Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [47]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Kaplan GRE was a big help.
June 10 | 2017

       By kevinnj joined: June 10, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
The Kaplan GRE course was very beneficial to my personal development. The courses, lesson on demand videos, workshops, and the one on one tutoring was informative. I definitely learned a lot and the instructors gave me good feedback throughout my email whenever I struggle on certain concepts. They truly were invested into my success and I even got a personalized study plan on the areas that was specific for my weaknesses. Even though I didn't get the score I wanted to achieved, I plan on taking the courses for a second time. I will be using these effective Kaplan strategies when I retake the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Complete Game Changer!
July 14 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By CamiGOT joined: July 14, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Gainesville, FL USA
I was incredibly nervous to take the GRE. My practice scores before Kaplan were average at best, but my final score after the course was MUCH higher than my goal! Having an instructor teach me how to study and how to take the test was the game changer for me. I walked into the test with test taking skills I never would have had without Kaplan. The Test Day Experience and the skilled I learned and reviewed in class helped me to improve my score by more than 10 points in each section! I'm incredibly happy with my score and will definitely recommend this course to my friends who have yet to take the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Made Me Prepare
July 17 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By erikaedlund joined: July 17, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Brookfield, WI USA | Taught by:  Brian Mitchell
I knew up front that without some sort of guidance, I would have a difficult time making myself actually sit down and study for the GRE. I also knew that doing well on the GRE was a critical part of getting into grad school (for physical therapy). I took the class before takin the GRE for the first time. After looking at reviews online, I settled on the GRE in person prep class, and I am so happy with that decision. The in person was a good choice for me because it made me focus during the specific time that I was there and made it simple for me to ask question right away and also hear questions that others had. The abundance of practice exams, practice questions in the book, other online resources, and the official test day experience really helped to calm my nerves on test day and go in with confidence! I took the class with Brian Mitchell, and he was outstanding. I thought I would dread going to class over the weeks, but he had a way of making it even fun and engaging. Overall, the class is well worth the money and time!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
July 30 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dbaker joined: July 30, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I wouldn't have been able to get through GRE studying without the Kaplan Live Online course. I tried studying on my own with just a book and having a person there to explain the concepts and strategies made a world of a difference and helped improve my test scores. Not only were they able to help with the concepts but my instructor, Jen, was extremely encouraging. Kaplan is always available and willing to answer any question you have. They also offer a TON of resources for you in addition to the live online class such as essay grading and tips, personalized study suggestions, and workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep - A+!
July 31 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By SamDK joined: July 31, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jonah
Was very nervous about taking the GRE but Jonah was a fantastic teacher who taught specific strategies that allowed students to maximize their time in each section. Specifically, the quant was something I had not taken a course in for several years but ended up feeling confident with the material. For the verbal section there were some tricks but mostly it was memorization of vocab on your own time. Having the real practice tests was invaluable, and I took 1 every week. Furthermore, I also used quizbank which was wonderful because it gave a full and thorough explanation of all the problems that were used to quiz yourself on. Overall I would greatly recommend this course to anyone who is considering taking the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I always TRUST Kaplan
August 07 | 2017

       By fallonalexis7 joined: August 7, 2017 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I took Kaplan when I thought that I wanted to be a dentist and needed to take the DAT. I took Kaplan when I wanted to become a nurse and needed to take the NCLEX; and I just took Kaplan again because all my PHD programs want me to have a GRE score. Kaplan has been there my entire academic career. I passed each test the first time around and for this current GRE for my PHD, we consider it a formality, because schools ultimately let in whom they want to let in at this level. But each school had a preferred 149 for verbal and I received a 147, and I was told to not bother about my math due to my subject matter, but guess what? That accidentally improved, there was barely anything on the test that was actually "hard". I remember propping my feet up in my cubical with the keyboard on my leg typing away during the essays. I struggle the most with argumentative essays the entire month, but after trudging along with the examples provided and a session with my coach, well I told you how I was typing in that cubicle. I knew I did good when I walked out. But was excited to see my math score, I wanted to cry! but they were trying to finish me up in the testing center. We have done it once again Kaplan, but I hope this is the last time I see you guys! :lol:
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic All Around
August 16 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By publicpolicy5 joined: August 16, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Ann Arbor, MI USA
Took in-person course with Mike Vanden Brooks twice a week of 2.5 hours each time for all of June. Mike's knowledge of the test and tricks for the GRE were unparalleled; he's been teaching for Kaplan for over 30 years. Mike excelled at reinforcing the basic topics for those with a weaker foundation, and teaching the tiniest intricacies for those with a stronger knowledge base. He combined the in-class instruction with the online and book resources perfectly, and sent extremely thorough reKap emails after every class. Represented the company well, and prepared me for the GRE more than I thought was possible before taking the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
10/10 would recommend
September 18 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ldunn2 joined: September 18, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Warwick, RI USA
I do not study well independently, especially for something as onerous as the GRE's. Pete McCormick was an excellent teacher. He taught us the Kaplan Test strategies and ways to apply them to every question. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with each section the test had to offer. The only negative thing I have to say is, I wish the course focused a little more on the analytical writing. My test scores improved about 10 points from this course and from independent studies. Without this prep course, I would have not even known how to prepare myself for the GRE. This test was completely new to me. Kaplan did a great job preparing me. Another thing I also liked was all the resources Kaplan provided us with.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
LOVED!!
September 19 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By HL829627 joined: September 19, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
The Kaplan Online Prep course was a huge factor in my doing well on the GRE and only having to take it once. I was very intimidated at first, but after starting the course and speaking with the teachers, I slowly became more confident. Quiz Bank was the best part of the whole course. You can personalize your own quizzes and focus on areas that you need to work on. Also, take advantage of the Kaplan Test Day Experience, it is a big stress reliever. Overall, I would definitely recommend taking this course as it has helped me so much!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
In Person GRE Through Kaplan
September 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Masemase joined: September 20, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA
I signed up for the in person GRE in person class through Kaplan. They even provide a financial assistance program where if you are approved you will get up to 60% off. I took the once per week class and my instructor was great and extremely helpful. He was always there to answer all my questions and would always with no hesitation look over my practice essays when I asked him to. With the vocabulary for the verbal an app is provided where you can download to your phone and study on the go anytime. Kaplan teaches the best tricks for the quantitative section that will increase your speed and accuracy in answering the questions during the exam. In addition to six practice tests Kaplan also provides a "Test Day Experience" where you go to an actual testing center and take a practice test under the same rules and conditions of a real test. I highly recommend Kaplan as a prep course that will make a difference in maximizing your score. They will definitely guide you but the student must do lots of studying and practice quizzes in order to get a good feel of the actual test. They have thousands of questions you can create quizzes from that were taken from previous official exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
20 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%