GRE Prep Club

Kaplan GRE Course Reviews

With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

Ready to get started with a Kaplan GRE course? Find the best course for you

Kaplan GRE Course Reviews

Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online
 $999  $999
Reviews
21
Average Rating
4.7
Buy Now
Kaplan GRE Online Self-Guided Course
 $449  $449
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person
 $1199  $1099
Reviews
29
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Kaplan Tutoring Packages
$104
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Kaplan GRE Instructors

Jen Fletcher
Reviews
11
Average Rating
4.8
Jonah
Reviews
5
Average Rating
5.0
Gene Suhir
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0
Eric Berman
Reviews
2
Average Rating
4.5
Andrew Kula
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

72 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 08, 2019
rco2107

Joined: Aug 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Location Anaheim, CA USA

The in-person review was very helpful and the instructor was very knowledgeable with math but the verbal review was pretty much a self study. I have no issues with the instructor but the structure of the verbal section review just did not work for how I learned the best. It was difficult for me to learn as much as I can with the verbal section as we went through the book because I had to share the instructor's attention with other students. We had some non-native speakers (Chinese) in the class who I believe had more struggles than I did. I think I would've learned more in the verbal section if I had the online review. Overall, the in-person review was very helpful but I wish we had notes for what we studied during the day so students would be able to look back at what was discussed during the class. I did not score as well as I wanted.

Read More

June 24, 2019
Sierra

Joined: Jun 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

I loved my Kaplan GRE Prep course. I had no idea what I was doing before I took it, and it helped me improve my score a lot. I ended with a 169 Quant score, which was above my goal! The live-online feature was great because I could ask questions real time to help improve my understanding, and going through the workbook with an instructor was very helpful. The fact that they had people to grade practice essays was a huge advantage as well, I improved by 3 points! The tutoring was also super helpful, as I got to work on the stuff I struggled with the most. However, my first tutor was not as good at math as I am, which made for a waste of a session, but my next tutor was a perfect fit.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 24, 2018
ariellesmith233

Joined: Dec 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE- In Person

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor Cathy McGee

Location Tampa, FL USA

I really enjoyed Kaplan's GRE course. When I was searching for a prep course my highest priority was having in person instruction. There were only 2 options in my area, Kaplan or Princeton Review. The Kaplan course ended up being better suited to my schedule so I signed up. The original course I enrolled in was canceled due to low student interest, which was very frustrating. Luckily they had another in person course starting two weeks later and they assured me that this course would indeed happen. It did, however, they never re-sent me the new workbooks for the class which made it inconvenient while trying to follow along with the instructor.

I will say that the classroom material can not stand alone in place of at home practice. It's a great review, and a wonderful forum to ask questions (especially in person!), but it's just that, a review. You get the strategies explained in depth, but that's pretty much it. Everything else is kind of breezed through which probably is fine for most people. I'm awful at math so I found that it moved too quickly for my liking. But either way I'm glad I signed up for it and would 10/10 recommend it!

If you prefer online learning, I think the live in person online would be a good option. Kaplan's study resources were phenomenal and they have a great variety of questions, practice exams, and workshops.

Read More

November 14, 2018
Vohalloran

Joined: Nov 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE In-Person

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 30 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor Kurt Keefner

Location Washington, DC USA

The Stanley Kaplan instructors went above and beyond with their explanations of how the test works, subject reviews and their editing of practice essays outside of the classroom. Kaplan's Q Bank that allowed students to time themselves and choose verbal and quantitative questions to answer was immensely helpful. It gave me a better idea of how to pace and what questions I needed to spend additional time on to improve my overall score. I was very happy with this course despite some hiccups with the Official Test Day experience. Kaplan was a great choice for me. It allowed me to get GRE scores that led to my acceptance to my number #1 MPH grad school program.

Read More

June 22, 2018
adrianaap4

Joined: Jun 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE = Kaplan!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Gene Suhir

Location Online

The Kaplan live online course was exactly what I needed and I am very glad I took it before taking the GRE. The GRE is NOT common sense and you HAVE to study to do well. The Kaplan instructors do a great job of teaching the math subjects you forgot after algebra 2 and offer detailed explanations on how to solve the problems quickly. The verbal review is great because it provides the repetition necessary to perform well. The practice tests are accurate to the actual GRE. It is crucial to practice problems under a time limit since that is half the battle. Highly recommend to anyone considering taking the GRE.

Read More

May 06, 2018
kaitlynbetz24

Joined: May 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor Eric Berman

Location Indianapolis, IN USA

I decided to take the GRE class in person when my university offered it to us at a discounted price. This class was very beneficial. While I haven't taken the GRE or the GRE Test Day Experience, this class was very helpful for my study habits. I liked the idea that we got the three books filled with practice problems with answers included. In class, we typically did problems from the math and verbal questions in those books. These problems were very helpful with how to prepare and study for the GRE. My professor was also very helpful! He was very quick to assist with any confusion that any of us had. Overall, I highly recommend taking the GRE Prep - In Person course! It will help out a lot!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 25, 2018
tanjina

Actually I am new student try to take preparation for GRE. I saw different posts and think all are are very useful for my preparation.

May 25, 2018
tanjina

I am very week in grammar to speak and write. Are you help me to me to improve my grammar.

May 26, 2018
bb

@Tanjina, You probably want to learn English and then dive into the GMAT and prep for the actual test.

April 24, 2018
tglu

Joined: Apr 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS

Instructor Jen Fletcher

Location Online

I am so thankful that I decided to take the Kaplan GRE Prep Live Online PLUS course this past winter! I signed up for it hoping to study really hard for two months for the GRE and then take it once and be happy with my scores. I was skeptical that I would be able to pull this off, but it actually worked out, thanks to this course! I am a full time undergraduate university student, but was still able to attend the online course every week and do the recommended assignments and practice tests at pace. I really enjoyed the sessions with my tutor, which helped me to strategize ways to increase my score and strengthen my weak spots. The Kaplan teachers were friendly and funny and always there to offer help and support. It was extremely helpful to learn the tips and tricks of the GRE, and the math review was absolutely crucial for me. This was definitely an expensive course, but I am so thankful that my scores improved, and that my grad school dreams will likely come true!

Read More

April 24, 2018
freed08

Joined: Apr 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course! Intimidating at Times

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor Eric Berman

Location Indianapolis, IN USA

I liked taking this course and I think it was a great opportunity that was offered through my school. It was a little intimidating as my class was a little large and my room was pretty small, so I felt a lot of pressure to answer questions. I was really intimidated by the quant section, and my prof eased some of my nerves, the verbal and writing sections were also really helpful. If I had to do it again-- I would take more advantage of the online resources instead of just in class. I just felt like it was hard to practice the outside stuff while I also had school work and actual work to tend to.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 10, 2018
lebrunr1

Joined: Apr 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GRE In Person

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor Jonathan Waxman

Location New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA

I've never been a great standardized test taker, not even average per say, however, with Kaplan all was possible. The impossible seemed possible and with the help of a wonderful Kaplan Professor, this test didn't seem so bad after all. I looked forward to going to class and learning how to conquer the GRE because the professor made the class very enjoyable. After each class, I felt more confident about test day. The strategies really do work! Practicing the strategies via the Kaplan practice exams helped even more! Thank you Kaplan, and I definitely recommend you guys to all test takers who want to see an improvement in their GRE score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 09, 2018
Rdress2

Joined: Apr 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan- In Person!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person

Instructor James Carney

Location Chicago-Financial District, IL USA

Taking the Kaplan course in person was extremely beneficial to my GRE journey. The course was recommended by a friend and I am now recommending it to my friends. The course really kept me on track and helped me stay on top of assignments and studying. The instructor was super enthusiastic about the GRE which made it more fun and interesting. He was there to answer any questions and created a non-intimidating space where I felt comfortable asking any of my questions, even if I thought they might be stupid questions! The course moved at the right speed and overall a great decision/investment!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

12 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kaplan