Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS Reviews
    Number of reviews [9]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 
 
  • 21 hours of live Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 35+ additional hours of live instruction with the GRE Channel
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

I always TRUST Kaplan
August 07 | 2017

       By fallonalexis7 joined: August 7, 2017 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I took Kaplan when I thought that I wanted to be a dentist and needed to take the DAT. I took Kaplan when I wanted to become a nurse and needed to take the NCLEX; and I just took Kaplan again because all my PHD programs want me to have a GRE score. Kaplan has been there my entire academic career. I passed each test the first time around and for this current GRE for my PHD, we consider it a formality, because schools ultimately let in whom they want to let in at this level. But each school had a preferred 149 for verbal and I received a 147, and I was told to not bother about my math due to my subject matter, but guess what? That accidentally improved, there was barely anything on the test that was actually "hard". I remember propping my feet up in my cubical with the keyboard on my leg typing away during the essays. I struggle the most with argumentative essays the entire month, but after trudging along with the examples provided and a session with my coach, well I told you how I was typing in that cubicle. I knew I did good when I walked out. But was excited to see my math score, I wanted to cry! but they were trying to finish me up in the testing center. We have done it once again Kaplan, but I hope this is the last time I see you guys! :lol:
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Prep - A+!
July 31 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By SamDK joined: July 31, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jonah
Was very nervous about taking the GRE but Jonah was a fantastic teacher who taught specific strategies that allowed students to maximize their time in each section. Specifically, the quant was something I had not taken a course in for several years but ended up feeling confident with the material. For the verbal section there were some tricks but mostly it was memorization of vocab on your own time. Having the real practice tests was invaluable, and I took 1 every week. Furthermore, I also used quizbank which was wonderful because it gave a full and thorough explanation of all the problems that were used to quiz yourself on. Overall I would greatly recommend this course to anyone who is considering taking the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE was a big help.
June 10 | 2017

       By kevinnj joined: June 10, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
The Kaplan GRE course was very beneficial to my personal development. The courses, lesson on demand videos, workshops, and the one on one tutoring was informative. I definitely learned a lot and the instructors gave me good feedback throughout my email whenever I struggle on certain concepts. They truly were invested into my success and I even got a personalized study plan on the areas that was specific for my weaknesses. Even though I didn't get the score I wanted to achieved, I plan on taking the courses for a second time. I will be using these effective Kaplan strategies when I retake the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan is great way for GRE prep
October 04 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By jjagne1 joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online |
Prepping with Kaplan for the GRE was one of the best decisions I made. This was my first time taking the GRE and I was very nervous. I generally do O.K. on standardized test. One great things I noticed about Kaplan is their commitment to student success. The professors REALLY care about your performance in the online class and e-mail after class to see how things are going. The strategies I learned in the class made the questions less challenging or even if I came across a challenging question, I had the tools to break down the question. I really appreciated the positvity from the professors, no matter what my practice scores were or how bad was freaking out as test day got closer. Though I did not do as well as I hoped (due to personal events) I will still use Kaplan in my prep before taking the exam for a second try.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely worth it!
August 30 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dianamw85 joined: August 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online |
I did a lot of research when deciding which GRE prep course to take. I decided on Kaplan and am so glad I did. The classes were surprisingly engaging and I actually enjoyed them! They didn't feel like a burden. The teachers were great. It was also nice to have the classes on-demand if there were parts that I wanted to watch again, or missed because of a phone call in the middle (it happens). The full-length practice tests were also really great and I was able to learn a lot from reviewing my answers.

I also really appreciated the in-person practice test. I felt much more comfortable on the day of the test because I knew where I was going, if there was food around (there was) and if there were lockers for my stuff (there were), and felt familiar with the process and the surroundings. (I took my test in Chicago so I don't know if all locations have what mine did.)

The coaching was also extremely helpful for me. It was great to have someone to bounce ideas off of, to talk through specific areas where I had questions, and to guide me through making a study schedule. My coach was also available the whole time through email for any questions I had, not just for the 3 hours specifically stated, which was a big help as well. She even looked through my practice essays and gave me additional feedback beyond what Kaplan's graders sent me.

In all, I had a wonderful experience with Kaplan and I have only positive things to say. I highly recommend Kaplan's course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep (as long as you dont need much math help)
August 22 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By harpaf13 joined: August 22, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online |
This online course provided a lot of tips and tricks for the GRE that I could not find elsewhere. However, it was less helpful if you are scoring above average on Math already and just want to get your score up to 160-170. There are not enough combinatorics and probability questions in the reviews to effectively do this. However, the verbal and online sessions were very helpful and convenient. Their Official Test Day Experience is unique and helpful for people with test anxiety to see a testing center ahead of time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a self-directed pace for their GRE prep, with a bit of help from a live instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
You get out what you put into it...
June 07 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By steffieharner joined: June 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online |
Kaplan GRE instructors were great. Online classes were very convenient since I am always traveling - the best part is they were surprisingly engaging. The personal tutor really helps you understand the product and material and tells you what to focus on based on your scores. Having the personal tutor really holds you accountable (something that is usually missing when you're not physically in a classroom.) If you are engaged in your classes, do all the homework, and listen to your tutor you WILL improve your score tremendously. It's worth every penny if you're willing to put in the effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Live Online PLUS Review
June 02 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By SeeMmmJay joined: June 2, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jonah
I liked how I was able to take 7 practice tests including one at the actual testing center where I took the real GRE. And the way their interface for exploring how well you did on the practice tests was very nice. Additionally, I found the PLUS tutor sessions useful for asking questions about practice problems. The tutors were extremely helpful and Kaplan as a whole was always about ensuring that I was having a good experience. There was a big effort from Kaplan to ensure that nothing, not even tech issues, got in the way of me studying. I found the Increased Score Guarantee to be comforting as I prepped for the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome!
April 25 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ncdolphin joined: April 25, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:  Online |
This course was amazing! It was well worth the money. All the teachers are awesome and invested in your success on the GRE. The classes are long, but the instructors make the class go by quickly. The practice tests are super helpful. The GRE is a marathon for your brain, and the practice tests help prepare your brain for the whole 4 hour test. The practice quiz bank is also fantastic. You can customize the quiz to your level and what you want to focus on. This course definitely helped me to feel confident in the GRE.The Higher Score Guarantee is also great. Kaplan wants to make sure that you do well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
26 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Jonah [USA]
    
Jen Fletcher [USA]