Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [68]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Kaplan GRE- In Person
December 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ariellesmith233 joined: December 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Tampa, FL USA | Taught by:  Cathy McGee
I really enjoyed Kaplan's GRE course. When I was searching for a prep course my highest priority was having in person instruction. There were only 2 options in my area, Kaplan or Princeton Review. The Kaplan course ended up being better suited to my schedule so I signed up. The original course I enrolled in was canceled due to low student interest, which was very frustrating. Luckily they had another in person course starting two weeks later and they assured me that this course would indeed happen. It did, however, they never re-sent me the new workbooks for the class which made it inconvenient while trying to follow along with the instructor.

I will say that the classroom material can not stand alone in place of at home practice. It's a great review, and a wonderful forum to ask questions (especially in person!), but it's just that, a review. You get the strategies explained in depth, but that's pretty much it. Everything else is kind of breezed through which probably is fine for most people. I'm awful at math so I found that it moved too quickly for my liking. But either way I'm glad I signed up for it and would 10/10 recommend it!

If you prefer online learning, I think the live in person online would be a good option. Kaplan's study resources were phenomenal and they have a great variety of questions, practice exams, and workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good work
December 13 | 2018

       By neilthawani joined: December 13, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
The live online course was offered at multiple times. The instructors were great and obviously cared about student success.

The quiz bank and Live Online instructors really made this course worth it. My score improved by 6 points and I gained mental clarity while taking complicated math and reading comprehension questions in the quiz bank.

Kaplan sends you some test prep books - I used the online quiz bank instead. They also mail you a tiny book with helpful vocabulary, synonyms, and formulas. That was extremely helpful in alleviating my test anxiety.

The in-person GRE test day experience was helpful for understanding what the process would feel like. There were some issues with the Prometric portal and I got scheduled for the wrong day - so that was one negative that wasted about 2 hours of my time (45 minutes to and from the test center!)...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE In-Person
November 14 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Vohalloran joined: November 14, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Kurt Keefner
The Stanley Kaplan instructors went above and beyond with their explanations of how the test works, subject reviews and their editing of practice essays outside of the classroom. Kaplan's Q Bank that allowed students to time themselves and choose verbal and quantitative questions to answer was immensely helpful. It gave me a better idea of how to pace and what questions I needed to spend additional time on to improve my overall score. I was very happy with this course despite some hiccups with the Official Test Day experience. Kaplan was a great choice for me. It allowed me to get GRE scores that led to my acceptance to my number #1 MPH grad school program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely worth the investment
October 04 | 2018

       By noahwags joined: October 4, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Santa Maria, CA USA | Taught by:  Peninah Wolpo
My biggest concern about the GRE was the Quant section. I graduate undergrad 7 years ago and it had been longer than that since I had seriously worked with math. The Kaplan course shifts the focus away from it being an intense math course to it being a reasoning test through the medium of math skills. The tricks we learned to save time (multiple 15 seconds adds up!) and navigate seemingly tricky questions settled me as I sat for the actual GRE. Plus the Kaplan Higher Score is a bonus - if your scores don't improve you get your money back or can take the class again. I initially thought it was an expensive investment but it paid itself off in the studying and actual exam day strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GET THIS COURSE
August 27 | 2018

       By ebruk648 joined: August 27, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gene Suhir
This course, in my opinion, is a must get if you are not a naturally gifted test taker. Gene, my instructor, and Anne, our TA, worked with my condensed study schedule to help me create a study schedule geared just for me, jump into other class sections to get material early, and ultimately achieve the scores I wanted. I am a person who needs a schedule and something to keep me disciplined. I wanted to improve my score because I did not like my first score. I originally bought just a GRE Kaplan prep book, but I never got myself to study or read from it at all. Having the online class times made sure I was not only engaging with GRE material, but Gene let us go through problems on our own and then reviewed where we might have messed up. We were given many strategies to get to answers faster and work through problems efficiently. There are so many resources for studying. I highly suggest taking the course from Gene. I had a couple different teachers when I jumped into a different class section, and they were not as engaging and talked at us instead of getting us involved as much. BUT, in general, I would not have done as well without this course. I would absolutely get it. If it's too expensive, find a friend and split the cost. Just find a way to get this Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE = Kaplan!
June 22 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By adrianaap4 joined: June 22, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Gene Suhir
The Kaplan live online course was exactly what I needed and I am very glad I took it before taking the GRE. The GRE is NOT common sense and you HAVE to study to do well. The Kaplan instructors do a great job of teaching the math subjects you forgot after algebra 2 and offer detailed explanations on how to solve the problems quickly. The verbal review is great because it provides the repetition necessary to perform well. The practice tests are accurate to the actual GRE. It is crucial to practice problems under a time limit since that is half the battle. Highly recommend to anyone considering taking the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Class
May 06 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kaitlynbetz24 joined: May 6, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Eric Berman
I decided to take the GRE class in person when my university offered it to us at a discounted price. This class was very beneficial. While I haven't taken the GRE or the GRE Test Day Experience, this class was very helpful for my study habits. I liked the idea that we got the three books filled with practice problems with answers included. In class, we typically did problems from the math and verbal questions in those books. These problems were very helpful with how to prepare and study for the GRE. My professor was also very helpful! He was very quick to assist with any confusion that any of us had. Overall, I highly recommend taking the GRE Prep - In Person course! It will help out a lot!
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by tanjina on May 25, 2018
Actually I am new student try to take preparation for GRE. I saw different posts and think all are are very useful for my preparation.
2 Commented by tanjina on May 25, 2018
I am very week in grammar to speak and write. Are you help me to me to improve my grammar.
3 Commented by bb on May 26, 2018
@Tanjina, You probably want to learn English and then dive into the GMAT and prep for the actual test.
 
Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS review
April 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By tglu joined: April 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I am so thankful that I decided to take the Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS course this past winter! I signed up for it hoping to study really hard for two months for the GRE and then take it once and be happy with my scores. I was skeptical that I would be able to pull this off, but it actually worked out, thanks to this course! I am a full time undergraduate university student, but was still able to attend the online course every week and do the recommended assignments and practice tests at pace. I really enjoyed the sessions with my tutor, which helped me to strategize ways to increase my score and strengthen my weak spots. The Kaplan teachers were friendly and funny and always there to offer help and support. It was extremely helpful to learn the tips and tricks of the GRE, and the math review was absolutely crucial for me. This was definitely an expensive course, but I am so thankful that my scores improved, and that my grad school dreams will likely come true!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course! Intimidating at Times
April 24 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By freed08 joined: April 24, 2018 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Eric Berman
I liked taking this course and I think it was a great opportunity that was offered through my school. It was a little intimidating as my class was a little large and my room was pretty small, so I felt a lot of pressure to answer questions. I was really intimidated by the quant section, and my prof eased some of my nerves, the verbal and writing sections were also really helpful. If I had to do it again-- I would take more advantage of the online resources instead of just in class. I just felt like it was hard to practice the outside stuff while I also had school work and actual work to tend to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE In Person
April 10 | 2018

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By lebrunr1 joined: April 10, 2018 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Waxman
I've never been a great standardized test taker, not even average per say, however, with Kaplan all was possible. The impossible seemed possible and with the help of a wonderful Kaplan Professor, this test didn't seem so bad after all. I looked forward to going to class and learning how to conquer the GRE because the professor made the class very enjoyable. After each class, I felt more confident about test day. The strategies really do work! Practicing the strategies via the Kaplan practice exams helped even more! Thank you Kaplan, and I definitely recommend you guys to all test takers who want to see an improvement in their GRE score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
20 points
International Student Score Improvement
10 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%