Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Reviews
    Number of reviews [10]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
 
 
  • Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

Prep Course Ready
February 01 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mandajay joined: February 1, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Boston (Back Bay), MA USA |
The Kaplan course prepared me well for the GRE sections. One of the most useful aspects of this course was the breakdown of the practice tests. They would let you know what you needed to really focus on, and in doing that allowed me to target my studying better. The instructors were very helpful at answering questions and stayed after class to work in depth with anyone who had longer questions.

Another thing that Kaplan really helped me with was my confidence. Upon beginning studying for the GRE, I was so nervous even saying the word would make me nauseous. The breakdown that Kaplan did of the units and laying out all of the assignments ahead of time allowed me to schedule my studying in a stress-free way. At the end of the course, I felt very confident in my ability.

One thing that could have been improved was my quantitative instructor. She was very smart and capable, however she could do a lot of math on the spot in her head and it was sometimes difficult to follow her train of thought.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE in-person review
October 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kerryjustine joined: October 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Andrew Kula
I took the in-person course, meeting twice weekly in the evenings to prepare for my GRE. The course was really helpful for me, though it still requires a lot of independent study. Kaplan gives you the resources you need - the key is to use them. The best part of the class is the online test banks and recommendations, as well as the test day experience where you get to take your Kaplan timed prep test at the ETS facility, simulating the actual GRE. This was really helpful. USE the online quiz banks, do all your practice tests and you will improve with this course.

Andrew Kula was my instructor and he was phenomenal and dedicated. Highly recommend him if you can get into his class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money
October 04 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ashakesh joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA |
I was skeptical about paying for such an expensive course, but I knew taking a prep course was something I needed to do. I am a nervous test taker and my GRE scores are important for programs I am applying to (Master's/Doctorate in Occupational Therapy). The amount of resources and personal attention you receive from Kaplan is well worth the money. The class is tailored to your needs. Although the course is a general prep course, online resources and access to practice tests with feedback was extremely helpful for my individual preparation. You receive 3 textbooks, a pocket reference, a vocabulary phone app, 5 practice tests, and an opportunity to take a practice test in a real GRE setting- unique to the Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Value for your money
October 01 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ajarquin05 joined: October 1, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA |
I am so glad that I chose Kaplan as my test prep program! I truly believe that you get your money's worth. This course comes with an extraordinary amount of resources to help your score improve and be what you want it to be. By far the best thing from this course is the Test Day experience option. This allows you to take a practice test at the test center where you are planning on taking your actual GRE. It's super helpful with eliminating unnecessary stress on test day, you'll know what to expect on your test day and be more relaxed and focus on your test rather than worrying about how to get to the center or where the bathrooms will be. There instructors are also really caring and super involved in your education, even outside of the classroom. My instructor even offered his help after our course was officially over. Likewise the many resources and extra quizzes they have online tremendously helped with getting us to taking a test online. There interface really does match the ETS's very closely. Overall I am very thrilled and thankful to Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GRE Prep Class
September 28 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By addyc joined: September 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Sacramento, CA USA |
I was very impressed with this prep class. I was debating between a few companies to use and I decided on Kaplan because of their higher score grantee. I really did get a higher score on my GRE and I was very pleased with my score! The instructor was very thorough and made sure we understood the concepts. It was great to be able to take this in person, because if I had any questions, I could get an answer right away. This class is definitely worth the cost. It got me the score I needed and I would recommend this class to anyone who wants an in-person prep class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I recommend Kaplan
September 08 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ilove2swimm joined: September 8, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Williamsville, NY USA |
I am really happy I took this course and I highly recommend it. I saw a dramatic increase in all of my scores and I think it's because of the amount of homework required for the class. if you do the homework there is no way that you won't improve. I also think the Kaplan practice tests are much harder than the actual GRE so I felt so prepared and really confident when I was taking my real GRE. I was honestly really surprised at how identical the practice tests look and function like the real GRE. Also Kaplan lets you take your final practice test at an actual testing center and have that experience and I'm really glad I took advantage of it. I got to know what it was like to get metal detected and everything so I wasn't shocked when I took the real one. I also didn't think my instructor was going to be so hands on, but she emailed me regularly and analyzed my tests to tell me what I had to work on.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
August 22 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By cullenc10 joined: August 22, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Washington, DC USA |
I took the course in Arlington VA with Ian Schlie. He was such a great teacher. He took time outside of class to call us and see what our goals where and asked how he could help us attain those goals. He was friendly and engaging. The other students in the class were all very kind and we all worked together to get good scores. I would recommend this course for anyone who is planning on attending grad school. He made me feel like my goals were attainable and I am truly thankful I took this class. My recommendation would be if someone wants to improve their score to take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Increased My Score By 7 Points With Kaplan!
August 16 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By bmarie1019 joined: August 16, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Ann Arbor, MI USA |
The Kaplan in person course was extremely helpful. I was able to take it twice thanks to the Kaplan Guarantee, which was great, since I wasn't entirely satisfied with my first score. My second time taking the class, I had a different instructor and a smaller class size, which were definitely contributors to my score increase. The strategies we learned to save time and better approach questions proved to be invaluable on test day. My instructor also framed the test in a way that proved it to be less about information and problem solving, and more about critical thinking, which significantly eased my anxiety around test taking. Between in-class instruction, the practice MSTs, and the excellent online resources, I went into my second test far more confident than I did the first time. I went from 157V to 161V and 152Q to 155Q, and received a 4.5W both times. I definitely recommend Kaplan for test prep needs; the quality of instruction and resources, and the Kaplan Guarantee, make it well worth it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE Review
April 12 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By nelshaba joined: April 12, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Vienna, VA USA | Taught by:  Kevin Holley
I think you should advertise how beginner level the in person classes are. We rarely did any difficult or medium questions which is what I needed the most help with. The online tools were the best, especially the practice tests. I also appreciated the ability to see what sections I struggled the most with then be able to create practice tests that targeted those deficiencies. I also did not know I had a free practice test on site, I think that should be advertised more. I did appreciate Kaplan’s flexibility with the date which they ended the online course. I last minute decided to push my test date back and they accommodated this twice which was great. If I do decide to retake the GRE, I will certainly sign up for the online classes with Kaplan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Class
March 30 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By kshupp joined: March 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA |
This class was a wonderful experience. Oliver Lontok was everything I could have hoped for in a teacher- relaxed, but completely on point. After a long day of work (I work full time), Oliver made a 3 hour class bearable. My scores improved dramatically and he was even still willing to help with my application for graduate school once the class was over. I would recommend this to anyone, whether they are still in school or if they are 10 years out of a classroom. It definitely helps to take with a friend. Having someone to attend class with makes it go by faster and also gives you someone to study with. For me that was important.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
30 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Kevin Holley [Vienna, USA]
    
Andrew Kula [Los Angeles, USA]