Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [82]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Wish I had found this earlier!
January 31 | 2018

       By priyanka91 joined: January 30, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
The course was exactly what I needed, and I wish I had found it earlier. It went through the GRE quant content in an easy, clearly organized way. The explanations were amazing, and considering how out of touch I have been with this type of math, I am amazed at how quickly I was able to grasp concepts. The methods taught for solving specific types of questions - that normally felt out of my reach - were simple and very intuitive. The additional tutoring service was exceptional, and I looked forward to each session because it was nice having those "I get it" moments so often (thanks to Jeff!). I can't recommend this service enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A worthwhile investment
January 26 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mcallistcoli34 joined: January 26, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
I was advised by my sister to use this course, and I found it to be very useful. The live classes went into a lot of the strategies to use to stop the GRE from tricking you, as well as a lot of retraining of math and how to do it fast enough to keep up with the test for the most part. Good strategies were presented, the teacher showed an obvious enthusiasm and patience and it helped me set up my study schedule. The channel was also very helpful in reviewing different topics covered in class or not, and helped me to relearn concepts I had forgotten. The qbank was also very useful, letting me practice questions from a variety of topics to try to keep myself sharp on the final test. And finally the practice tests helped me set my goals-the normal class ones were helpful and the prometric test day experience was especially helpful because it made the actual test day far less stressful. I really got a lot out of this program, and I'd say you should consider it for your prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Highly Recommend
January 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By pickles joined: January 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
Before signing up for this course, I had taken the GRE once and had done ok, my scores weren't great but they were fine. For the first time I took the GRE, I barely studied at all, I had purchased a Kaplan GRE book, but found it hard to motivate myself to be disciplined in my studying method. So, I basically took the first test blind. After getting my scores, I realized I needed to have some sort of program or class, as I thrive in structure. I decided on Kaplan because I knew they had a good reputation. It was pretty expensive, I'll be honest, but after taking the class I believe it was 100% worth every penny.

I was skeptical of taking the course online, as I thought perhaps it would be easy to just not pay attention. However, I found the opposite to be true. The instructors were engaging and enthusiastic and successfully elicited full participation from all class members.

Furthermore, outside of the 'classroom', I found my instructors to be extremely helpful. They emailed a review of the whole class after each session, along with any other information we might find helpful. They created personalized study plans for me based on my scores, areas of strengths and weaknesses and my goals.

The online resources were also extremely helpful, I particularly liked the quiz bank because you can customize the types of questions in each quiz. And taking so many practice GREs was also very beneficial.

Overall, I had an incredible experience with my Kaplan GRE course, and would take it again and definitely highly recommend to anyone looking for a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ss
January 16 | 2018

       By stescardu joined: January 16, 2018 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
Best quant course. I started with 154 in quantitative practice test and scored 163. Some questions of target test prep are more difficult than the official GRE , but this may help you to have an optimal preparation. The chapters are really clear and the video explanation makes every step crystal clear. There are many test chapters therefore it is difficult to complete every test for every chapter. I started completing every test but ended up doing only a few per chapter, otherwise I would have never finished. If you are looking to improve your quant score this is the best course. also the price is very good
For the verbal part I prepared it by my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Team TTP
January 14 | 2018

       By BwayBiz joined: January 14, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I can't imagine ever getting into the right headspace to take the GRE without TargetTestPrep, ​let alone getting into grad schools!

Scott and Jeff are​ GRE​ ​lifesavers who raised my quant score from 152 to 164! ​I tutored with them both​ and I​ can tell you​ this for sure:​ they are the real deal. Patient, persistent and endlessly supportive​!​ They worked closely with me to create a realistic timeline and cultivate new strategies for solving problems. They are truly invested in their students' success.

The TTP Online GRE course is in a league of its own as far as study material​. By far t​he most COMPREHENSIVE ​quant ​study guide I’ve seen​, i​t closely ​monitors ​your progress​ and compares your performance to others.

I never would have made it to my GRE finish line without TargetTestPrep​.​ And I feel much more confident applying to grad schools now because I did. Thank you TTP!​
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course For Any Kind of Test Taker
January 11 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By CarlosOlinHeros joined: January 4, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I am taking the GRE in order to apply for PA school. My GPA is below what schools look for so this test was very important and I have not been a particularly strong standardized test taker in the past (ACT 27). My goal was to score around a 300, regroup, and take it again. I was worried I would not get over the hump of 300.

My unofficial score given after the test was 311 (V: 156, Q: 155). I have no doubt that this program is a significant reason as to how I earned this score. Although I did not take the test before the course, I know, based on how much I learned from the course itself (strategies, time savers etc.) that this course is extremely helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Online Review
January 05 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By sandbuddha joined: January 5, 2018 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
I am going for my Executive MBA and finished graduate school in 2002 (!). I last took the GRE in 1999, when it was still the paper version only, and did well enough on my own with it to get into my top-choice program. I knew though that since I had been out of school for so long and working in a writing-heavy and low-math field for almost 15 years, that I would need help with taking the GRE again (also because the format has changed so much).

I signed up for Kaplan and really it was such a good investment of money. The structure that the classes provided, as well as the funny and smart teachers and interactive students made each of the online classes a great joy to attend. I took advantage of many things of the package (GRE Channel, the Kaplan vocab apps, their pocket-book and the full-length computer tests), and increased all three sections of my test significantly from the diagnostic test to test day (six weeks later). I am really impressed by this program, and wish I had the money back in 1999 to also have used them since I could have gotten a higher score then too!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quality study system that prepares you well
December 21 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Bisaacs joined: December 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I used the Economist GRE Tutor to prepare for the GRE having spent a few years away from academic study. There was a good amount of revision content that helped me get up to speed. This quickly shifted into approaching more difficult concepts that are covered in the GRE.

The system experience was good, and prepared me well for the actual test taking experience. This made all the difference in terms of comfort, having not done an exam for a few years.

The course content was well structured and presented a logical flow through to the more complex issues.

Unsurprisingly, this course requires a decent time commitment and would be worthwhile for someone completing at least 70 hours of GRE study.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great option for self-paced preparation!
December 21 | 2017

       By heathern joined: December 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I absolutely love this option offered by the Economist. My favorite aspects are that they offer a self-paced, all-online, reinforcing program of instruction. Additionally, it is amazing that they offer essay grading, tutoring sessions, and practice exams. After my initial GRE test I decided that I wanted to really boost my performance and signed up for this service. Bottom line: I boosted my score by 7 points.

Why I like the Economist:' It adapts to your performance'. What does this mean? When you get questions wrong, it flags the key topics involved in the question and makes you review that section. It's a great way to prepare that can't be replicated through any other program, even when it's frustrating! I also benefited a lot from the video tutor sessions - my tutor was Jake and he was great. However, sign up for tutor sessions EARLY because they get snatched up quickly.

I would 100% recommend this course for quant preparation. However, I am not such a fan of their verbal preparation. I am much stronger on the verbal portion (as evidenced by my scores) but really struggled with the Economist reading comprehension questions. I did not find that they were a good representation of actual GRE questions. I can't say why - they were just off. So while I did finish the Economist Verbal prep, I then went and spent 3 weeks crushing verbal questions on Magoosh and I felt that actually made the difference in my verbal preparation.

All in all - I used the following resources to prepare for the test:
Manhattan prep 8 book series: Good for reference, but could be replaced completely by the Economist program.
Manhattan prep 5 lb book of questions: highly recommend!
Economist GRE tutor: highly recommend for quant and overall instruction
Magoosh: highly recommend for verbal practice
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible service!
December 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By makennatess joined: December 20, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
This review saved my life- I only had one month to study for the GRE before I had to take it, and the Online Course taught me all of the basics and how to apply them to more advanced questions quickly and effectively. It wasn't just a mass memorization course, but instead taught us how to use tools and how to take the test strategically. Even when I didn't know answers, I was able to use the Kaplan skills to eliminate down to the correct answer. The course also gave me so many tools that made it easy to study whenever and wherever, which is nice when you have a crazy life. Absolutely 100% worth the money and time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers: