Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [47]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great Course
August 22 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By cullenc10 joined: August 22, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Washington, DC USA
I took the course in Arlington VA with Ian Schlie. He was such a great teacher. He took time outside of class to call us and see what our goals where and asked how he could help us attain those goals. He was friendly and engaging. The other students in the class were all very kind and we all worked together to get good scores. I would recommend this course for anyone who is planning on attending grad school. He made me feel like my goals were attainable and I am truly thankful I took this class. My recommendation would be if someone wants to improve their score to take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely worth it!
August 30 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dianamw85 joined: August 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
I did a lot of research when deciding which GRE prep course to take. I decided on Kaplan and am so glad I did. The classes were surprisingly engaging and I actually enjoyed them! They didn't feel like a burden. The teachers were great. It was also nice to have the classes on-demand if there were parts that I wanted to watch again, or missed because of a phone call in the middle (it happens). The full-length practice tests were also really great and I was able to learn a lot from reviewing my answers.

I also really appreciated the in-person practice test. I felt much more comfortable on the day of the test because I knew where I was going, if there was food around (there was) and if there were lockers for my stuff (there were), and felt familiar with the process and the surroundings. (I took my test in Chicago so I don't know if all locations have what mine did.)

The coaching was also extremely helpful for me. It was great to have someone to bounce ideas off of, to talk through specific areas where I had questions, and to guide me through making a study schedule. My coach was also available the whole time through email for any questions I had, not just for the 3 hours specifically stated, which was a big help as well. She even looked through my practice essays and gave me additional feedback beyond what Kaplan's graders sent me.

In all, I had a wonderful experience with Kaplan and I have only positive things to say. I highly recommend Kaplan's course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I recommend Kaplan
September 08 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ilove2swimm joined: September 8, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Williamsville, NY USA
I am really happy I took this course and I highly recommend it. I saw a dramatic increase in all of my scores and I think it's because of the amount of homework required for the class. if you do the homework there is no way that you won't improve. I also think the Kaplan practice tests are much harder than the actual GRE so I felt so prepared and really confident when I was taking my real GRE. I was honestly really surprised at how identical the practice tests look and function like the real GRE. Also Kaplan lets you take your final practice test at an actual testing center and have that experience and I'm really glad I took advantage of it. I got to know what it was like to get metal detected and everything so I wasn't shocked when I took the real one. I also didn't think my instructor was going to be so hands on, but she emailed me regularly and analyzed my tests to tell me what I had to work on.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great prep classes and resources
September 13 | 2016

       By shruza joined: September 13, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person PLUS | Location:   St. Louis, MO USA
My scores improved from the mid-150s to the high 160s after taking this course. I found the verbal and quantitative in-class review to be helpful, in addition to the Kaplan GRE vocab app. The full-length practice tests online helped me prepare. It was nice to be able to practice writing the essays and then get feedback from real, live graders. I took advantage of my private online Kaplan Plus session after completing the in-person class and my Official Test Day Experience. I found this to be very helpful in finalizing my preparation for taking the actual test. I would recommend Kaplan to anyone looking to improve their GRE scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Success with Kaplan Course
September 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dld35390 joined: September 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jonah
Before taking the Kaplan course, studying for the GRE seemed like an impossible task. With taking the Kaplan course, I was able to stay on task and progress through my studying. There were various resources and I always felt that I had things that I could be doing to improve my score. The positivity of the professors was super helpful, and I also got fast response anytime I had to email them. I felt like they truly cared about how I was doing. You also had opportunities to be involved in class by participating in a public chat and could even have your name called. This made me feel like a part of the class, an active participant. I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about improving their GRE score. I wish I would have done it the first time I took the GRE. It is worth the time and money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I wouldn't have been able to do it without Kaplan
September 28 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By boggskate joined: September 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person PLUS | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA
Being out of school for three years and never being strong at standardized testing, the GRE was beyond daunting. I initially bought a workbook and thought that would be how I would prep. I suddenly felt even more overwhelmed and like I had to climb Mt. Everest alone. I chose Kaplan and the In-Person Plus because I really felt like I needed all the help I could get. It was the best decision I ever made. Kaplan breaks down every concept from basic addition to Geometry and gives you resources for whatever stage you are at. Ever coach, in person teacher and even customer support team members I interacted with were beyond helpful. My teachers went above and beyond to review essays, create extra resources and questions. I am so thankful for their help. My score went from a measly 292 to a 312!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GRE Prep Class
September 28 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By addyc joined: September 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Sacramento, CA USA
I was very impressed with this prep class. I was debating between a few companies to use and I decided on Kaplan because of their higher score grantee. I really did get a higher score on my GRE and I was very pleased with my score! The instructor was very thorough and made sure we understood the concepts. It was great to be able to take this in person, because if I had any questions, I could get an answer right away. This class is definitely worth the cost. It got me the score I needed and I would recommend this class to anyone who wants an in-person prep class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Value for your money
October 01 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ajarquin05 joined: October 1, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA
I am so glad that I chose Kaplan as my test prep program! I truly believe that you get your money's worth. This course comes with an extraordinary amount of resources to help your score improve and be what you want it to be. By far the best thing from this course is the Test Day experience option. This allows you to take a practice test at the test center where you are planning on taking your actual GRE. It's super helpful with eliminating unnecessary stress on test day, you'll know what to expect on your test day and be more relaxed and focus on your test rather than worrying about how to get to the center or where the bathrooms will be. There instructors are also really caring and super involved in your education, even outside of the classroom. My instructor even offered his help after our course was officially over. Likewise the many resources and extra quizzes they have online tremendously helped with getting us to taking a test online. There interface really does match the ETS's very closely. Overall I am very thrilled and thankful to Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan is great way for GRE prep
October 04 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By jjagne1 joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
Prepping with Kaplan for the GRE was one of the best decisions I made. This was my first time taking the GRE and I was very nervous. I generally do O.K. on standardized test. One great things I noticed about Kaplan is their commitment to student success. The professors REALLY care about your performance in the online class and e-mail after class to see how things are going. The strategies I learned in the class made the questions less challenging or even if I came across a challenging question, I had the tools to break down the question. I really appreciated the positvity from the professors, no matter what my practice scores were or how bad was freaking out as test day got closer. Though I did not do as well as I hoped (due to personal events) I will still use Kaplan in my prep before taking the exam for a second try.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money
October 04 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ashakesh joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA
I was skeptical about paying for such an expensive course, but I knew taking a prep course was something I needed to do. I am a nervous test taker and my GRE scores are important for programs I am applying to (Master's/Doctorate in Occupational Therapy). The amount of resources and personal attention you receive from Kaplan is well worth the money. The class is tailored to your needs. Although the course is a general prep course, online resources and access to practice tests with feedback was extremely helpful for my individual preparation. You receive 3 textbooks, a pocket reference, a vocabulary phone app, 5 practice tests, and an opportunity to take a practice test in a real GRE setting- unique to the Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
20 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%