Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [106]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Oates, Tyler EMPOWERgre Review
July 19 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By TO41 joined: July 19, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgre On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I recently took my third and final (thank God) GRE. I scored a 170 Verbal, 160 Quant, and 5.0 AWA. I used a total of three self-study prep programs over the course of a year (Manhattan Prep GMAT, Magoosh GRE, EmpowerGRE). I originally used MHP in preparation for the GMAT, but after a great deal of frustration (Practice tests: 580, 620, 700, 650- it did not seem that my effort “input” consistently resulted in an corresponding performance “output”). As a result I decided to take a GRE in order to make a more informed decision as to which test I would focus my full effort. With no additional GRE-specific study I scored a 161-V, 158- Q, 5.0 AWA (FEB 2019). Though not the score I needed, I left the test feeling optimistic that I could improve. I switched to Magoosh GRE prep and utilized their 1-month study plan. I really liked the video lessons and explanation after each question (which I needed for my more than rusty Quant skills). I dedicated a significant amount of prep (~35 hrs/wk- remember my quant was verrry rusty- for five weeks). I went into my second test (May 2019), very confident however I was disappointed when my Quant score did not improve (164-V, 158- Q, 4.0 AWA). Leaving that test, I felt as though I had executed my intended game plan with respect to verbal, however quant still stumped me. I felt like the test was calling the shots, and I was simply along for the ride, question by question. I work in US Army Special Operations, making a living jumping out of planes and blowing stuff up, so I refused to believe that it was nerves (nah there were definitely nerves!). I knew I needed to get more strategic in my approach toward TAKING the test, not just the material ON the test. My goal was to squeeze 2 more points from Quant- 160 or bust. This is where EmpowerGRE came in. I heard of them through my initial prep research and was drawn to try them because of their data driven approach to triaging questions. Often times I knew I a problem needed to be “Triaged” but didn’t even have a good way of dumping it (a 1 out of 5 guess is not a recipe for success). Additionally, I felt like I was at my math learning capacity. Frankly I was not worried about “getting smarter” but rather “working smarter”. (Note: EmpowerGRE also has an extensive video lesson library, syllabus, and explanations for each question. If I had it to do over I would have used them from the start) I studied the “Tactical” sections very intently for roughly 3 weeks, before my final test in July 2019. I finally got the score I wanted (327+). As I had dozens of 158 quant scores (it didn’t seem to matter I couldn’t get over the hump) I can honestly attribute the 2-point quant increase to EmpowerGRE’s program. If I am being fair, I know that 160 is not thattttt high for quant, but having battled it for so long it felt good to get that small victory. For those who crush quant but struggle with verbal I still found EmpowerGRE to be very beneficial. My ETS PowerPrep quant scores hovered around 163-166 so I am fortunate that I had a decent base. However, I still learned from EmpowerGRE and entered that final test with very confident in my strategy and game plan. I was able to raise my score from 164 to 170 without much additional verbal-section specific studying (under 10 total hours).

Here is the TLDNR version.
IF YOU:
Have a strong grasp of the test but are trying to earn those very elusive last few points
OR
You feel like you are stuck at a certain score and despite hours and hours of studying and hundreds of problems you can’t break through
OR
You took the test and felt like IT (rather than you) was dictating your strategy (rushing through questions at the end, didn’t know where to start on a question, or have been like did I miss something, what is this?)
OR
You believe that $49 (with a score guarantee) is worth adding an additional arrow in your quiver (even it only gets you 1 additional point, they all add up)

Then I highly encourage you to give it a try.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
June 24 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Sierra joined: June 24, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I loved my Kaplan GRE Prep course. I had no idea what I was doing before I took it, and it helped me improve my score a lot. I ended with a 169 Quant score, which was above my goal! The live-online feature was great because I could ask questions real time to help improve my understanding, and going through the workbook with an instructor was very helpful. The fact that they had people to grade practice essays was a huge advantage as well, I improved by 3 points! The tutoring was also super helpful, as I got to work on the stuff I struggled with the most. However, my first tutor was not as good at math as I am, which made for a waste of a session, but my next tutor was a perfect fit.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great for Quantitative Basics
April 25 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By cshaffe6 joined: April 25, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I struggled with the Q portion the first time I took the test. I kept on taking practice problem sets, reviewing formulas, and using other prep material. However, Target Test Prep provided a very "targeted" approach and study plan that allowed me to work on my foundations and then go into more detail in each section. I had a 4 point improvement and I am surprised it wasn't more. I am confident if I would have really worked through the entire course in more detail I would have seen even greater improvements. I ended up getting a full ride to a great state school in part because of Target Test Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Short time for Guaranteed Success
February 10 | 2019

