Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person Reviews
    Number of reviews [13]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
 
 
  • Official Test Day Experience
  • 8 classroom sessions featuring comprehensive instruction by expert teachers
  • 5,000+ practice questions, including Quiz Bank to create custom quizzes
  • 7 full-length computer-based practice tests
  • More than 180 hours of online instruction and practice
  • Convenient class times and locations
  • Free make-up sessions: live classroom sessions or on-demand

A Complete Game Changer!
July 14 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By CamiGOT joined: July 14, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Gainesville, FL USA |
I was incredibly nervous to take the GRE. My practice scores before Kaplan were average at best, but my final score after the course was MUCH higher than my goal! Having an instructor teach me how to study and how to take the test was the game changer for me. I walked into the test with test taking skills I never would have had without Kaplan. The Test Day Experience and the skilled I learned and reviewed in class helped me to improve my score by more than 10 points in each section! I'm incredibly happy with my score and will definitely recommend this course to my friends who have yet to take the GRE.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
well worth it
May 19 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By janelle23 joined: May 19, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Philadelphia, PA USA |
I have never been a great standardized test taker. I'm talking completely bombing my SAT's, terrible. Thankfully I was able to go to a college that was test optional. However, I was not so lucky when it came to my Grade school pre reqs. I knew I had to dish out some serious cash to improve my school. After doing a lot of research I settled with Kaplan and I believe it was a right choice.

I loved the in person classes! night classes can often feel like a bore but my instructor kept it light and fun. He never made me feel stupid and definitely raised my testing confidence. I will say that the verbal section was taught better than the quant section but i think that boils down to if you are a math person or not.

I will admit I didn't keep up with the homework like I should have (there is just so much material its almost laughable), but I saw a definite 10 point increase from my first practice test to when I took my official test. I think Kaplan guarantees a ten point increase so they hit the mark with me.

Overall, if you have the money and there is little hope for you to study and succeed on your own, then take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE In Person- Worth It!
May 02 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By livrocks11 joined: May 2, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Philadelphia, PA USA |
My GRE in person prep course was made worth it to me by my amazing instructor, Deivanai. I was blown away by her teaching skills and commitment to her students. Deivanai always made herself available throughout the week over the phone, email, or in person, and I've remained in communication with her even after my course is over and I continue studying. Deivanai provided homework help/instructional guidance, help with study plans, and general support throughout my GRE process. In addition, she taught the lessons with thoroughness, enthusiasm, and consideration for her students' questions and ideas. 

Additionally, on the Kaplan side of things, I really appreciated the wealth of study materials online, specifically the quiz bank and recommended quizzes, which are catered to the student's individual strengths and weaknesses and areas they want to improve on. My only qualm is with the vocab app, which I found difficult to navigate, but there are many other great GRE vocab apps available, or just good ol' flashcards do the trick as well.

Overall, awesome experience and highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Prep Course Ready
February 01 | 2017

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mandajay joined: February 1, 2017 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Boston (Back Bay), MA USA |
The Kaplan course prepared me well for the GRE sections. One of the most useful aspects of this course was the breakdown of the practice tests. They would let you know what you needed to really focus on, and in doing that allowed me to target my studying better. The instructors were very helpful at answering questions and stayed after class to work in depth with anyone who had longer questions.

Another thing that Kaplan really helped me with was my confidence. Upon beginning studying for the GRE, I was so nervous even saying the word would make me nauseous. The breakdown that Kaplan did of the units and laying out all of the assignments ahead of time allowed me to schedule my studying in a stress-free way. At the end of the course, I felt very confident in my ability.

One thing that could have been improved was my quantitative instructor. She was very smart and capable, however she could do a lot of math on the spot in her head and it was sometimes difficult to follow her train of thought.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE in-person review
October 19 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kerryjustine joined: October 19, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Andrew Kula
I took the in-person course, meeting twice weekly in the evenings to prepare for my GRE. The course was really helpful for me, though it still requires a lot of independent study. Kaplan gives you the resources you need - the key is to use them. The best part of the class is the online test banks and recommendations, as well as the test day experience where you get to take your Kaplan timed prep test at the ETS facility, simulating the actual GRE. This was really helpful. USE the online quiz banks, do all your practice tests and you will improve with this course.

Andrew Kula was my instructor and he was phenomenal and dedicated. Highly recommend him if you can get into his class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money
October 04 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ashakesh joined: October 4, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA |
I was skeptical about paying for such an expensive course, but I knew taking a prep course was something I needed to do. I am a nervous test taker and my GRE scores are important for programs I am applying to (Master's/Doctorate in Occupational Therapy). The amount of resources and personal attention you receive from Kaplan is well worth the money. The class is tailored to your needs. Although the course is a general prep course, online resources and access to practice tests with feedback was extremely helpful for my individual preparation. You receive 3 textbooks, a pocket reference, a vocabulary phone app, 5 practice tests, and an opportunity to take a practice test in a real GRE setting- unique to the Kaplan course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Value for your money
October 01 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ajarquin05 joined: October 1, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Los Angeles, CA USA |
I am so glad that I chose Kaplan as my test prep program! I truly believe that you get your money's worth. This course comes with an extraordinary amount of resources to help your score improve and be what you want it to be. By far the best thing from this course is the Test Day experience option. This allows you to take a practice test at the test center where you are planning on taking your actual GRE. It's super helpful with eliminating unnecessary stress on test day, you'll know what to expect on your test day and be more relaxed and focus on your test rather than worrying about how to get to the center or where the bathrooms will be. There instructors are also really caring and super involved in your education, even outside of the classroom. My instructor even offered his help after our course was officially over. Likewise the many resources and extra quizzes they have online tremendously helped with getting us to taking a test online. There interface really does match the ETS's very closely. Overall I am very thrilled and thankful to Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GRE Prep Class
September 28 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By addyc joined: September 28, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Sacramento, CA USA |
I was very impressed with this prep class. I was debating between a few companies to use and I decided on Kaplan because of their higher score grantee. I really did get a higher score on my GRE and I was very pleased with my score! The instructor was very thorough and made sure we understood the concepts. It was great to be able to take this in person, because if I had any questions, I could get an answer right away. This class is definitely worth the cost. It got me the score I needed and I would recommend this class to anyone who wants an in-person prep class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I recommend Kaplan
September 08 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By ilove2swimm joined: September 8, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Williamsville, NY USA |
I am really happy I took this course and I highly recommend it. I saw a dramatic increase in all of my scores and I think it's because of the amount of homework required for the class. if you do the homework there is no way that you won't improve. I also think the Kaplan practice tests are much harder than the actual GRE so I felt so prepared and really confident when I was taking my real GRE. I was honestly really surprised at how identical the practice tests look and function like the real GRE. Also Kaplan lets you take your final practice test at an actual testing center and have that experience and I'm really glad I took advantage of it. I got to know what it was like to get metal detected and everything so I wasn't shocked when I took the real one. I also didn't think my instructor was going to be so hands on, but she emailed me regularly and analyzed my tests to tell me what I had to work on.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
August 22 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By cullenc10 joined: August 22, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:  Washington, DC USA |
I took the course in Arlington VA with Ian Schlie. He was such a great teacher. He took time outside of class to call us and see what our goals where and asked how he could help us attain those goals. He was friendly and engaging. The other students in the class were all very kind and we all worked together to get good scores. I would recommend this course for anyone who is planning on attending grad school. He made me feel like my goals were attainable and I am truly thankful I took this class. My recommendation would be if someone wants to improve their score to take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
25 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Kaplan GRE Instructors
Kevin Holley [Vienna, USA]
    
Andrew Kula [Los Angeles, USA]