Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online Reviews
    Number of reviews [21]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
 
 
  • 21 hours of live Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 35+ additional hours of live instruction with the GRE Channel
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

Good work
December 13 | 2018

       By neilthawani joined: December 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
The live online course was offered at multiple times. The instructors were great and obviously cared about student success.

The quiz bank and Live Online instructors really made this course worth it. My score improved by 6 points and I gained mental clarity while taking complicated math and reading comprehension questions in the quiz bank.

Kaplan sends you some test prep books - I used the online quiz bank instead. They also mail you a tiny book with helpful vocabulary, synonyms, and formulas. That was extremely helpful in alleviating my test anxiety.

The in-person GRE test day experience was helpful for understanding what the process would feel like. There were some issues with the Prometric portal and I got scheduled for the wrong day - so that was one negative that wasted about 2 hours of my time (45 minutes to and from the test center!)...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GET THIS COURSE
August 27 | 2018

       By ebruk648 joined: August 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Gene Suhir
This course, in my opinion, is a must get if you are not a naturally gifted test taker. Gene, my instructor, and Anne, our TA, worked with my condensed study schedule to help me create a study schedule geared just for me, jump into other class sections to get material early, and ultimately achieve the scores I wanted. I am a person who needs a schedule and something to keep me disciplined. I wanted to improve my score because I did not like my first score. I originally bought just a GRE Kaplan prep book, but I never got myself to study or read from it at all. Having the online class times made sure I was not only engaging with GRE material, but Gene let us go through problems on our own and then reviewed where we might have messed up. We were given many strategies to get to answers faster and work through problems efficiently. There are so many resources for studying. I highly suggest taking the course from Gene. I had a couple different teachers when I jumped into a different class section, and they were not as engaging and talked at us instead of getting us involved as much. BUT, in general, I would not have done as well without this course. I would absolutely get it. If it's too expensive, find a friend and split the cost. Just find a way to get this Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A worthwhile investment
January 26 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mcallistcoli34 joined: January 26, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I was advised by my sister to use this course, and I found it to be very useful. The live classes went into a lot of the strategies to use to stop the GRE from tricking you, as well as a lot of retraining of math and how to do it fast enough to keep up with the test for the most part. Good strategies were presented, the teacher showed an obvious enthusiasm and patience and it helped me set up my study schedule. The channel was also very helpful in reviewing different topics covered in class or not, and helped me to relearn concepts I had forgotten. The qbank was also very useful, letting me practice questions from a variety of topics to try to keep myself sharp on the final test. And finally the practice tests helped me set my goals-the normal class ones were helpful and the prometric test day experience was especially helpful because it made the actual test day far less stressful. I really got a lot out of this program, and I'd say you should consider it for your prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Highly Recommend
January 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By pickles joined: January 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
Before signing up for this course, I had taken the GRE once and had done ok, my scores weren't great but they were fine. For the first time I took the GRE, I barely studied at all, I had purchased a Kaplan GRE book, but found it hard to motivate myself to be disciplined in my studying method. So, I basically took the first test blind. After getting my scores, I realized I needed to have some sort of program or class, as I thrive in structure. I decided on Kaplan because I knew they had a good reputation. It was pretty expensive, I'll be honest, but after taking the class I believe it was 100% worth every penny.

I was skeptical of taking the course online, as I thought perhaps it would be easy to just not pay attention. However, I found the opposite to be true. The instructors were engaging and enthusiastic and successfully elicited full participation from all class members.

Furthermore, outside of the 'classroom', I found my instructors to be extremely helpful. They emailed a review of the whole class after each session, along with any other information we might find helpful. They created personalized study plans for me based on my scores, areas of strengths and weaknesses and my goals.

The online resources were also extremely helpful, I particularly liked the quiz bank because you can customize the types of questions in each quiz. And taking so many practice GREs was also very beneficial.

Overall, I had an incredible experience with my Kaplan GRE course, and would take it again and definitely highly recommend to anyone looking for a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Online Review
January 05 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By sandbuddha joined: January 5, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I am going for my Executive MBA and finished graduate school in 2002 (!). I last took the GRE in 1999, when it was still the paper version only, and did well enough on my own with it to get into my top-choice program. I knew though that since I had been out of school for so long and working in a writing-heavy and low-math field for almost 15 years, that I would need help with taking the GRE again (also because the format has changed so much).

I signed up for Kaplan and really it was such a good investment of money. The structure that the classes provided, as well as the funny and smart teachers and interactive students made each of the online classes a great joy to attend. I took advantage of many things of the package (GRE Channel, the Kaplan vocab apps, their pocket-book and the full-length computer tests), and increased all three sections of my test significantly from the diagnostic test to test day (six weeks later). I am really impressed by this program, and wish I had the money back in 1999 to also have used them since I could have gotten a higher score then too!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible service!
December 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By makennatess joined: December 20, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
This review saved my life- I only had one month to study for the GRE before I had to take it, and the Online Course taught me all of the basics and how to apply them to more advanced questions quickly and effectively. It wasn't just a mass memorization course, but instead taught us how to use tools and how to take the test strategically. Even when I didn't know answers, I was able to use the Kaplan skills to eliminate down to the correct answer. The course also gave me so many tools that made it easy to study whenever and wherever, which is nice when you have a crazy life. Absolutely 100% worth the money and time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan gave me the 10 point increase I wanted
December 01 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By M2468 joined: November 29, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I am really happy with Kaplan's services. The instructors were wonderful and made sure to help me when I was struggling with my scores. They kept emailing me back until they made sure I felt comfortable with their advice and knew what I needed to do. With their help I got a 10 point increase from my diagnostic score and made the scores I needed by only taking the test once!
As I was tight on time, I definitely recommend Kaplan to anyone who needs good scores really fast. I only studied for the GRE for two months by devoting 1 hour each day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan Review
November 21 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By amandab joined: November 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
Kaplan's Live Online GRE service has been fantastic! I was able to triple my verbal score, double my quantitative score, and raise my writing from a 4.0 to a 4.5!
This course has so much to offer, with great self-paced learning capabilities, as well as structured live class times, as per the time you registered for. I would highly recommend Kaplan and all they have to offer - great service, amazing classes and materials, and the best teachers to guide you through the studying process.
While searching for a GRE course, I debated between a few. I chose Kaplan for their price and benefits - I feel I received the most for my money's worth. Choosing Kaplan was a great decision!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course!
October 18 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By rsch1234 joined: October 18, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
Kaplan's live online GRE prep course definitely gave me the support and practice I needed to meet my goals. The instructors are always there for you. They want you to reach out to them, and they will help you with your study plan in any way that they can. They are still your GRE coaches even after you finish the course. In terms of the resources for studying, Kaplan's workshops and quiz bank were my best and most useful study tools. I couldn't imagine studying without these tools. I truly believe that Kaplan prepared me in the best way possible for the GRE. Kaplan gave me the confidence I needed to take the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan Live Online Review
September 28 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By twinboy2 joined: September 28, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I had a phenomenal experience using my Live Online course through Kaplan. The opportunity to go at the pace that I wanted, in addition to when I wanted to was amazing. Especially for the math section, having live classes with a real teaching discussing the concepts as they pertain to the test is remarkable. Considering the last time I took math was in my third year of high school, a real person communicating the concepts was invaluable. In addition, probably my favorite part of the Kaplan review was the quiz bank. Having the chance to take as many test questions as I wanted whenever I wanted in whichever way I desired was a key part of my prep for the exam. The only critique I have for the prep is the verbal review. I found the actual exam to be far trickier when it came to the actual sentence structures used, instead of the vocabulary being extremely difficult. The Kaplan review mainly focused on incredibly difficult words instead of really teaching you how to understand complex sentence structures. Regardless, the prep overall helped me get the score that I wanted which is pretty remarkable. I am a terrible test taker and simply do not test well. Getting at or above the 50th percentile on my scores was a huge success for me - since I have never tested at or above the 50th percentile in my life on a standardized test. In addition, the instructors were incredibly helpful when it came to helping design study plans and how to tackle prep in the long term. I highly recommend Kaplan Prep to anyone who wants to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
14 points
International Student Score Improvement
10 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Jonah [USA]
    
Jen Fletcher [USA]
    
Gene Suhir [USA]