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Shanice05 joined: February 7, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I started off studying for the GRE using the ETS Verbal and Quant books along and using online resources to do practice tests. I understood the material and was practicing at least 8 hours a day. A couple days before my first scheduled exam I kept scoring around 146 in Quant no matter what I did differently. So I rescheduled my exam for two weeks later and decided to use Targettestprerp as recommended by a friend. I was really skeptical at first because I felt like I was doing everything possible to get a good score and that nothing would really help in two weeks. I also felt saturated and a bit demotivated in studying for the GRE every day for 2 months. Finally, I tried them out and little by little what I felt like I understood previously started to become a lot clearer due to the video explanations and tips that increased my speed and accuracy. By the end of the first week, I was already understanding how to answer questions more quickly and really get a hang of the way the questions could be phrased. I continued to practice using practice tests and my score increased from 146. I was still nervous going into the exam as I couldn't cover all the material but I was sure something had improved. I was able to score a 152 in the Quant from a 146 just by practicing with Targettestprep for over a week. Given more time I know I could have definitely gotten a better grade but I am so glad I found them when I did even if it was for a short time. Will recommend to everyone and anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan online + review
January 23 | 2019

       By hd1993 joined: January 23, 2019 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online  |
The Kaplan instructors for the most part are all enthusiastic and really try to help you make sense of the material. They give you tips on how to go about the GRE problems and really are there to help you. Of course, you can't just take part of the class and that's it. It really requires that you set time to study on your own and do those Qbanks. Unfortunately, I did't have time to fully prepare since may of my deadlines were right after my Kaplan class ended but If I had a couple months more or even weeks, I am sure that my score would have improved even more than it did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THE BEST course for QUANT!!!!
January 12 | 2019

       By GREcandidate joined: January 12, 2019 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
TTP in my opinion is the best course out there and is the best solution to tackle the Quant section of the GRE. TTP helped my quant score immensely, by 7 points exactly! I began this course with 153 in quant and scored 160 when I competed the course. The course is very detailed and clear on what exactly needs to be done to master each concept. There is a lot of work that needs to be done but it is truly the only program on the market that offers the most comprehensive approach to prep for the GRE test. Another great thing about the course is that you can always contact someone with any quant questions and they usually respond within 10 mins. They are very friendly and always willing to help , which I found this service to be extremely helpful because I had a lot of questions. Overall, the course is worth every penny and I would strongly recommend to someone who is preparing for GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A LIFE SAVOR
December 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ariellesmith233 joined: December 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I have to preface this review by saying I am AWFUL at math. I put off taking the GRE for a year because I was so afraid how badly I would bomb the quant section.I combined Target Test Prep with a Kaplan Course and am so happy I did so because while Kaplan gives you a large quantity and variety of review problems, it's not exactly a review. I used Target Test Prep for four months and essentially re-taught myself math using this website.It was extremely time consuming but I ended up making it through all 21 chapters. I ended up getting a 156 (which was my target score!) on the quant section and am quite happy with the results!! I will say though that there isn't any practice exams or practice quizzes (besides the post chapter quizzes) that really emulate what you see on the GRE. So, you would definitely need to look elsewhere for that material (and of course the verbal too). However, at only $70 a month it's a beyond worthy investment for those of us who struggle with numbers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Greenlight's the right chice
December 19 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By orionf joined: December 19, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep 1-Month Plan | Location:   Online  |
I gave myself 2 months to study for the GREs after endlessly procrastinating. The first month I focused on my verbal and improved that on my own, however I had failed to improve my math score. By the end of that month I realized I needed a video course. I always struggled with Math and found Greenlight's short how to videos and review questions to be insightful and an efficient use of my time.
I targeted my geometry, data interpretation, and algebra weaknesses and scored a 154 in quant. That was a 6 pt increase from where I started. I briefly went over some verbal videos however I found studying vocabulary and doing your own practice problems to be more helpful than watching a video on that.
If I had given myself more time to study and used all the resources greenlight offered I conceivably could have done better. Total score was 154/164 = 318 which was just enough to get me into my PhD program of choice.
$60 was absolutely worth it.
Thanks Brent!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good work
December 13 | 2018

       By neilthawani joined: December 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
The live online course was offered at multiple times. The instructors were great and obviously cared about student success.

The quiz bank and Live Online instructors really made this course worth it. My score improved by 6 points and I gained mental clarity while taking complicated math and reading comprehension questions in the quiz bank.

Kaplan sends you some test prep books - I used the online quiz bank instead. They also mail you a tiny book with helpful vocabulary, synonyms, and formulas. That was extremely helpful in alleviating my test anxiety.

The in-person GRE test day experience was helpful for understanding what the process would feel like. There were some issues with the Prometric portal and I got scheduled for the wrong day - so that was one negative that wasted about 2 hours of my time (45 minutes to and from the test center!)...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thankful for examPAL
November 27 | 2018

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ejavera joined: November 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   examPAL Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I would absolutely have done worse on the GRE had I not used the examPAL prep course. I've been out of school for a couple years and had a LOT of catching up to do in regards to test taking and test prep, and examPAL helped me immensely. Aside from a few minor technical glitches (which really didn't detract from the program overall), the program worked perfectly. I didn't end up using all of the available features as I should have, like the online chat and essay submission, but that was through no fault of the program's. I haven't received my analytical writing scores just yet, but I'm happy enough with my scores on the other sections. I have been recommending examPAL to anyone I come across who is considering taking the GRE, and I will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers: