Online GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [46]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Tool!
February 07 | 2017

       By saadrajan joined: February 7, 2017 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
The GRE exam prep service was great overall! The software was intuitive and efficient. The reviews of verbal and quant materials were easy to go through and comprehensive. Tracking my hours was also helpful. The essays were easy to write and submit and the feedback that I received was very helpful. The most notable were the staff that were always willing to help out and guide me through the process. I got the mark I needed! The exams were a little more challenging than what was required so remember to review and memorize words and use certified tests as well on the side.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Math and Verbal Review
January 18 | 2017

       By afifa joined: December 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep Ultra-Mega-Premium Package | Location:   Online  |
In a nut-shell, the content and instruction for the Math module is outstanding and matchless. The instructor provides the techniques to solve the problems and breaks the parts into easy steps. If you follow the steps, the problems can be solved. Very impressive Math module. The verbal section is also very detailed with many examples. I finally understood how to find Assumptions in Arguments after watching the videos. I have taken other courses but remained confused but these videos helped clarified many concepts. I never had a Math teacher as good as the instructor of these videos. Will be well worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GRE Test Preparation Review
January 12 | 2017

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By vasudha8 joined: January 3, 2017 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Greenlight Test Prep Procrastinator Special | Location:   Online  |
The Greenlighttestprep platform is a simple yet comprehensive way of getting to know the exam and understanding how the test makers are going to test you or rather try to make sure that you know your stuff and are adept at recognizing tricky questions. The key is to go by the concept. Remember the mantra, understand, practice and improve on the weaklings.

Despite the fact that you might know all the math formulae and have a deep understanding of the concepts as well as you are well versed with the vocabulary, the most important thing for the exam is practice and time management. My experience with this platform has been an amazing one, I really understood what the author wanted me to get at while I was using techniques provided in these videos. Making notes has really helped me out to a great extent. It saved a lot of my time in the exam.

My first attempt was not that successful due to lack of practice and improper time management, however, the next time, owing to the practice and help from the platform I really nailed it and got a 323!

Thanks a lot for helping me out through this!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Target Test Prep
January 03 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By GREMBA2019 joined: December 21, 2016 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I started with Target Test Prep about one month before my last chance to take the GRE before round one application deadlines. I had taken a comprehensive in-person course through another company, and was disappointed with my quant results, despite studying every day and taking their additional online math course. I stuck with the company for awhile, but reached a plateau in which my score was not improving on practice tests and quizzes, and I could not understand from their materials what I was doing wrong.

I decided to try out Target Test Prep and knew right away that it was right for me. I needed more than just a focus on strategies for test taking. Target Test Prep's intense coursework and clear explanations of practice problems helped me to increase my quant score 5 points in a month, and made me a viable candidate for top programs. My only regret is that I did not start with them from the beginning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best GRE prep course you can find!
December 30 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By julianaportella joined: December 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I have to thank, from the bottom of my heart, TTP for getting accepted into the Msc program I am about to begin. I used TTP for the quant section of the test and it really exceeded my expectations. When I first started studying, I used 3 or 4 different prep sites/books but, as the days went by, I found myself using exclusively TTP. I greaty improved my score even though I had very little time to study, was working around 12hs a day and was VERY rusty in math.

TTP is great whether you're already comfortable with the sujects covered or need to remember/learn the basics. The lessons are very clear and the test questions are great. The tips on how to save time (as everyone knows, time is a MAJOR factor) are VERY helpful. Overall, TTP gives you the chance to easily customize your study plans according to your needs and offers a load of truly great material.

I plan to enroll in a PhD after my Msc and I will DEFINITELY use TTP again.

One more thing: customer service is just awesome. All of your messages and questions are answered super fast and by very, very nice people (hi Jeffrey!). They really work hard to solve any problems you might have and give you the best experience.

Thank you so much, TTP!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Focused Training for Maximal Results Improvement
December 12 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By hollandlm joined: December 12, 2016 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Premium GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
The class should take 90-120 hours to complete, though on my current pace it says the class will take ~44 hours to complete. Other than that glitch in timing, the class is amazing. The subjects covered are clear and concise, and you are immediately given challenging questions on each topic. If you master the topic the first time, you will never see that area again. If you do not have it mastered, you have to answer more questions on that subject, and receive additional instruction until you master the topic. When you complete practice problems outside of a lesson, your mastery level of different skills is adjusted on how well you answered the practice problems. That way you know if you need to go back and review something you might have forgotten after mastering it the first time.
I purchased the 3-month Premium plan based on the expectation I would get everything out of the program I needed in 3 months. It has the same number of practice exams at the Ultimate package.
I have been pacing the practice exams to be completed at each additional 20% completion mark in the program. So far my score has gone up from 156V / 161Q, to 160V / 165Q, and I'm only 40% done with the program.
The lessons are very clear, and the questions are very challenging. I definitely feel like I'm getting my money's worth out of this program. Much better web interface and completion analytics tracking than Princeton Review Online.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth the time and money
December 05 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By LARUNNER joined: December 5, 2016 | 0 | 0 native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online  |
I previously used other materials through the GRE testing company and they only focused on material needed for the test but as much on the strategies to actually take the test. Kaplan was able to supplement my study with online "test me" and "teach me" sections.

