Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online Reviews
    Number of reviews [12]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
 
  • 21 hours of live Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 35+ additional hours of live instruction with the GRE Channel
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

Kaplan Live Online Review
September 28 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By twinboy2 joined: September 28, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I had a phenomenal experience using my Live Online course through Kaplan. The opportunity to go at the pace that I wanted, in addition to when I wanted to was amazing. Especially for the math section, having live classes with a real teaching discussing the concepts as they pertain to the test is remarkable. Considering the last time I took math was in my third year of high school, a real person communicating the concepts was invaluable. In addition, probably my favorite part of the Kaplan review was the quiz bank. Having the chance to take as many test questions as I wanted whenever I wanted in whichever way I desired was a key part of my prep for the exam. The only critique I have for the prep is the verbal review. I found the actual exam to be far trickier when it came to the actual sentence structures used, instead of the vocabulary being extremely difficult. The Kaplan review mainly focused on incredibly difficult words instead of really teaching you how to understand complex sentence structures. Regardless, the prep overall helped me get the score that I wanted which is pretty remarkable. I am a terrible test taker and simply do not test well. Getting at or above the 50th percentile on my scores was a huge success for me - since I have never tested at or above the 50th percentile in my life on a standardized test. In addition, the instructors were incredibly helpful when it came to helping design study plans and how to tackle prep in the long term. I highly recommend Kaplan Prep to anyone who wants to do well on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good!
September 24 | 2017

       By Pathyb91 joined: September 21, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
Good Value for Money combined package, i.e. the book + CD + Online Materials with many exercises that help a lot when practicing. While the professor is giving the class there are other teacher in the room just to answer the students questions and also if we have questions after class we are free to send them an e-mail and they answer us very fast.
The topics and responses are discussed in great detail. There is an immaculate Foundation and Content review chapter under the AWA section as well, which is probably the best feature of this product. It also discusses the pacing strategy (writing the essay within 30 min) and nuances of Scoring.
The Foundation and Content Review Chapters under both, Quant and Verbal sections are very detailed and beginner friendly. The theoretical coverage on the topics is fairly detailed.
The answers to the practice questions, in the book, are very detailed and insightful.
Practice test are of paramount importance for test prep. The six tests equip the user to perform SWOT analysis and monitor progress from time to time. The test analysis report is a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
LOVED!!
September 19 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By HL829627 joined: September 19, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
The Kaplan Online Prep course was a huge factor in my doing well on the GRE and only having to take it once. I was very intimidated at first, but after starting the course and speaking with the teachers, I slowly became more confident. Quiz Bank was the best part of the whole course. You can personalize your own quizzes and focus on areas that you need to work on. Also, take advantage of the Kaplan Test Day Experience, it is a big stress reliever. Overall, I would definitely recommend taking this course as it has helped me so much!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
July 30 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dbaker joined: July 30, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
I wouldn't have been able to get through GRE studying without the Kaplan Live Online course. I tried studying on my own with just a book and having a person there to explain the concepts and strategies made a world of a difference and helped improve my test scores. Not only were they able to help with the concepts but my instructor, Jen, was extremely encouraging. Kaplan is always available and willing to answer any question you have. They also offer a TON of resources for you in addition to the live online class such as essay grading and tips, personalized study suggestions, and workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the time and money
December 05 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By LARUNNER joined: December 5, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I previously used other materials through the GRE testing company and they only focused on material needed for the test but as much on the strategies to actually take the test. Kaplan was able to supplement my study with online "test me" and "teach me" sections.

You should give yourself more than enough time to get through all the online classes. I would recommend at least a month after the class finishes to review all the study materials you have access to online. After signing up for the class I would try and sign up for the your "real test day" experience because by the time my class had ended there were no dates available for me to take the real life scenario before actually taking the full real test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Truly Excellent Class
October 23 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By asokol joined: October 23, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jonah
I cannot recommend this more! I was hesitant to take a prep course for the GRE, but boy am I glad I did! My diagnostic quant score abysmal (10%) but in the course of the class I improved it over 30 points (into the 60th percentile and above). I didn't believe that was possible. I also, surprisingly, really enjoyed the class itself; somehow, Gail and Jonah made it both accessible and entertaining! Furthermore, they were extremely attentive on an individual level. They checked in with my progress and guided me in the right direction in terms of how to focus my studying. I felt like they truly went above and beyond their "job description." The online resources are similarly incredible. I have a demanding work schedule, and the Quiz Bank offered me the ability to grab a few minutes of studying whenever I had a spare moment. My one concern is the price of the course. Had I not received this prep class as a Christmas present, there was no way I could have taken it. I really hope there are adequate scholarships offered, because it would be shameful if someone was hindered from receiving this level of quality due to economic constraints.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Glad I Did It
October 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By AuL8055 joined: October 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jen Fletcher
It was definitely nice having a set time to focus on studying. The instructors were really nice. My score didn't improve a ton from my first practice test to what I actually got on test day but I would say that was due more to situations that occurred the week before the test and not because of the quality of instruction since my scores had been improving pretty steadily until then, including the TDE exam. The biggest thing that the course did for me was help me to reduce my anxiety over taking the test. The course showed me the little tricks that the test makers like to use and tips for overcoming them that I never would have figured out studying on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great product, wish it wasn't as expensive
October 09 | 2016

       By zz1049 joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
The organization of the product was fantastic. The overall presentation with the intro video/course/and recommended practice as well as the additional in book assignments were extremely helpful. However, for 500+ dollars I was expecting a little bit more, perhaps that's just my cheapness.
The test day experience really helped me figure out what I needed to bring with me and what attitude I needed for the following week when I took my exam. I found that to be one of the most helpful things, and to take an exam is already $200 so it makes a bit of sense why the cost is so high. I benefited greatly from the in video practice and the homework helped me identify areas of weakness that I needed to practice. Overall I believe it helped me a lot and was an effective way to study for the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Success with Kaplan Course
September 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By dld35390 joined: September 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Jonah
Before taking the Kaplan course, studying for the GRE seemed like an impossible task. With taking the Kaplan course, I was able to stay on task and progress through my studying. There were various resources and I always felt that I had things that I could be doing to improve my score. The positivity of the professors was super helpful, and I also got fast response anytime I had to email them. I felt like they truly cared about how I was doing. You also had opportunities to be involved in class by participating in a public chat and could even have your name called. This made me feel like a part of the class, an active participant. I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about improving their GRE score. I wish I would have done it the first time I took the GRE. It is worth the time and money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Live Online
July 06 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By yumicha joined: April 5, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:  Online |
I had Steve for the Quantitative class sessions and Jonah for the Verbal/Analytical Writing class sessions. Both made the class really fun/interesting - two words I never thought I would use to describe GRE classes.

Prior to signing up for this course, I struggled to make time to study and lacked structure/study plan. The GRE teachers/assistants work to make a study schedule and plan that is tailored to you. As long as you follow it, you should have no problem reaching your goal!

QuizBank is probably one of the best things created to practice the topics that you are not very strong in. It helped strengthen my skills in various areas.

They also have the Higher Score Guarantee policy, which is also great.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
11 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Jonah [USA]
    
Jen Fletcher [USA]