The Economist GRE Tutor GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [7]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Top notch personalized web-based GRE prep
April 27 | 2016

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By WillP92 joined: April 27, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Ultimate GRE Course | Location:   Online
To provide context, I used Economist GRE Tutor when I was about to apply to a very competitive PhD program. It’s a science based program, and I consider myself to be pretty decent at math and OK in verbal. However, to be accepted into top programs, I know I’d need to land in the 95th or above percentile, so I figured it was smart to invest in a prep course.

I purchased the Ultimate prep because I wanted the higher score improvement guarantee + I wanted a lot of practice exams. During my first practice test, I score a 162Q and 159V. I found the Economist GRE Tutor to be top-notch. It’s adaptive, and that means that it focuses in on your trouble areas. Since I have a pretty good understanding of basic math and English, I whizzed through the beginning lessons, which were a good refresher. I felt like the practice questions that were thrown at me quickly got tough, which is exactly what I needed. I was afraid that I’d waste time on lessons I already mastered, but that wasn’t the case.

The practice tests were solid too. After you complete a test, you receive a comprehensive breakdown of what questions you got wrong and the reason for it. I only took advantage of about half of my live tutor sessions. The system for live tutor sessions is set up sort of like Skype. You log into your account and can video with the tutor right there. The tutors were helpful, clever and supportive.They genuinely seem to care how I perform. And I performed pretty well! One big obstacle for me during test day was my nervousness. I was so afraid I’d freak out during the exam, and the tutors helped me calm down. And I did great! I got a 164V and 168Q and I was thrilled.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by Aisulu on June 22, 2016
What is the price of the package?
2 Commented by EconomistGMATTutor on June 23, 2016
Hi Aisulu! The price will display in your local currency, so check out the plans and pricing here: https://gre.economist.com/plans
3 Commented by Aisulu on June 29, 2016
Thanks
 
Excellent self-paced GRE prep
August 10 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By mchenko joined: August 10, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online
As someone who at times lack the necessary discipline for self-paced study I was originally considering the in-person courses offered by other companies. Opting instead for The Economist GRE Tutor, however, allowed me to not only save money but also invest my study time in a more strategic manner while covering a broader segment of material than an in-person prep class would.

Both the Quant and the Verbal sections in The Economist GRE Tutor are broken into bite-sized easily digestible lessons on every conceivable concept one might expect to see on the GRE. Furthermore, practice questions offered within the program are on average more difficult than the ones on the actual exam thus preparing me quite well for whatever the test might throw at me. As someone for whom math specifically and standardized testing generally were never strong suits, I found The Economist GRE Prep a true blessing in its ability to impart on me precisely what I needed to know. And the fact that its adaptive always kept my weaker areas in shape.

The Live Tutor sessions are an excellent addition as the tutors are not only extremely knowledgeable but also seem to really care about your performance. While there were some technical issues with the GRE Prep website's own platform for the live sessions, I was able to switch over to Skype and the tutors made the process as seamless as possible. I was quite nervous about the essay parts of the exam and the tutor broke everything down for me in such a complete way that when it came to the exam I knew exactly what I was doing with not a hint of nervousness.

In the end, with about a month of study (a total of 100 hours as the prep course tracks your study time in a handy graphic), I was able to score quite well for someone who hasn't approached a math problem in 5 years and is a non-native English speaker. From an initial practice score of Q148 and V158 I went to Q158 and V168.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Online GRE Prep Platform
September 07 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By nv29 joined: September 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online
I began hunting for GRE prep methods at the beginning of summer, but was hugely put off by the massive price tags that came with some of the more famous prep companies like Kaplan and Princeton Review. Additionally, private tutoring from lesser-known companies was still quite expensive; for one summer, I couldn't justify spending that much despite how effective they claimed to be.

I then came across the GRE Economist online app. I wasn't entirely convinced at first, but found the design and function of the website to be sleek and fast, and decided to stick with it after my one-week trial. I began with a score of around 155 on Quant and 147 on Verbal; my score on my actual GRE (which I only took once) was 161 on both Quant and Verbal, with a 4.5 on Analytical Writing. I couldn't be more pleased with this platform.

It provides customers with everything they could need, and does its best to work through the limitations that come with web-based learning. Depending on which plan you choose (I bought the Premium version), you get several one-on-one tutor sessions, during which a highly-qualified academic has a web-chat or -call with you to discuss exactly what it is you need to discuss. It allows you to tailor your learning to what you need it to be. It also has several practice exams, which are of course an integral part of prepping for any exam; however, these are thoroughly explained, with each answer choice for each question completely fleshed out. Furthermore, it also allows you to submit essays for grading, which are personally graded by tutors who tell you how to improve.

