Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online Reviews
    Number of reviews [15]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
 
 
  • 21 hours of live Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 35+ additional hours of live instruction with the GRE Channel
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

Kaplan gave me the 10 point increase I wanted
December 01 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By M2468 joined: November 29, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I am really happy with Kaplan's services. The instructors were wonderful and made sure to help me when I was struggling with my scores. They kept emailing me back until they made sure I felt comfortable with their advice and knew what I needed to do. With their help I got a 10 point increase from my diagnostic score and made the scores I needed by only taking the test once!
As I was tight on time, I definitely recommend Kaplan to anyone who needs good scores really fast. I only studied for the GRE for two months by devoting 1 hour each day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan Review
November 21 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By amandab joined: November 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
Kaplan's Live Online GRE service has been fantastic! I was able to triple my verbal score, double my quantitative score, and raise my writing from a 4.0 to a 4.5!
This course has so much to offer, with great self-paced learning capabilities, as well as structured live class times, as per the time you registered for. I would highly recommend Kaplan and all they have to offer - great service, amazing classes and materials, and the best teachers to guide you through the studying process.
While searching for a GRE course, I debated between a few. I chose Kaplan for their price and benefits - I feel I received the most for my money's worth. Choosing Kaplan was a great decision!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course!
October 18 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By rsch1234 joined: October 18, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
Kaplan's live online GRE prep course definitely gave me the support and practice I needed to meet my goals. The instructors are always there for you. They want you to reach out to them, and they will help you with your study plan in any way that they can. They are still your GRE coaches even after you finish the course. In terms of the resources for studying, Kaplan's workshops and quiz bank were my best and most useful study tools. I couldn't imagine studying without these tools. I truly believe that Kaplan prepared me in the best way possible for the GRE. Kaplan gave me the confidence I needed to take the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan Live Online Review
September 28 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By twinboy2 joined: September 28, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I had a phenomenal experience using my Live Online course through Kaplan. The opportunity to go at the pace that I wanted, in addition to when I wanted to was amazing. Especially for the math section, having live classes with a real teaching discussing the concepts as they pertain to the test is remarkable. Considering the last time I took math was in my third year of high school, a real person communicating the concepts was invaluable. In addition, probably my favorite part of the Kaplan review was the quiz bank. Having the chance to take as many test questions as I wanted whenever I wanted in whichever way I desired was a key part of my prep for the exam. The only critique I have for the prep is the verbal review. I found the actual exam to be far trickier when it came to the actual sentence structures used, instead of the vocabulary being extremely difficult. The Kaplan review mainly focused on incredibly difficult words instead of really teaching you how to understand complex sentence structures. Regardless, the prep overall helped me get the score that I wanted which is pretty remarkable. I am a terrible test taker and simply do not test well. Getting at or above the 50th percentile on my scores was a huge success for me - since I have never tested at or above the 50th percentile in my life on a standardized test. In addition, the instructors were incredibly helpful when it came to helping design study plans and how to tackle prep in the long term. I highly recommend Kaplan Prep to anyone who wants to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good!
September 24 | 2017

       By Pathyb91 joined: September 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
Good Value for Money combined package, i.e. the book + CD + Online Materials with many exercises that help a lot when practicing. While the professor is giving the class there are other teacher in the room just to answer the students questions and also if we have questions after class we are free to send them an e-mail and they answer us very fast.
The topics and responses are discussed in great detail. There is an immaculate Foundation and Content review chapter under the AWA section as well, which is probably the best feature of this product. It also discusses the pacing strategy (writing the essay within 30 min) and nuances of Scoring.
The Foundation and Content Review Chapters under both, Quant and Verbal sections are very detailed and beginner friendly. The theoretical coverage on the topics is fairly detailed.
The answers to the practice questions, in the book, are very detailed and insightful.
Practice test are of paramount importance for test prep. The six tests equip the user to perform SWOT analysis and monitor progress from time to time. The test analysis report is a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
LOVED!!
September 19 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By HL829627 joined: September 19, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
The Kaplan Online Prep course was a huge factor in my doing well on the GRE and only having to take it once. I was very intimidated at first, but after starting the course and speaking with the teachers, I slowly became more confident. Quiz Bank was the best part of the whole course. You can personalize your own quizzes and focus on areas that you need to work on. Also, take advantage of the Kaplan Test Day Experience, it is a big stress reliever. Overall, I would definitely recommend taking this course as it has helped me so much!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
July 30 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dbaker joined: July 30, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I wouldn't have been able to get through GRE studying without the Kaplan Live Online course. I tried studying on my own with just a book and having a person there to explain the concepts and strategies made a world of a difference and helped improve my test scores. Not only were they able to help with the concepts but my instructor, Jen, was extremely encouraging. Kaplan is always available and willing to answer any question you have. They also offer a TON of resources for you in addition to the live online class such as essay grading and tips, personalized study suggestions, and workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the time and money
December 05 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By LARUNNER joined: December 5, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I previously used other materials through the GRE testing company and they only focused on material needed for the test but as much on the strategies to actually take the test. Kaplan was able to supplement my study with online "test me" and "teach me" sections.

You should give yourself more than enough time to get through all the online classes. I would recommend at least a month after the class finishes to review all the study materials you have access to online. After signing up for the class I would try and sign up for the your "real test day" experience because by the time my class had ended there were no dates available for me to take the real life scenario before actually taking the full real test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Truly Excellent Class
October 23 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By asokol joined: October 23, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jonah
I cannot recommend this more! I was hesitant to take a prep course for the GRE, but boy am I glad I did! My diagnostic quant score abysmal (10%) but in the course of the class I improved it over 30 points (into the 60th percentile and above). I didn't believe that was possible. I also, surprisingly, really enjoyed the class itself; somehow, Gail and Jonah made it both accessible and entertaining! Furthermore, they were extremely attentive on an individual level. They checked in with my progress and guided me in the right direction in terms of how to focus my studying. I felt like they truly went above and beyond their "job description." The online resources are similarly incredible. I have a demanding work schedule, and the Quiz Bank offered me the ability to grab a few minutes of studying whenever I had a spare moment. My one concern is the price of the course. Had I not received this prep class as a Christmas present, there was no way I could have taken it. I really hope there are adequate scholarships offered, because it would be shameful if someone was hindered from receiving this level of quality due to economic constraints.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Glad I Did It
October 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By AuL8055 joined: October 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
It was definitely nice having a set time to focus on studying. The instructors were really nice. My score didn't improve a ton from my first practice test to what I actually got on test day but I would say that was due more to situations that occurred the week before the test and not because of the quality of instruction since my scores had been improving pretty steadily until then, including the TDE exam. The biggest thing that the course did for me was help me to reduce my anxiety over taking the test. The course showed me the little tricks that the test makers like to use and tips for overcoming them that I never would have figured out studying on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
12 points
International Student Score Improvement
10 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Jonah [USA]
    
Jen Fletcher [USA]