Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [97]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Thankful for examPAL
November 27 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ejavera joined: November 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   examPAL Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I would absolutely have done worse on the GRE had I not used the examPAL prep course. I've been out of school for a couple years and had a LOT of catching up to do in regards to test taking and test prep, and examPAL helped me immensely. Aside from a few minor technical glitches (which really didn't detract from the program overall), the program worked perfectly. I didn't end up using all of the available features as I should have, like the online chat and essay submission, but that was through no fault of the program's. I haven't received my analytical writing scores just yet, but I'm happy enough with my scores on the other sections. I have been recommending examPAL to anyone I come across who is considering taking the GRE, and I will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best GRE Quant Course!!
October 30 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ksmgre joined: October 30, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I'm so thankful that I found Target Test Prep for my GRE study. After dabbling in Manhattan Prep, Magoosh and Veritas prep materials, I can confidently say that Target Prep is the best out there for quant study. I am by no means a math whiz, but I was able to greatly improve my score through Target Test Prep's thorough and highly organized course. The website is so well designed that it almost made the study process fun believe it or not! What I have learned is that question type recognition is everything for success on the GRE. Target Test Prep is set up so that you learn through repetition with their seemingly endless question bank. In addition, the analytics really helped me see which specific topics were my strengths and weaknesses. With the help of Target Prep, I'll be attending Columbia Business School--my dream school! I can't recommend Target Test Prep enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
October 13 | 2018

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By brightertiger joined: October 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
One of the best resources out there for preparing for the quantitative section of the exam. I practiced quite a few problems from their question bank. It has over 2300 questions. The difficulty level was close to what I faced in the real test. You can create your own custom tests catering to a specific topic or difficulty level. Also, the analytical dashboard is a big help in keeping yourself motivated.

I would like to thank Scott and the entire TTP team for helping me out with my preparation. Getting a good quant score in GRE was important for my applications and you guys made it possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EmpowerGRE Verbal
August 30 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By DTW123 joined: August 7, 2018 | 2 | 1 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgre On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I used EmpowerGRE for Verbal. The EmpowerGRE platform is very user-friendly and the lessons are set up well for students to succeed. The videos succinctly explain each question type and subsequent strategies related to answering each question type. I found the flashcards to be the most useful. Instead of trying to learn >1000 words, EmpowerGRE has figured out which words appear on the GRE on a regular basis. The flashcards provide harder questions towards the end of the course and so by then, the student should have mastered the "basic" words. I had taken the GRE once before I signed up for the EmpowerGRE and received a score of 156 on Verbal. After a month and a half of studying with EmpowerGRE, I ended up scoring 164 on my second try. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to make an improvement to their score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GRE preparation course!
August 27 | 2018

       By oslomeli joined: August 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgre On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I must accept I am not a math fan, and honestly, it has always been hard for me. Also, I am a non-native English speaker, so I was pretty terrified of the GRE test. I was probably facing a feeling that a lot of students may feel, why if I am applying for a Marketing Master (or other masters not related to math specifically) I have to be tested with this exam. Well, EmpowerGRE was my salvation. The way the preparation stages are divided help you out scheduling your time before the test. It provides you with enough exercises to feel secure before the big day. Each exercise has it own explanation video and it really shows you some tricks to beat the exam. I spent a full month studying every day and by the end, I felt the guys explaining the exercises on the videos were my close friends. At the end of my course I felt prepared for the GRE test, I took it, and now I can say I got accepted into one of the best business schools in Europe. My score isn't as high as many people may achieve, but coming from a guy that sucked in math it was quite an achievement, thanks to EmpowerGRE. I totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GET THIS COURSE
August 27 | 2018

       By ebruk648 joined: August 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Gene Suhir
This course, in my opinion, is a must get if you are not a naturally gifted test taker. Gene, my instructor, and Anne, our TA, worked with my condensed study schedule to help me create a study schedule geared just for me, jump into other class sections to get material early, and ultimately achieve the scores I wanted. I am a person who needs a schedule and something to keep me disciplined. I wanted to improve my score because I did not like my first score. I originally bought just a GRE Kaplan prep book, but I never got myself to study or read from it at all. Having the online class times made sure I was not only engaging with GRE material, but Gene let us go through problems on our own and then reviewed where we might have messed up. We were given many strategies to get to answers faster and work through problems efficiently. There are so many resources for studying. I highly suggest taking the course from Gene. I had a couple different teachers when I jumped into a different class section, and they were not as engaging and talked at us instead of getting us involved as much. BUT, in general, I would not have done as well without this course. I would absolutely get it. If it's too expensive, find a friend and split the cost. Just find a way to get this Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Probably the best GRE course
August 13 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By parseltongue joined: July 13, 2018 | 33 | 18 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I bought the Magoosh account 1 month prior to my GRE date. Gave a mock initially and scored 302 in it. (Q 155 V 147). I followed the Magoosh study plan and it turned out to be effective. Practised the RCs every day and logged all my mistakes. probably could've scored higher if I got Magoosh earlier, but I've got enough for my application. The vocabulary builder app was also helpful, but I would suggest focusing on the contextual meaning of the word. A concept I came to know after giving GRE was synonym trees, which are also of great use.

For Quant, I'd suggest calculating everything on the paper since you're likely to make mistakes under the time pressure. Also, the tricks revealed in the Magoosh videos are of vital help. The flashcards came a lot handy as well.

I understand that Magoosh may seem a bit overpriced to students, but it is worth every penny. You can get a discount with these:

GRE:
https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

TOEFL:
https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/X85B2K

All the best, everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Company
August 12 | 2018

       By nn14 joined: August 12, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   examPAL Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
Great Company! very recommended! They have a very clear and productive plan that helps you prepare for the exam. All subjects are covered during the course, and everything is very well explained via videos and exercise. Furthermore, the staff is very helpful and answer every question. The course helped me go over all the material needed and make sure I am able to reach the test when I am well prepared. You can also have your essays checked and get a thorough analysis in order to improve. The course also includes words that you should memorize and many tips regarding the reading and the writing assignments. In addition, there is a possibility to get a personal class via Skype, which was also very useful
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best GRE course ever
June 25 | 2018

       By Saharsh95 joined: June 25, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgre On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
First of all thanks EmpowerGRE for helping me to achieve my target score, I really appreciate that. The course is very precise and point to point but remind you that one have to dedicate a lot of practice and Hard work to it.
Thanks to them I was able to touch a better score in Verbal in test and their quant videos and exercises really helped me to revise all important topics in time.
For AWA their tactics and info regarding format and other aspect really helped me to write a good issue and argument essay .
All tactics like Skimming, Test it!, and so on were really helpful and really helped me to do a good performance in my GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE = Kaplan!
June 22 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By adrianaap4 joined: June 22, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Gene Suhir
The Kaplan live online course was exactly what I needed and I am very glad I took it before taking the GRE. The GRE is NOT common sense and you HAVE to study to do well. The Kaplan instructors do a great job of teaching the math subjects you forgot after algebra 2 and offer detailed explanations on how to solve the problems quickly. The verbal review is great because it provides the repetition necessary to perform well. The practice tests are accurate to the actual GRE. It is crucial to practice problems under a time limit since that is half the battle. Highly recommend to anyone considering taking the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers: