted my geometry, data interpretation, and algebra weaknesses and scored a 154 in quant. That was a 6 pt increase from where I started. I briefly went over some verbal videos however I found studying vocabulary and doing your own practice problems to be more helpful than watching a video on that.
If I had given myself more time to study and used all the resources greenlight offered I conceivably could have done better. Total score was 154/164 = 318 which was just enough to get me into my PhD program of choice.
$60 was absolutely worth it.
Thanks Brent!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good work
December 13 | 2018

       By neilthawani joined: December 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
The live online course was offered at multiple times. The instructors were great and obviously cared about student success.

The quiz bank and Live Online instructors really made this course worth it. My score improved by 6 points and I gained mental clarity while taking complicated math and reading comprehension questions in the quiz bank.

Kaplan sends you some test prep books - I used the online quiz bank instead. They also mail you a tiny book with helpful vocabulary, synonyms, and formulas. That was extremely helpful in alleviating my test anxiety.

The in-person GRE test day experience was helpful for understanding what the process would feel like. There were some issues with the Prometric portal and I got scheduled for the wrong day - so that was one negative that wasted about 2 hours of my time (45 minutes to and from the test center!)...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thankful for examPAL
November 27 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ejavera joined: November 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   examPAL Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I would absolutely have done worse on the GRE had I not used the examPAL prep course. I've been out of school for a couple years and had a LOT of catching up to do in regards to test taking and test prep, and examPAL helped me immensely. Aside from a few minor technical glitches (which really didn't detract from the program overall), the program worked perfectly. I didn't end up using all of the available features as I should have, like the online chat and essay submission, but that was through no fault of the program's. I haven't received my analytical writing scores just yet, but I'm happy enough with my scores on the other sections. I have been recommending examPAL to anyone I come across who is considering taking the GRE, and I will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best GRE Quant Course!!
October 30 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ksmgre joined: October 30, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I'm so thankful that I found Target Test Prep for my GRE study. After dabbling in Manhattan Prep, Magoosh and Veritas prep materials, I can confidently say that Target Prep is the best out there for quant study. I am by no means a math whiz, but I was able to greatly improve my score through Target Test Prep's thorough and highly organized course. The website is so well designed that it almost made the study process fun believe it or not! What I have learned is that question type recognition is everything for success on the GRE. Target Test Prep is set up so that you learn through repetition with their seemingly endless question bank. In addition, the analytics really helped me see which specific topics were my strengths and weaknesses. With the help of Target Prep, I'll be attending Columbia Business School--my dream school! I can't recommend Target Test Prep enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
October 13 | 2018

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By brightertiger joined: October 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
One of the best resources out there for preparing for the quantitative section of the exam. I practiced quite a few problems from their question bank. It has over 2300 questions. The difficulty level was close to what I faced in the real test. You can create your own custom tests catering to a specific topic or difficulty level. Also, the analytical dashboard is a big help in keeping yourself motivated.

I would like to thank Scott and the entire TTP team for helping me out with my preparation. Getting a good quant score in GRE was important for my applications and you guys made it possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EmpowerGRE Verbal
August 30 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By DTW123 joined: August 7, 2018 | 2 | 1 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgre On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I used EmpowerGRE for Verbal. The EmpowerGRE platform is very user-friendly and the lessons are set up well for students to succeed. The videos succinctly explain each question type and subsequent strategies related to answering each question type. I found the flashcards to be the most useful. Instead of trying to learn >1000 words, EmpowerGRE has figured out which words appear on the GRE on a regular basis. The flashcards provide harder questions towards the end of the course and so by then, the student should have mastered the "basic" words. I had taken the GRE once before I signed up for the EmpowerGRE and received a score of 156 on Verbal. After a month and a half of studying with EmpowerGRE, I ended up scoring 164 on my second try. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to make an improvement to their score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers: