Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [47]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Kaplan won't let you down if you are willing to put forth some effort.
November 06 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By meschm joined: November 6, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
Though I was hesitant to enroll in such a pricey course, I have zero regrets. I had studied for months using the ETS books that I had purchased on Amazon and my score was way below the minimum requirement to even apply for the program I am interested in. With Kaplan, I was able to study in a more structured manner. My coach helped me to create a study schedule for each week so that I would be properly prepared by test day. After each practice test, he would give me areas to focus on and it was so helpful to have his guidance. The classes are nice because you can get feedback as you are working through different practice problems. The GRE is definitely not an easy test, but Kaplan will help your score improve if you are willing to do the work. This class will give you valuable strategies and familiarity with the test material, but ultimately it is up to you to put in the hours of studying to make it happen.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Service
October 29 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By tdotrenae joined: October 29, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I was a bit skeptical about Kaplan's products. I had been hearing such great things about their products and was pretty sure it was a scam, but I took a leap of faith and purchased the Live Online Plus sessions to improve my GRE score. Turned out alot better than I could've imagined! Not only did my score improve, it improved drastically! The live online teachers were a resource on and off line and were really insightful in terms of creating a personalized study plan with me. I really loved the higher score policy, which allowed me to retake the live online course when I felt i wasn't prepared to take the actual GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE In-Person Prep Course
October 24 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By RDuncan joined: October 24, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Raleigh, NC USA
I decided to enroll in the Kaplan GRE in-person prep course after I had previously taken the GRE 3 times with no luck of increasing my score. The in-person experience was extremely helpful to me because it pushed me to study BETTER instead of harder. I learned the Kaplan quant, verbal, and writing strategies and even strategies to decrease anxiety/stress on test day. Another great part about the Kaplan prep courses is the Official Test Day experience in which students are able to sign up to take a mock GRE at an actual testing center. This is very helpful for people who are unfamiliar with a testing environment. Joe Hennes was an awesome instructor; I definitely recommend Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course!
October 18 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By rsch1234 joined: October 18, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
Kaplan's live online GRE prep course definitely gave me the support and practice I needed to meet my goals. The instructors are always there for you. They want you to reach out to them, and they will help you with your study plan in any way that they can. They are still your GRE coaches even after you finish the course. In terms of the resources for studying, Kaplan's workshops and quiz bank were my best and most useful study tools. I couldn't imagine studying without these tools. I truly believe that Kaplan prepared me in the best way possible for the GRE. Kaplan gave me the confidence I needed to take the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend!!!
October 05 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By peh528 joined: October 5, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   West Lake Village, CA USA
The Kaplan GRE In-Person class was truly amazing! I decided to take this class because I attempted to self-study the first time around, and I did not get the scores I wanted and needed for my top graduate programs. I learn best in a classroom setting, so I reasoned that I would improve my scores if I took an In-Person class. My course was designed for 2 sessions each week for 4 weeks. I enjoyed this layout because it was faster than an 8 week course, and it forced me to stay on top of my homework and studies. I felt extremely prepared for the Verbal and Quant sections, though I wish they had spent more time reviewing the Analytical Writing section. What I liked most was that signing up for the class also meant a bunch of extra resources! It includes homework assignments, three workbooks, Quiz bank, Vocabulary app, and 7 online practice exams. Plus, you can submit your essays to an online grader who will send you feedback and a score within a week. That was extremely helpful! The greatest thing about the course, though, was the ability to take a practice GRE exam in a real testing facility! That made me feel extremely confident :) In the end, I dramatically improved my scores!! Whereas the first time around I scored in the 50th-70th percentiles for the Verbal and Quant sections, I scored in the 80th percentile for both these sections after taking the In-Person class. That was my goal and I am so happy with the results! I highly recommend the Kaplan GRE In-Person course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan Live Online Review
September 28 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By twinboy2 joined: September 28, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
I had a phenomenal experience using my Live Online course through Kaplan. The opportunity to go at the pace that I wanted, in addition to when I wanted to was amazing. Especially for the math section, having live classes with a real teaching discussing the concepts as they pertain to the test is remarkable. Considering the last time I took math was in my third year of high school, a real person communicating the concepts was invaluable. In addition, probably my favorite part of the Kaplan review was the quiz bank. Having the chance to take as many test questions as I wanted whenever I wanted in whichever way I desired was a key part of my prep for the exam. The only critique I have for the prep is the verbal review. I found the actual exam to be far trickier when it came to the actual sentence structures used, instead of the vocabulary being extremely difficult. The Kaplan review mainly focused on incredibly difficult words instead of really teaching you how to understand complex sentence structures. Regardless, the prep overall helped me get the score that I wanted which is pretty remarkable. I am a terrible test taker and simply do not test well. Getting at or above the 50th percentile on my scores was a huge success for me - since I have never tested at or above the 50th percentile in my life on a standardized test. In addition, the instructors were incredibly helpful when it came to helping design study plans and how to tackle prep in the long term. I highly recommend Kaplan Prep to anyone who wants to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good!