I could go on forever - but really, the biggest thing is just how personal GRE Economist is. Customer support is quick and excellent; I never for a second felt I was lost or ignored or sent in circles. It was very easy to stay in touch with tutors and learn with them. Overall, the lesson plans themselves may seem cumbersome, but are meticulously organized and necessary for success. I neglected proper study until about 40 days before my GRE; but in those 40 days, I was able to make a massive difference to my score, which speaks volumes as to the effectiveness of this platform. Truly excellent experience and I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone I know.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Extremely helpful and user-friendly tool for GRE preparation
October 21 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By poorvigoel joined: October 21, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Complete GRE Course | Location:   Online
I think the Economist tool was extremely helpful to me because the manner in which the test strategy is taught makes it easy to retain and apply. I got a higher than expected score, and the live tutors were also an incrediby useful resource. Another useful aspect of the tool is that you can get a comprehensive picture of your preparation - including study hours, time spent answering each question, progress against targets, days remaining for the final test, time spent on preparing for different sections of the test etc. Thank you very much to your team for helping me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
It is worth it
November 18 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Cris joined: November 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Ultimate GRE Course | Location:   Online
When I first stumbled accross The Economist GRE Course I was unsure about it because of the price. I had already taken the GRE two times and had been pretty discouraged because my scores where not good. The first time I took it, I was completely unprepared. For the second time, I bought a popular GRE review book and it did help, but my scores where still not optimal. I decided to try The Economist and it was very worth it! I wish I had found it sooner, it would have saved me a lot of money from taking extra GRE tests.
I purchased the ultimate package and used every feature I had access too. The lessons were extremely helpful as they were very thorough about every single concept contained in the GRE. You can ask questions about anyhting and the teachers really take the time to answer and make sure you understand. I really liked the practice tests, too. They were a great to see what I was weak in and provided explanations for every answer, so you can learn from your mistakes. Another great thing about this course are the one-to-one session. The tutors are really nice and have a lot of experience. I used up all of the sessions I had available and I learned a lot in every one of them. They also have essay grading available and it helped me improved from 4 to 4.5 in the anaytical writing measure.
Overall I went from 150 to 156 in quant and from 156 to 161 in verbal, and I think I would have done much better if I had devoted more time to study.
In conclusion, to all the people preparing for the GRE, for the first or subsequent times, I really recommend the The Economist GRE Course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great site.
November 24 | 2016

       By alex8711 joined: November 24, 2016 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Complete GRE Course | Location:   Online
I signed up for the free week trial of The Economist GRE Tutor after realizing I needed to take the GRE - as a Canadian, I had never heard of this test before and was shocked and stressed (math! Academic vocabular! What to do!). Within a week I took my first GRE test and scored Verbal 157 and Quant 148. I spent another three and a half weeks studying using the app, and after taking the GRE a second time I raised my Verbal score by 2 and Quant by 3.

I chose the weekly service as I didn't have time as a luxury, but I still felt much more comfortable going in and solving math problems (it's been about 10 years since I took a math class), and knew what to expect for Verbal and the essays. I would have liked more vocabulary practice from the app, but I used another website's flashcards for that.

I believe that with more time (1 month is not enough, especially working full time!) I could have raised my score higher, however as I didn't even know this test existed a month ago, I am happy to even have a decent score to submit with my PhD application. I appreciated the tutor sessions (I booked 2, would have liked another one but there were no more openings) and practice tests (I did 4).

I had a few technical issues with the website (Firefox and Safari are bugged and cannot scroll down on the practice test to view your results, and they didn't let me know of this until two days before my test), and my progress percentages went backwards at one point, but overall it was an amazing site to use and I'm happy with my money spent (wish the CAD-USD exchange rate was more even, though!). I really enjoyed the format and found it easy to navigate and a good deal for money spent.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Focused Training for Maximal Results Improvement
December 12 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By hollandlm joined: December 12, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online
The class should take 90-120 hours to complete, though on my current pace it says the class will take ~44 hours to complete. Other than that glitch in timing, the class is amazing. The subjects covered are clear and concise, and you are immediately given challenging questions on each topic. If you master the topic the first time, you will never see that area again. If you do not have it mastered, you have to answer more questions on that subject, and receive additional instruction until you master the topic. When you complete practice problems outside of a lesson, your mastery level of different skills is adjusted on how well you answered the practice problems. That way you know if you need to go back and review something you might have forgotten after mastering it the first time.
I purchased the 3-month Premium plan based on the expectation I would get everything out of the program I needed in 3 months. It has the same number of practice exams at the Ultimate package.
I have been pacing the practice exams to be completed at each additional 20% completion mark in the program. So far my score has gone up from 156V / 161Q, to 160V / 165Q, and I'm only 40% done with the program.
The lessons are very clear, and the questions are very challenging. I definitely feel like I'm getting my money's worth out of this program. Much better web interface and completion analytics tracking than Princeton Review Online.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


The Economist GRE Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
11 points
International Student Score Improvement
13 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%