Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Reviews
    Number of reviews [28]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
 
 
  • 21 hours of live Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 35+ additional hours of live instruction with the GRE Channel
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

Kaplan GRE- In Person
December 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ariellesmith233 joined: December 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Tampa, FL USA | Taught by:  Cathy McGee
I really enjoyed Kaplan's GRE course. When I was searching for a prep course my highest priority was having in person instruction. There were only 2 options in my area, Kaplan or Princeton Review. The Kaplan course ended up being better suited to my schedule so I signed up. The original course I enrolled in was canceled due to low student interest, which was very frustrating. Luckily they had another in person course starting two weeks later and they assured me that this course would indeed happen. It did, however, they never re-sent me the new workbooks for the class which made it inconvenient while trying to follow along with the instructor.

I will say that the classroom material can not stand alone in place of at home practice. It's a great review, and a wonderful forum to ask questions (especially in person!), but it's just that, a review. You get the strategies explained in depth, but that's pretty much it. Everything else is kind of breezed through which probably is fine for most people. I'm awful at math so I found that it moved too quickly for my liking. But either way I'm glad I signed up for it and would 10/10 recommend it!

If you prefer online learning, I think the live in person online would be a good option. Kaplan's study resources were phenomenal and they have a great variety of questions, practice exams, and workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE In-Person
November 14 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Vohalloran joined: November 14, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Kurt Keefner
The Stanley Kaplan instructors went above and beyond with their explanations of how the test works, subject reviews and their editing of practice essays outside of the classroom. Kaplan's Q Bank that allowed students to time themselves and choose verbal and quantitative questions to answer was immensely helpful. It gave me a better idea of how to pace and what questions I needed to spend additional time on to improve my overall score. I was very happy with this course despite some hiccups with the Official Test Day experience. Kaplan was a great choice for me. It allowed me to get GRE scores that led to my acceptance to my number #1 MPH grad school program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely worth the investment
October 04 | 2018

       By noahwags joined: October 4, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Santa Maria, CA USA | Taught by:  Peninah Wolpo
My biggest concern about the GRE was the Quant section. I graduate undergrad 7 years ago and it had been longer than that since I had seriously worked with math. The Kaplan course shifts the focus away from it being an intense math course to it being a reasoning test through the medium of math skills. The tricks we learned to save time (multiple 15 seconds adds up!) and navigate seemingly tricky questions settled me as I sat for the actual GRE. Plus the Kaplan Higher Score is a bonus - if your scores don't improve you get your money back or can take the class again. I initially thought it was an expensive investment but it paid itself off in the studying and actual exam day strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Class
May 06 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kaitlynbetz24 joined: May 6, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Eric Berman
I decided to take the GRE class in person when my university offered it to us at a discounted price. This class was very beneficial. While I haven't taken the GRE or the GRE Test Day Experience, this class was very helpful for my study habits. I liked the idea that we got the three books filled with practice problems with answers included. In class, we typically did problems from the math and verbal questions in those books. These problems were very helpful with how to prepare and study for the GRE. My professor was also very helpful! He was very quick to assist with any confusion that any of us had. Overall, I highly recommend taking the GRE Prep - In Person course! It will help out a lot!
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by tanjina on May 25, 2018
Actually I am new student try to take preparation for GRE. I saw different posts and think all are are very useful for my preparation.
2 Commented by tanjina on May 25, 2018
I am very week in grammar to speak and write. Are you help me to me to improve my grammar.
3 Commented by bb on May 26, 2018
@Tanjina, You probably want to learn English and then dive into the GMAT and prep for the actual test.
 
Great Course! Intimidating at Times
April 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By freed08 joined: April 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Eric Berman
I liked taking this course and I think it was a great opportunity that was offered through my school. It was a little intimidating as my class was a little large and my room was pretty small, so I felt a lot of pressure to answer questions. I was really intimidated by the quant section, and my prof eased some of my nerves, the verbal and writing sections were also really helpful. If I had to do it again-- I would take more advantage of the online resources instead of just in class. I just felt like it was hard to practice the outside stuff while I also had school work and actual work to tend to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE In Person
April 10 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By lebrunr1 joined: April 10, 2018 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Waxman
I've never been a great standardized test taker, not even average per say, however, with Kaplan all was possible. The impossible seemed possible and with the help of a wonderful Kaplan Professor, this test didn't seem so bad after all. I looked forward to going to class and learning how to conquer the GRE because the professor made the class very enjoyable. After each class, I felt more confident about test day. The strategies really do work! Practicing the strategies via the Kaplan practice exams helped even more! Thank you Kaplan, and I definitely recommend you guys to all test takers who want to see an improvement in their GRE score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan- In Person!
April 09 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Rdress2 joined: April 9, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Chicago-Financial District, IL USA | Taught by:  James Carney
Taking the Kaplan course in person was extremely beneficial to my GRE journey. The course was recommended by a friend and I am now recommending it to my friends. The course really kept me on track and helped me stay on top of assignments and studying. The instructor was super enthusiastic about the GRE which made it more fun and interesting. He was there to answer any questions and created a non-intimidating space where I felt comfortable asking any of my questions, even if I thought they might be stupid questions! The course moved at the right speed and overall a great decision/investment!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great!
January 04 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By lmcfarlane7 joined: January 3, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA |
The Kaplan course was recommended to me by a friend and it was definitely the way to go! The class time was very efficient and it is much easier to absorb than studying on your own. I hadn't taken the test before and I hadn't tried studying by myself before I took it, but after taking it, I realized how helpful it was and less intimidating than tackling the book alone. The math that was reviewed was exactly what was needed and I even found the verbal tips very helpful, even though I thought that would be a lot harder to teach. The quiz bank was super helpful and easy to use. My only complaint is that I wish there were unlimited practice tests, because although the quiz bank is unlimited, it's nice to see your score on the practice tests. (Also I took the class in Santa Cruz, but that wasn't listed).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep
January 03 | 2018

       By hannah09 joined: January 3, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Baltimore, MD USA |
Before enrolling in the course, I was incredibly anxious about taking the GRE. Once the course began, many of the fears I had were eased. Since I am not particularly strong in math, the focus on and review of mathematical concepts was incredibly helpful to me. Additionally, I appreciated how the instructors went over strategies on how to approach the different types of questions that would be on the exam. I would definitely recommend the Kaplan GRE Prep Course to others because the instructors not only help students prepare for the content on the GRE, they also help students improve their study habits on how to prepare for the actual test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE In-Person Prep Course
October 24 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By RDuncan joined: October 24, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Raleigh, NC USA |
I decided to enroll in the Kaplan GRE in-person prep course after I had previously taken the GRE 3 times with no luck of increasing my score. The in-person experience was extremely helpful to me because it pushed me to study BETTER instead of harder. I learned the Kaplan quant, verbal, and writing strategies and even strategies to decrease anxiety/stress on test day. Another great part about the Kaplan prep courses is the Official Test Day experience in which students are able to sign up to take a mock GRE at an actual testing center. This is very helpful for people who are unfamiliar with a testing environment. Joe Hennes was an awesome instructor; I definitely recommend Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
24 points
International Student Score Improvement
10 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Kevin Holley [Vienna, USA]
    
Andrew Kula [Los Angeles, USA]
    
Brian Mitchell [Brookfield, USA]