Kaplan GRE Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [36]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
 
 
With over 40 years of experience teaching the GRE, Kaplan continues to be the leader in the test prep industry. Dive in, score higher, and reach new heights of personal success. 

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great Class
March 30 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By kshupp joined: March 30, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This class was a wonderful experience. Oliver Lontok was everything I could have hoped for in a teacher- relaxed, but completely on point. After a long day of work (I work full time), Oliver made a 3 hour class bearable. My scores improved dramatically and he was even still willing to help with my application for graduate school once the class was over. I would recommend this to anyone, whether they are still in school or if they are 10 years out of a classroom. It definitely helps to take with a friend. Having someone to attend class with makes it go by faster and also gives you someone to study with. For me that was important.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Live Online
July 06 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By yumicha joined: April 5, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
I had Steve for the Quantitative class sessions and Jonah for the Verbal/Analytical Writing class sessions. Both made the class really fun/interesting - two words I never thought I would use to describe GRE classes.

Prior to signing up for this course, I struggled to make time to study and lacked structure/study plan. The GRE teachers/assistants work to make a study schedule and plan that is tailored to you. As long as you follow it, you should have no problem reaching your goal!

QuizBank is probably one of the best things created to practice the topics that you are not very strong in. It helped strengthen my skills in various areas.

They also have the Higher Score Guarantee policy, which is also great.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome!
April 25 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ncdolphin joined: April 25, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
This course was amazing! It was well worth the money. All the teachers are awesome and invested in your success on the GRE. The classes are long, but the instructors make the class go by quickly. The practice tests are super helpful. The GRE is a marathon for your brain, and the practice tests help prepare your brain for the whole 4 hour test. The practice quiz bank is also fantastic. You can customize the quiz to your level and what you want to focus on. This course definitely helped me to feel confident in the GRE.The Higher Score Guarantee is also great. Kaplan wants to make sure that you do well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE Live Online Class
June 07 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mdelve1 joined: June 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jonah
I first tried studying for the GRE on my own by purchasing a GRE book but I was not motivated enough to read the entire book and practice the problems. When I went to take the GRE test I did not do as well as I had wanted so I decided that I should take GRE classes to help guide me and keep me motivated enough to work the problems. I had originally chosen an in person class but there was not enough people who had signed up for it and it was cancelled but Kaplan representatives worked quickly with me and helped me find a class session that would work for me. I then decided to take the live online GRE classes and they were so much more convenient! You just needed your computer, books, paper, and pencil, and you were all set for the GRE prep class! I could take the classes anywhere where there was wifi and that was very helpful for I am a busy person. If you are a busy person as well but want to take a prep class I would definitely recommend taking the live online GRE class. I had Jonah for the Quantitative classes and Steven for the Verbal classes and they were both wonderful! They knew exactly what they were talking about and never got distracted. They would answer all of your questions and even stayed after the class was over to answer more of your questions. They were also available through email and you could email them any questions you had and they would respond very quickly back to you. The classes definitely helped me because both Jonah and Steven explained all the concepts, terminology, and gave tips on how to well. I was motivated by them to do all the homework, practice problems, and practice tests. There was plenty of practice tests to do and the quiz bank also helped so much! I would also recommend getting the Kaplan vocabulary app on your phone because it has the 500 most common words used on the verbal section on the GRE. Because of the classes, I did way better on the GRE the second time I took it! I thought I did better on the Quantitative section than I really did but I still did exceedingly well! You just have to remember it is very challenging and requires practice and work but all that pays off in the end! Through all my hard work and through the help of Kaplan I was able to raise my score 11 points so I would say the prep courses are definitely worth the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
You get out what you put into it...
June 07 | 2016

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By steffieharner joined: June 7, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
Kaplan GRE instructors were great. Online classes were very convenient since I am always traveling - the best part is they were surprisingly engaging. The personal tutor really helps you understand the product and material and tells you what to focus on based on your scores. Having the personal tutor really holds you accountable (something that is usually missing when you're not physically in a classroom.) If you are engaged in your classes, do all the homework, and listen to your tutor you WILL improve your score tremendously. It's worth every penny if you're willing to put in the effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GRE Review
April 12 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By nelshaba joined: April 12, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Vienna, VA USA | Taught by:  Kevin Holley
I think you should advertise how beginner level the in person classes are. We rarely did any difficult or medium questions which is what I needed the most help with. The online tools were the best, especially the practice tests. I also appreciated the ability to see what sections I struggled the most with then be able to create practice tests that targeted those deficiencies. I also did not know I had a free practice test on site, I think that should be advertised more. I did appreciate Kaplan’s flexibility with the date which they ended the online course. I last minute decided to push my test date back and they accommodated this twice which was great. If I do decide to retake the GRE, I will certainly sign up for the online classes with Kaplan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Live Online course experience
April 12 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By amandav1 joined: April 12, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online | Location:   Online
Let me preface by telling a little bit about my situation. I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in May 2015. The first time I took the GRE, in early 2015 before I graduated, I barely studied and I did not do well. At all. I ended up not getting into my top grad school choice, and decided to take some time off to work full time before I tried for graduate school again.
When I decided to take the GRE again, I knew I had to take some sort of prep class to ensure that my scores would be higher this time around. I signed up for the Live Online course because I received a coupon/promo code in my email inbox, and I am SO glad that I did.
First, I have to thank the people working the phones at Kaplan. I accidentally signed up for the course at a time that I could not attend, and I called them up and they changed it for me within five minutes. Such great customer service.
I loved so many things about the course. My instructor, Jonah, was so great! Compelling and kept my attention and focus the entire time. He would even stay on after the class was over to answer any questions and do more examples with students. I also loved the classroom interface; super easy to follow along with.
Kaplan also provides so many great resources with this course! The quiz bank was so helpful and easy to use; you can tailor the quiz lengths to fit your schedule so you can do a couple each day, no matter how busy you are. The full-length practice tests were not fun to take, but I think they really helped improve my scores.
Finally, the approaches to question types and essay prompts we were taught in this course were overwhelmingly helpful as well. When you really know what a question is asking you and testing you on, you are more confident in your approach and you can use your time more wisely and efficiently.
Though the course is a pretty hefty sum of money, I increased my scores significantly from the first time I took the test, and I think it was well worth it.
Great job, Kaplan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan GRE Live Online PLUS Review
June 02 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By SeeMmmJay joined: June 2, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Jonah
I liked how I was able to take 7 practice tests including one at the actual testing center where I took the real GRE. And the way their interface for exploring how well you did on the practice tests was very nice. Additionally, I found the PLUS tutor sessions useful for asking questions about practice problems. The tutors were extremely helpful and Kaplan as a whole was always about ensuring that I was having a good experience. There was a big effort from Kaplan to ensure that nothing, not even tech issues, got in the way of me studying. I found the Increased Score Guarantee to be comforting as I prepped for the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Increased My Score By 7 Points With Kaplan!
August 16 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By bmarie1019 joined: August 16, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - In Person | Location:   Ann Arbor, MI USA
The Kaplan in person course was extremely helpful. I was able to take it twice thanks to the Kaplan Guarantee, which was great, since I wasn't entirely satisfied with my first score. My second time taking the class, I had a different instructor and a smaller class size, which were definitely contributors to my score increase. The strategies we learned to save time and better approach questions proved to be invaluable on test day. My instructor also framed the test in a way that proved it to be less about information and problem solving, and more about critical thinking, which significantly eased my anxiety around test taking. Between in-class instruction, the practice MSTs, and the excellent online resources, I went into my second test far more confident than I did the first time. I went from 157V to 161V and 152Q to 155Q, and received a 4.5W both times. I definitely recommend Kaplan for test prep needs; the quality of instruction and resources, and the Kaplan Guarantee, make it well worth it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep (as long as you dont need much math help)
August 22 | 2016

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By harpaf13 joined: August 22, 2016 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GRE Prep - Live Online PLUS | Location:   Online
This online course provided a lot of tips and tricks for the GRE that I could not find elsewhere. However, it was less helpful if you are scoring above average on Math already and just want to get your score up to 160-170. There are not enough combinatorics and probability questions in the reviews to effectively do this. However, the verbal and online sessions were very helpful and convenient. Their Official Test Day Experience is unique and helpful for people with test anxiety to see a testing center ahead of time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a self-directed pace for their GRE prep, with a bit of help from a live instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
21 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%