Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [69]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Incredible service!
December 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By makennatess joined: December 20, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
This review saved my life- I only had one month to study for the GRE before I had to take it, and the Online Course taught me all of the basics and how to apply them to more advanced questions quickly and effectively. It wasn't just a mass memorization course, but instead taught us how to use tools and how to take the test strategically. Even when I didn't know answers, I was able to use the Kaplan skills to eliminate down to the correct answer. The course also gave me so many tools that made it easy to study whenever and wherever, which is nice when you have a crazy life. Absolutely 100% worth the money and time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service and supplement resource
December 21 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By kenkenchang joined: December 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
The service was great! I attended the private tutor session, and it came with verbal and quant in-person course. The best benefit of Kaplan is they have sufficient supplement resource, including Qbank, webinar, and practice tests. The Qbank was a practice system that could select practice questions from the database according to you choice of question types, time/number of practice, and your needs. The webinars were about different topics from lecturers, and you could watch those either in real-time or in record. There were 7 practice tests, including one real-experience test which you took the test at an actual location with actual setting as the actual GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep
January 03 | 2018

       By hannah09 joined: January 3, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Baltimore, MD USA
Before enrolling in the course, I was incredibly anxious about taking the GRE. Once the course began, many of the fears I had were eased. Since I am not particularly strong in math, the focus on and review of mathematical concepts was incredibly helpful to me. Additionally, I appreciated how the instructors went over strategies on how to approach the different types of questions that would be on the exam. I would definitely recommend the Kaplan GRE Prep Course to others because the instructors not only help students prepare for the content on the GRE, they also help students improve their study habits on how to prepare for the actual test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great!
January 04 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By lmcfarlane7 joined: January 3, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA
The Kaplan course was recommended to me by a friend and it was definitely the way to go! The class time was very efficient and it is much easier to absorb than studying on your own. I hadn't taken the test before and I hadn't tried studying by myself before I took it, but after taking it, I realized how helpful it was and less intimidating than tackling the book alone. The math that was reviewed was exactly what was needed and I even found the verbal tips very helpful, even though I thought that would be a lot harder to teach. The quiz bank was super helpful and easy to use. My only complaint is that I wish there were unlimited practice tests, because although the quiz bank is unlimited, it's nice to see your score on the practice tests. (Also I took the class in Santa Cruz, but that wasn't listed).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Online Review
January 05 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By sandbuddha joined: January 5, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
I am going for my Executive MBA and finished graduate school in 2002 (!). I last took the GRE in 1999, when it was still the paper version only, and did well enough on my own with it to get into my top-choice program. I knew though that since I had been out of school for so long and working in a writing-heavy and low-math field for almost 15 years, that I would need help with taking the GRE again (also because the format has changed so much).

I signed up for Kaplan and really it was such a good investment of money. The structure that the classes provided, as well as the funny and smart teachers and interactive students made each of the online classes a great joy to attend. I took advantage of many things of the package (GRE Channel, the Kaplan vocab apps, their pocket-book and the full-length computer tests), and increased all three sections of my test significantly from the diagnostic test to test day (six weeks later). I am really impressed by this program, and wish I had the money back in 1999 to also have used them since I could have gotten a higher score then too!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Highly Recommend
January 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By pickles joined: January 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
Before signing up for this course, I had taken the GRE once and had done ok, my scores weren't great but they were fine. For the first time I took the GRE, I barely studied at all, I had purchased a Kaplan GRE book, but found it hard to motivate myself to be disciplined in my studying method. So, I basically took the first test blind. After getting my scores, I realized I needed to have some sort of program or class, as I thrive in structure. I decided on Kaplan because I knew they had a good reputation. It was pretty expensive, I'll be honest, but after taking the class I believe it was 100% worth every penny.

I was skeptical of taking the course online, as I thought perhaps it would be easy to just not pay attention. However, I found the opposite to be true. The instructors were engaging and enthusiastic and successfully elicited full participation from all class members.

Furthermore, outside of the 'classroom', I found my instructors to be extremely helpful. They emailed a review of the whole class after each session, along with any other information we might find helpful. They created personalized study plans for me based on my scores, areas of strengths and weaknesses and my goals.

The online resources were also extremely helpful, I particularly liked the quiz bank because you can customize the types of questions in each quiz. And taking so many practice GREs was also very beneficial.

Overall, I had an incredible experience with my Kaplan GRE course, and would take it again and definitely highly recommend to anyone looking for a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A worthwhile investment
January 26 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mcallistcoli34 joined: January 26, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
I was advised by my sister to use this course, and I found it to be very useful. The live classes went into a lot of the strategies to use to stop the GRE from tricking you, as well as a lot of retraining of math and how to do it fast enough to keep up with the test for the most part. Good strategies were presented, the teacher showed an obvious enthusiasm and patience and it helped me set up my study schedule. The channel was also very helpful in reviewing different topics covered in class or not, and helped me to relearn concepts I had forgotten. The qbank was also very useful, letting me practice questions from a variety of topics to try to keep myself sharp on the final test. And finally the practice tests helped me set my goals-the normal class ones were helpful and the prometric test day experience was especially helpful because it made the actual test day far less stressful. I really got a lot out of this program, and I'd say you should consider it for your prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course! Intimidating at Times
April 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By freed08 joined: April 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Eric Berman
I liked taking this course and I think it was a great opportunity that was offered through my school. It was a little intimidating as my class was a little large and my room was pretty small, so I felt a lot of pressure to answer questions. I was really intimidated by the quant section, and my prof eased some of my nerves, the verbal and writing sections were also really helpful. If I had to do it again-- I would take more advantage of the online resources instead of just in class. I just felt like it was hard to practice the outside stuff while I also had school work and actual work to tend to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan- In Person!
April 09 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Rdress2 joined: April 9, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Chicago-Financial District, IL USA | Taught by:  James Carney
Taking the Kaplan course in person was extremely beneficial to my GRE journey. The course was recommended by a friend and I am now recommending it to my friends. The course really kept me on track and helped me stay on top of assignments and studying. The instructor was super enthusiastic about the GRE which made it more fun and interesting. He was there to answer any questions and created a non-intimidating space where I felt comfortable asking any of my questions, even if I thought they might be stupid questions! The course moved at the right speed and overall a great decision/investment!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE In Person
April 10 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By lebrunr1 joined: April 10, 2018 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Waxman
I've never been a great standardized test taker, not even average per say, however, with Kaplan all was possible. The impossible seemed possible and with the help of a wonderful Kaplan Professor, this test didn't seem so bad after all. I looked forward to going to class and learning how to conquer the GRE because the professor made the class very enjoyable. After each class, I felt more confident about test day. The strategies really do work! Practicing the strategies via the Kaplan practice exams helped even more! Thank you Kaplan, and I definitely recommend you guys to all test takers who want to see an improvement in their GRE score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
20 points
International Student Score Improvement
10 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%