September 24 | 2017

       By Pathyb91 joined: September 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
Good Value for Money combined package, i.e. the book + CD + Online Materials with many exercises that help a lot when practicing. While the professor is giving the class there are other teacher in the room just to answer the students questions and also if we have questions after class we are free to send them an e-mail and they answer us very fast.
The topics and responses are discussed in great detail. There is an immaculate Foundation and Content review chapter under the AWA section as well, which is probably the best feature of this product. It also discusses the pacing strategy (writing the essay within 30 min) and nuances of Scoring.
The Foundation and Content Review Chapters under both, Quant and Verbal sections are very detailed and beginner friendly. The theoretical coverage on the topics is fairly detailed.
The answers to the practice questions, in the book, are very detailed and insightful.
Practice test are of paramount importance for test prep. The six tests equip the user to perform SWOT analysis and monitor progress from time to time. The test analysis report is a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
In Person GRE Through Kaplan
September 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Masemase joined: September 20, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA
I signed up for the in person GRE in person class through Kaplan. They even provide a financial assistance program where if you are approved you will get up to 60% off. I took the once per week class and my instructor was great and extremely helpful. He was always there to answer all my questions and would always with no hesitation look over my practice essays when I asked him to. With the vocabulary for the verbal an app is provided where you can download to your phone and study on the go anytime. Kaplan teaches the best tricks for the quantitative section that will increase your speed and accuracy in answering the questions during the exam. In addition to six practice tests Kaplan also provides a "Test Day Experience" where you go to an actual testing center and take a practice test under the same rules and conditions of a real test. I highly recommend Kaplan as a prep course that will make a difference in maximizing your score. They will definitely guide you but the student must do lots of studying and practice quizzes in order to get a good feel of the actual test. They have thousands of questions you can create quizzes from that were taken from previous official exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
LOVED!!
September 19 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By HL829627 joined: September 19, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
The Kaplan Online Prep course was a huge factor in my doing well on the GRE and only having to take it once. I was very intimidated at first, but after starting the course and speaking with the teachers, I slowly became more confident. Quiz Bank was the best part of the whole course. You can personalize your own quizzes and focus on areas that you need to work on. Also, take advantage of the Kaplan Test Day Experience, it is a big stress reliever. Overall, I would definitely recommend taking this course as it has helped me so much!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
10/10 would recommend
September 18 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ldunn2 joined: September 18, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Warwick, RI USA
I do not study well independently, especially for something as onerous as the GRE's. Pete McCormick was an excellent teacher. He taught us the Kaplan Test strategies and ways to apply them to every question. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with each section the test had to offer. The only negative thing I have to say is, I wish the course focused a little more on the analytical writing. My test scores improved about 10 points from this course and from independent studies. Without this prep course, I would have not even known how to prepare myself for the GRE. This test was completely new to me. Kaplan did a great job preparing me. Another thing I also liked was all the resources Kaplan provided us with.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
20 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%