EMPOWER Test Prep GRE Course Reviews

Haven't hit your GRE goal yet? Throw out your books.   Try free, pay if you like it.    

Master the GRE At Home With EMPOWER Test Prep
Triumph over the GRE® with all of the content and tactics you need to ace the exam, available anywhere, anytime, backed by a 6+ point guarantee that says it all.  

EMPOWERing Lessons
Energizing video lessons that keep you amped through every question in the course, including those from the GRE Official Guide.  

Great Resources & Support
Handy outlines, enlightening audiocasts, and quick, friendly customer email support help make EMPOWER Test Prep the best GRE prep course online.  

Free 24 Hour Trial & Easy, 1-Button Cancel

24 Hour, 100% satisfaction guarantee. Easy account cancellation button. No phone calls. No email. It's that easy to try the best GRE® prep course online.

EMPOWER Test Prep GRE Course Reviews

EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course
 $149  $49
Reviews
8
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Reviews:

8 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
July 19, 2019
TO41

Joined: Jul 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Oates, Tyler EMPOWERgre Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

I recently took my third and final (thank God) GRE. I scored a 170 Verbal, 160 Quant, and 5.0 AWA. I used a total of three self-study prep programs over the course of a year (Manhattan Prep GMAT, Magoosh GRE, EmpowerGRE). I originally used MHP in preparation for the GMAT, but after a great deal of frustration (Practice tests: 580, 620, 700, 650- it did not seem that my effort “input” consistently resulted in an corresponding performance “output”). As a result I decided to take a GRE in order to make a more informed decision as to which test I would focus my full effort. With no additional GRE-specific study I scored a 161-V, 158- Q, 5.0 AWA (FEB 2019). Though not the score I needed, I left the test feeling optimistic that I could improve. I switched to Magoosh GRE prep and utilized their 1-month study plan. I really liked the video lessons and explanation after each question (which I needed for my more than rusty Quant skills). I dedicated a significant amount of prep (~35 hrs/wk- remember my quant was verrry rusty- for five weeks). I went into my second test (May 2019), very confident however I was disappointed when my Quant score did not improve (164-V, 158- Q, 4.0 AWA). Leaving that test, I felt as though I had executed my intended game plan with respect to verbal, however quant still stumped me. I felt like the test was calling the shots, and I was simply along for the ride, question by question. I work in US Army Special Operations, making a living jumping out of planes and blowing stuff up, so I refused to believe that it was nerves (nah there were definitely nerves!). I knew I needed to get more strategic in my approach toward TAKING the test, not just the material ON the test. My goal was to squeeze 2 more points from Quant- 160 or bust. This is where EmpowerGRE came in. I heard of them through my initial prep research and was drawn to try them because of their data driven approach to triaging questions. Often times I knew I a problem needed to be “Triaged” but didn’t even have a good way of dumping it (a 1 out of 5 guess is not a recipe for success). Additionally, I felt like I was at my math learning capacity. Frankly I was not worried about “getting smarter” but rather “working smarter”. (Note: EmpowerGRE also has an extensive video lesson library, syllabus, and explanations for each question. If I had it to do over I would have used them from the start) I studied the “Tactical” sections very intently for roughly 3 weeks, before my final test in July 2019. I finally got the score I wanted (327+). As I had dozens of 158 quant scores (it didn’t seem to matter I couldn’t get over the hump) I can honestly attribute the 2-point quant increase to EmpowerGRE’s program. If I am being fair, I know that 160 is not thattttt high for quant, but having battled it for so long it felt good to get that small victory. For those who crush quant but struggle with verbal I still found EmpowerGRE to be very beneficial. My ETS PowerPrep quant scores hovered around 163-166 so I am fortunate that I had a decent base. However, I still learned from EmpowerGRE and entered that final test with very confident in my strategy and game plan. I was able to raise my score from 164 to 170 without much additional verbal-section specific studying (under 10 total hours).

Here is the TLDNR version.
IF YOU:
Have a strong grasp of the test but are trying to earn those very elusive last few points
OR
You feel like you are stuck at a certain score and despite hours and hours of studying and hundreds of problems you can’t break through
OR
You took the test and felt like IT (rather than you) was dictating your strategy (rushing through questions at the end, didn’t know where to start on a question, or have been like did I miss something, what is this?)
OR
You believe that $49 (with a score guarantee) is worth adding an additional arrow in your quiver (even it only gets you 1 additional point, they all add up)

Then I highly encourage you to give it a try.

Read More

August 30, 2018
DTW123

Joined: Aug 07, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

EmpowerGRE Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report

Improvement 10 Points

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

I used EmpowerGRE for Verbal. The EmpowerGRE platform is very user-friendly and the lessons are set up well for students to succeed. The videos succinctly explain each question type and subsequent strategies related to answering each question type. I found the flashcards to be the most useful. Instead of trying to learn >1000 words, EmpowerGRE has figured out which words appear on the GRE on a regular basis. The flashcards provide harder questions towards the end of the course and so by then, the student should have mastered the "basic" words. I had taken the GRE once before I signed up for the EmpowerGRE and received a score of 156 on Verbal. After a month and a half of studying with EmpowerGRE, I ended up scoring 164 on my second try. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to make an improvement to their score.

Read More

November 18, 2017
tmensah

Joined: Nov 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

EMPOWERgre is the prep program you've been searching for!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

When I first heard about EMPOWERgre, I had my fair share of doubts. I mean come on, if it's that good, why haven't I heard about it? But boy was I so wrong. The videos and explanations were so detailed and very helpful. The tricks on the quant section boosted my confidence, and gave me a fail-proof, methodic way of tackling the questions. And with the TRIAGE technique, I was able to manage my time efficiently as well as get over whatever emotional problems I had with tough questions!

The verbal modules were enlightening, and they felt like I was in a classroom, having a live discussion with a teacher. The Analytical Writing modules came with killer techniques for structuring and writing my essay so that I could earn an elite score. With EMPOWERgre, I was able to raise my score from 69th to 80th percentile on the verbal, and from 60th to 93rd percentile on the Analytical Writing. Indeed, EMPOWERgre made it possible, even for a non-native English speaker like me. The customer service team was quick to respond to any questions/problems I had.

Seeing as the EMPOWERgre program was helpful, especially at a time when I felt I had reached my limit, and therefore couldn't score any higher, I'd highly recommend it to novices and second-time test takers alike. The investment is so worth every penny and even more.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 31, 2017
deansecharia

Joined: Jul 31, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great experience, thank you EmpowerGRE

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 20 Points

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

Wow how can I begin, first off I must say in hindsight I am very glad I picked Empower GRE. I ended up only paying a $100 to get into the graduate program of my dreams. But do not misunderstand me, they gave me the tools but you still need to devote a lot of time effort and attention to every part of this test. Thankfully Empower GRE has an awesome system that walks you through strategies that will definitely help you in studying for this crazy exam. Coming into studying for this exam I really was worried considering I never even took the SAT in high school, but empower GRE made it simple enough for me to go through the stages of the exam with confidence.

If you are looking for a great online program and are on a budget this is the program for you. In addition when I had a slight issue about the subscription of the service there customer support was quick and awesome!

Thank you empower GRE!!!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 14, 2016
katiecasey13

Joined: Sep 14, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

EMPOWERgre

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address

Improvement 10 Points

Course EMPOWER Test Prep On Demand Course

Location Online

As a poor test taker and a college student without a lot of funds, I was nervous I wouldn't find a program to help excel with the GRE. The first time I took it I got a 143 and 145. Which is an awful score that most graduate schools wont even consider! With tons of research, I accidentally fell upon EMPOWERgre and couldn't be more happy. I was skeptical in the beginning because of the cheap price thinking it wasn't as good as the other programs that were hundreds of dollars but i am so grateful i went ahead and got it! I ended up going to a 147 and 148, which still isn't the best score most students strive to get, but time was against me and I only did about 87% of the program and never did any of the manhatten prep tests that are included in EMPOWERgre. With that being said, i increased my score a lot with the amount i did with EMPOWER and loved every second. There are videos and poscasts along the way and they describe EVERY step to you along the way. Its impossible not to learn! they also give you dozens of hints and tricks to help you along the way for test day! i have never been more happy with my decision and purchase that I actually wish i had more time to study and go through EVERYTHING on the program to help me that much more!! I am very confident that anyone who decides to go with EMPOWERgre will not be disappointed!! No matter how much of the program you complete, youll be sure to do better! To do your absolute best, try and complete the program in its entirety! I loved it and would recommend it to anyone!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GRE Prep Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GRE Prep Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GRE Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GRE, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

3 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWER Test Prep