Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [53]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Kaplan GRE was a big help.
June 10 | 2017

       By kevinnj joined: June 10, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
The Kaplan GRE course was very beneficial to my personal development. The courses, lesson on demand videos, workshops, and the one on one tutoring was informative. I definitely learned a lot and the instructors gave me good feedback throughout my email whenever I struggle on certain concepts. They truly were invested into my success and I even got a personalized study plan on the areas that was specific for my weaknesses. Even though I didn't get the score I wanted to achieved, I plan on taking the courses for a second time. I will be using these effective Kaplan strategies when I retake the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh makes GRE preparation fun
June 07 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By achan8 joined: June 7, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh was great overall. I was going through study books but often got demotivated by all the text. Magoosh is fun and interactive, makes learning much easier with the video tutorials and great explanations. In the verbal part, they are pretty spot on of the level of the students, and didn't give explanations like - " you know this word means this... so therefore its not right." Rather, they know we may not know that particular word and helps us get through the problem at our level. In both quant and verbal, they give many great tips and skills that are unique but useful. There are many supplementary parts of a Magoosh course that can easily be catered to your needs. The website is also very organized and easy to navigate, so I had no trouble learning how to fully utilize the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Didn't expected it to be so good !!!
May 20 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By krohit2375 joined: May 14, 2017 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I took the Magoosh GRE subscription for my application to MS in USA. Initially I was not sure of paying for something about which the internet was already flooded with free material, but after reading the testimonials and doing my research, I finally went for a one month subscription, which I must say has been one of my best decisions. As the program starts, they ask you to take a test so that you have a baseline to understand where you currently belong. They will provide you with an analysis of your weakness and areas you need to work upon. My initial score was 301, so I was also hoping to get a 10 point difference as the website claimed. Over the period of time I went on with their tutorials and practice material, which I must say is the closest to what you will see on the actual test day. Finally, I gave my test and to my surprise I scored 318, quants-166 & verbal- 152. Needless to say I was super exited and satisfied with the result which Magoosh provided me within a month of training.

I do have some referral codes which magoosh gives to every student when they signup. The referral link will give you an additional off on your bill. Feel free to use them.

GRE- https://gre.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

TOEFL- https://toefl.magoosh.com/invite/QS6DHV

Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best premium course for verbal section
May 03 | 2017

       By SonamMahajan5 joined: April 23, 2017 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I have been referred to Magoosh by my sister who have gone through each and every question of Magoosh which has helped her score above 300 in GRE. This has ultimatey also helped her get to the college she desired for. The explaination they offer for every question really makes life easy :-) I would suggest every student planning to give GRE to refer to Magoosh. Its all self explanatory and student friendly.Its mobile app GRE VOCABALORY which i have donwloaded on my mobile is also really helpful. One can refer to the app and strengthen your vocab while you are travelling etc.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Target Test Prep Was Better Than Other Prep Materials
April 29 | 2017

       By natthaku joined: April 29, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
Target Test Prep helped my quant score immensely, by 12 points exactly! It was truly like night and day. It broke down each concept and problem so clearly that it was hard to not study well. I had tried Manhattan Prep and Kaplan previously and found Target Test Prep to be much more useful and affordable! Their quick and easy formula sheet was also super helpful in helping me keep track of all my notes and concepts that I learned. The staff is also great with one on one help if you need someone to talk to. Overall they delivered a quality experience for test takers. Please please please save yourself the time and use this for your quant prep from day 1!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
RAPID improvement
April 26 | 2017

       By 5chlo55 joined: April 26, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I studied with EmpowerGRE for 3 months, and then Magoosh for 4 months, and after two tests, my highest quant score was 152. Needless to say, math does not come easily to me.

But I then studied for less than a month with Target Test Prep, and I scored a 159, and didn't even feel prepared for the exam. With just another couple of weeks, I feel like I could've scored into the low-mid 160s.

The best thing about this course is how it gives you a blueprint for targeted studying. It gives you in-depth diagnostics as to where you struggle so that you can really hone in on the very specific areas that you're struggling with (or at least need to improve on)-- I've yet to see anything like that kind of precision on any other test software.

Also, the guys at Target are extremely receptive and responsive to constructive criticism, suggestions, and any help you might need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good teachers, and good practice material
April 05 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By gauzpan joined: April 5, 2017 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Verbal + AWA | Location:   Online  |
I tool the Magoosh Verbal course as I wanted to improve my verbal score. The video lessons provided by them were very nice and easy to understand. I learned a lot of tricks for answering complex questions from there. Along with the lessons, the practice which is most important in any test is also quiet helpful with different levels of questions similar to GRE test. So when I was giving my GRE, the kind of questions didn't freak me out as I had the practice done. It also helped me in the writing section by telling about the proper structure to form while writing an essay.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Tool!
February 07 | 2017

       By saadrajan joined: February 7, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
The GRE exam prep service was great overall! The software was intuitive and efficient. The reviews of verbal and quant materials were easy to go through and comprehensive. Tracking my hours was also helpful. The essays were easy to write and submit and the feedback that I received was very helpful. The most notable were the staff that were always willing to help out and guide me through the process. I got the mark I needed! The exams were a little more challenging than what was required so remember to review and memorize words and use certified tests as well on the side.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Math and Verbal Review
January 18 | 2017

       By afifa joined: December 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep Ultra-Mega-Premium Package | Location:   Online  |
In a nut-shell, the content and instruction for the Math module is outstanding and matchless. The instructor provides the techniques to solve the problems and breaks the parts into easy steps. If you follow the steps, the problems can be solved. Very impressive Math module. The verbal section is also very detailed with many examples. I finally understood how to find Assumptions in Arguments after watching the videos. I have taken other courses but remained confused but these videos helped clarified many concepts. I never had a Math teacher as good as the instructor of these videos. Will be well worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE Test Preparation Review
January 12 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By vasudha8 joined: January 3, 2017 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep Procrastinator Special | Location:   Online  |
The Greenlighttestprep platform is a simple yet comprehensive way of getting to know the exam and understanding how the test makers are going to test you or rather try to make sure that you know your stuff and are adept at recognizing tricky questions. The key is to go by the concept. Remember the mantra, understand, practice and improve on the weaklings.

Despite the fact that you might know all the math formulae and have a deep understanding of the concepts as well as you are well versed with the vocabulary, the most important thing for the exam is practice and time management. My experience with this platform has been an amazing one, I really understood what the author wanted me to get at while I was using techniques provided in these videos. Making notes has really helped me out to a great extent. It saved a lot of my time in the exam.

My first attempt was not that successful due to lack of practice and improper time management, however, the next time, owing to the practice and help from the platform I really nailed it and got a 323!

Thanks a lot for helping me out through this!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers: