Kaplan GRE Course Reviews

With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

Most Reviewed Kaplan GRE Instructors

Jen Fletcher
Reviews
11
Average Rating
4.8
Jonah
Reviews
5
Average Rating
5.0
Gene Suhir
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0
Eric Berman
Reviews
2
Average Rating
4.5
Andrew Kula
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

72 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 24, 2019
Sierra

Joined: Jun 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

I loved my Kaplan GRE Prep course. I had no idea what I was doing before I took it, and it helped me improve my score a lot. I ended with a 169 Quant score, which was above my goal! The live-online feature was great because I could ask questions real time to help improve my understanding, and going through the workbook with an instructor was very helpful. The fact that they had people to grade practice essays was a huge advantage as well, I improved by 3 points! The tutoring was also super helpful, as I got to work on the stuff I struggled with the most. However, my first tutor was not as good at math as I am, which made for a waste of a session, but my next tutor was a perfect fit.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 22, 2018
adrianaap4

Joined: Jun 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE = Kaplan!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Gene Suhir

Location Online

The Kaplan live online course was exactly what I needed and I am very glad I took it before taking the GRE. The GRE is NOT common sense and you HAVE to study to do well. The Kaplan instructors do a great job of teaching the math subjects you forgot after algebra 2 and offer detailed explanations on how to solve the problems quickly. The verbal review is great because it provides the repetition necessary to perform well. The practice tests are accurate to the actual GRE. It is crucial to practice problems under a time limit since that is half the battle. Highly recommend to anyone considering taking the GRE.

Read More

April 24, 2018
tglu

Joined: Apr 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

I am so thankful that I decided to take the Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS course this past winter! I signed up for it hoping to study really hard for two months for the GRE and then take it once and be happy with my scores. I was skeptical that I would be able to pull this off, but it actually worked out, thanks to this course! I am a full time undergraduate university student, but was still able to attend the online course every week and do the recommended assignments and practice tests at pace. I really enjoyed the sessions with my tutor, which helped me to strategize ways to increase my score and strengthen my weak spots. The Kaplan teachers were friendly and funny and always there to offer help and support. It was extremely helpful to learn the tips and tricks of the GRE, and the math review was absolutely crucial for me. This was definitely an expensive course, but I am so thankful that my scores improved, and that my grad school dreams will likely come true!

Read More

January 26, 2018
mcallistcoli34

Joined: Jan 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A worthwhile investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

I was advised by my sister to use this course, and I found it to be very useful. The live classes went into a lot of the strategies to use to stop the GRE from tricking you, as well as a lot of retraining of math and how to do it fast enough to keep up with the test for the most part. Good strategies were presented, the teacher showed an obvious enthusiasm and patience and it helped me set up my study schedule. The channel was also very helpful in reviewing different topics covered in class or not, and helped me to relearn concepts I had forgotten. The qbank was also very useful, letting me practice questions from a variety of topics to try to keep myself sharp on the final test. And finally the practice tests helped me set my goals-the normal class ones were helpful and the prometric test day experience was especially helpful because it made the actual test day far less stressful. I really got a lot out of this program, and I'd say you should consider it for your prep.

Read More

January 24, 2018
pickles

Joined: Jan 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

Before signing up for this course, I had taken the GRE once and had done ok, my scores weren't great but they were fine. For the first time I took the GRE, I barely studied at all, I had purchased a Kaplan GRE book, but found it hard to motivate myself to be disciplined in my studying method. So, I basically took the first test blind. After getting my scores, I realized I needed to have some sort of program or class, as I thrive in structure. I decided on Kaplan because I knew they had a good reputation. It was pretty expensive, I'll be honest, but after taking the class I believe it was 100% worth every penny.

I was skeptical of taking the course online, as I thought perhaps it would be easy to just not pay attention. However, I found the opposite to be true. The instructors were engaging and enthusiastic and successfully elicited full participation from all class members.

Furthermore, outside of the 'classroom', I found my instructors to be extremely helpful. They emailed a review of the whole class after each session, along with any other information we might find helpful. They created personalized study plans for me based on my scores, areas of strengths and weaknesses and my goals.

The online resources were also extremely helpful, I particularly liked the quiz bank because you can customize the types of questions in each quiz. And taking so many practice GREs was also very beneficial.

Overall, I had an incredible experience with my Kaplan GRE course, and would take it again and definitely highly recommend to anyone looking for a prep course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2018
sandbuddha

Joined: Jan 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Online Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 40 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

I am going for my Executive MBA and finished graduate school in 2002 (!). I last took the GRE in 1999, when it was still the paper version only, and did well enough on my own with it to get into my top-choice program. I knew though that since I had been out of school for so long and working in a writing-heavy and low-math field for almost 15 years, that I would need help with taking the GRE again (also because the format has changed so much).

I signed up for Kaplan and really it was such a good investment of money. The structure that the classes provided, as well as the funny and smart teachers and interactive students made each of the online classes a great joy to attend. I took advantage of many things of the package (GRE Channel, the Kaplan vocab apps, their pocket-book and the full-length computer tests), and increased all three sections of my test significantly from the diagnostic test to test day (six weeks later). I am really impressed by this program, and wish I had the money back in 1999 to also have used them since I could have gotten a higher score then too!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2017
makennatess

Joined: Dec 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Incredible service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

This review saved my life- I only had one month to study for the GRE before I had to take it, and the Online Course taught me all of the basics and how to apply them to more advanced questions quickly and effectively. It wasn't just a mass memorization course, but instead taught us how to use tools and how to take the test strategically. Even when I didn't know answers, I was able to use the Kaplan skills to eliminate down to the correct answer. The course also gave me so many tools that made it easy to study whenever and wherever, which is nice when you have a crazy life. Absolutely 100% worth the money and time.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 01, 2017
M2468

Joined: Nov 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan gave me the 10 point increase I wanted

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Location Online

I am really happy with Kaplan's services. The instructors were wonderful and made sure to help me when I was struggling with my scores. They kept emailing me back until they made sure I felt comfortable with their advice and knew what I needed to do. With their help I got a 10 point increase from my diagnostic score and made the scores I needed by only taking the test once!
As I was tight on time, I definitely recommend Kaplan to anyone who needs good scores really fast. I only studied for the GRE for two months by devoting 1 hour each day.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 21, 2017
amandab

Joined: Nov 21, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 30 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

Kaplan's Live Online GRE service has been fantastic! I was able to triple my verbal score, double my quantitative score, and raise my writing from a 4.0 to a 4.5!
This course has so much to offer, with great self-paced learning capabilities, as well as structured live class times, as per the time you registered for. I would highly recommend Kaplan and all they have to offer - great service, amazing classes and materials, and the best teachers to guide you through the studying process.
While searching for a GRE course, I debated between a few. I chose Kaplan for their price and benefits - I feel I received the most for my money's worth. Choosing Kaplan was a great decision!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 06, 2017
meschm

Joined: Nov 06, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan won't let you down if you are willing to put forth some effort.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Location Online

Though I was hesitant to enroll in such a pricey course, I have zero regrets. I had studied for months using the ETS books that I had purchased on Amazon and my score was way below the minimum requirement to even apply for the program I am interested in. With Kaplan, I was able to study in a more structured manner. My coach helped me to create a study schedule for each week so that I would be properly prepared by test day. After each practice test, he would give me areas to focus on and it was so helpful to have his guidance. The classes are nice because you can get feedback as you are working through different practice problems. The GRE is definitely not an easy test, but Kaplan will help your score improve if you are willing to do the work. This class will give you valuable strategies and familiarity with the test material, but ultimately it is up to you to put in the hours of studying to make it happen.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

12 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kaplan