You should give yourself more than enough time to get through all the online classes. I would recommend at least a month after the class finishes to review all the study materials you have access to online. After signing up for the class I would try and sign up for the your "real test day" experience because by the time my class had ended there were no dates available for me to take the real life scenario before actually taking the full real test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great site.
November 24 | 2016

       By alex8711 joined: November 24, 2016 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Complete GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the free week trial of The Economist GRE Tutor after realizing I needed to take the GRE - as a Canadian, I had never heard of this test before and was shocked and stressed (math! Academic vocabular! What to do!). Within a week I took my first GRE test and scored Verbal 157 and Quant 148. I spent another three and a half weeks studying using the app, and after taking the GRE a second time I raised my Verbal score by 2 and Quant by 3.

I chose the weekly service as I didn't have time as a luxury, but I still felt much more comfortable going in and solving math problems (it's been about 10 years since I took a math class), and knew what to expect for Verbal and the essays. I would have liked more vocabulary practice from the app, but I used another website's flashcards for that.

I believe that with more time (1 month is not enough, especially working full time!) I could have raised my score higher, however as I didn't even know this test existed a month ago, I am happy to even have a decent score to submit with my PhD application. I appreciated the tutor sessions (I booked 2, would have liked another one but there were no more openings) and practice tests (I did 4).

I had a few technical issues with the website (Firefox and Safari are bugged and cannot scroll down on the practice test to view your results, and they didn't let me know of this until two days before my test), and my progress percentages went backwards at one point, but overall it was an amazing site to use and I'm happy with my money spent (wish the CAD-USD exchange rate was more even, though!). I really enjoyed the format and found it easy to navigate and a good deal for money spent.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
It is worth it
November 18 | 2016

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Cris joined: November 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Economist Ultimate GRE Course | Location:   Online  |
When I first stumbled accross The Economist GRE Course I was unsure about it because of the price. I had already taken the GRE two times and had been pretty discouraged because my scores where not good. The first time I took it, I was completely unprepared. For the second time, I bought a popular GRE review book and it did help, but my scores where still not optimal. I decided to try The Economist and it was very worth it! I wish I had found it sooner, it would have saved me a lot of money from taking extra GRE tests.
I purchased the ultimate package and used every feature I had access too. The lessons were extremely helpful as they were very thorough about every single concept contained in the GRE. You can ask questions about anyhting and the teachers really take the time to answer and make sure you understand. I really liked the practice tests, too. They were a great to see what I was weak in and provided explanations for every answer, so you can learn from your mistakes. Another great thing about this course are the one-to-one session. The tutors are really nice and have a lot of experience. I used up all of the sessions I had available and I learned a lot in every one of them. They also have essay grading available and it helped me improved from 4 to 4.5 in the anaytical writing measure.
Overall I went from 150 to 156 in quant and from 156 to 161 in verbal, and I think I would have done much better if I had devoted more time to study.
In conclusion, to all the people preparing for the GRE, for the first or subsequent times, I really recommend the The Economist GRE Course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I got 170
November 11 | 2016

       By mbsls92 joined: November 11, 2016 | 0 | 0 non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   The Target Test Prep GRE Quant Course | Location:   Online  |
I just scored 170 on the quant part, because of the intensive training provided by TTP. To be fair, I must begin by saying that I do have a background in math, but in my opinion only half of the test is actually knowing theory. The other half is knowing problem solving strategies and how to apply them quickly. TTP's course does an excellent job at training you for this. First, because the exercises correlate almost 100% with those on the actual test, so you are going to be ready for what you're getting on the big day. Second, because the exercises are organized by sub-topics AND difficulty levels. This last point is crucial. For example, you can train the sub-topic "Work" problems (which are contained in a broader class of "Ratio" problems) separately. This has really helped me a lot, because I could train the specific places that I was falling behind. Finally, after each question that I did not get right, I'd check and study the test strategies presented in the videos. These have really helped me not only get more questions correctly but also improve my time (and if you have not taken the test yet, trust me: every second counts). TTP is hands the best option around to prepare for the quant part of the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings